Page 43 of 50 FirstFirst ... 334142434445 ... LastLast

Thread: Mayo Premier League 2008

any results for today? whats the story with the promotion/relegation/playoff places?it sounds like a joke

Fahy 0 - 2 Celtic B

Good football played by both sides, celtic got early goal and then sat on it. We were gulity of missing a sh*t load of chances, including myself!! Celtic sneeked one in at the end.

Always hard to take when you play well and lose but thats life!! Automatic spot between us and Urlar now (who beat Glenhest 4-1 yesterday). They have to take maximum points and hope that we draw and lose our last 2 games.

In other games, Westport drew with Swinford, Cross lost to Kilmore and dont know about S & F and Manulla?

S&F beat Manulla. All the results can be found on aertel http://www.rte.ie/aertel/ on page 440.

Well done to S&F on claiming the Premier Title and on a convincing win on the day the received the cup.

just a quick question, was celtic bs no.8 yesterday the same lad who plays for u14 team baba? i think is his name??

Quote Originally Posted by r.rover View Post
    just a quick question, was celtic bs no.8 yesterday the same lad who plays for u14 team baba? i think is his name??

I doubt it, do you not have to be 16 to play Junior soccer. If its the same lad he is either underage for Junior or overage for U14.

Quote Originally Posted by Kilmore Fan View Post
    S&F beat Manulla. All the results can be found on aertel http://www.rte.ie/aertel/ on page 440.
    Ye'll have to win next week now to do us a favour, good man

646 Posts
    No, the young lad is Noe, he has a brother called Roland, 19 I'd say. Good player but haven't seen him for since last season.

Quote Originally Posted by r.rover View Post
    You got ran over by a 14 year old

There are 3 of them, 1 u-14, 1 centre back about 6' 4" and then the fella who played against us...

cheers for clearin that up, wudnt be the first time a 14 year old rang rings around me anyways!!

Quote Originally Posted by GoodFootball View Post
    Ye'll have to win next week now to do us a favour, good man

Did you or did you not say that Crossmolina were the strongest out of what's there!!!!! We're obviously looking for a win so will try to do ye the favour Next weeks fixtures will certainly make things clearer with Swinford v Crossmolina to be played and of course us v Urlar. Is it true that if two teams end up on even points that goal difference doesn't count that they have to play each other?

Holy God. What happens if we all end up on the same points? Toss of a coin, draw straws, rock scisscors paper.
    I say we all have a darts competition some Sunday in an agreed pub. Beer, Food and the winner goes to the SuperLeague.
    Providing the M.L don't decide that anyone fininshing on a double 7 must drink 3 fatfrogs off the head and playoff in a game of 3 and your in with the team who scored the most away goals out of the bottom 3 teams in the Super League.

Thats just what I think anyway.

Fahy 0 - 2 Celtic B

Good football played by both sides, celtic got early goal and then sat on it. We were gulity of missing a sh*t load of chances, including myself!! Celtic sneeked one in at the end.

Always hard to take when you play well and lose but thats life!! Automatic spot between us and Urlar now (who beat Glenhest 4-1 yesterday). They have to take maximum points and hope that we draw and lose our last 2 games.

In other games, Westport drew with Swinford, Cross lost to Kilmore and dont know about S & F and Manulla?
    I enjoyed the match yesterday but felt it was impaired considerably by an absolute shocking performance from the referee. He gave at least four blatantly incorrect offside decisions against Fahy, two of which were about 3-4 yards on, with only the keeper to beat. I was level with the last line for both of them and they were truly incomprehensible calls. Also, shouting ´shut your mouth, shut it!´to a player is not appropriate either. It felt like an ironic twist of faith when Celtic got their second, with minutes to go, from a patently offside position.

That´s not Celtic´s fault of course, I thought they did well, considering they´ve lost Torphy and Fallon in the last few weeks. They had a nice blend of youth and experience yesterday and played some good football. However, I found one element of the match disconcerting, as I have every time we´ve played Celtic B for the last five years: having to hear the word ´nigger´being shouted sporadically at full volume throughout the game, by both the man whose nickname it is and the fans. Now I know it´s not intended as racism, but I think it´s time to put this one to bed. I saw lots of young kids running around at the match, overhearing one of the most hateful words available being shouted out. Would it be accaptable if people were running around roaring ´chink´or ´paki´ or ´faggot´on a field in Mayo on a Sunday afternoon?

The man in question has been a stalwart in the celtic defence, organising them and inspiring them for years now. He was even on hand to give some help to one of our players when he cramped up towards the end of the game! I´m sure, like everyone else with a nickname, he didn´t pick it himself, but I think he should send a message out to the younger players in what is an ethnically-diverse club, that it should stay where it assuredly belongs - in the past.

Well done to Straide and Foxford in lifting the title, they fully deserve it. Hoping they can do the Premier League proud in the final against Snugboro!

Quote Originally Posted by Norm View Post
    Holy God. What happens if we all end up on the same points? Toss of a coin, draw straws, rock scisscors paper.
    I say we all have a darts competition some Sunday in an agreed pub. Beer, Food and the winner goes to the SuperLeague.
    Providing the M.L don't decide that anyone fininshing on a double 7 must drink 3 fatfrogs off the head and playoff in a game of 3 and your in with the team who scored the most away goals out of the bottom 3 teams in the Super League.

Thats just what I think anyway.

That sounds good to me!!! darts and drinking comp it is then. It seems to be that if teams end up even they play each other.Ye could only end up even with Urlar if ye lose 2 and they win one&draw 1 or if ye draw 2 and they win 2. We gonna do our best to make sure that don't happen. There is however a chance that we could end up even with Crossmolina Urlar and Swinford!!!!! I'm guessing that out of 4, two teams are surely going to end up even..... The darts and drinking comp might be an idea if all 4 of us end up even!!! Whoever wins goes to SuperL and whoever loses goes down????????Now That would be some end of season party.

Quote Originally Posted by FahyForever View Post
    I enjoyed the match yesterday but felt it was impaired considerably by an absolute shocking performance from the referee. He gave at least four blatantly incorrect offside decisions against Fahy, two of which were about 3-4 yards on, with only the keeper to beat. I was level with the last line for both of them and they were truly incomprehensible calls. Also, shouting ´shut your mouth, shut it!´to a player is not appropriate either. It felt like an ironic twist of faith when Celtic got their second, with minutes to go, from a patently offside position.

That´s not Celtic´s fault of course, I thought they did well, considering they´ve lost Torphy and Fallon in the last few weeks. They had a nice blend of youth and experience yesterday and played some good football. However, I found one element of the match disconcerting, as I have every time we´ve played Celtic B for the last five years: having to hear the word ´nigger´being shouted sporadically at full volume throughout the game, by both the man whose nickname it is and the fans. Now I know it´s not intended as racism, but I think it´s time to put this one to bed. I saw lots of young kids running around at the match, overhearing one of the most hateful words available being shouted out. Would it be accaptable if people were running around roaring ´chink´or ´paki´ or ´faggot´on a field in Mayo on a Sunday afternoon?

The man in question has been a stalwart in the celtic defence, organising them and inspiring them for years now. He was even on hand to give some help to one of our players when he cramped up towards the end of the game! I´m sure, like everyone else with a nickname, he didn´t pick it himself, but I think he should send a message out to the younger players in what is an ethnically-diverse club, that it should stay where it assuredly belongs - in the past.

Well done to Straide and Foxford in lifting the title, they fully deserve it. Hoping they can do the Premier League proud in the final against Snugboro!
    Thats a big one. Refs need to respect the players. Players need to respect the refs. A player should be allowed to question a refs decision providing he does it in an acceptable manner. The ref should have the courtesy to give him reason. Fans on the sideline abusing refs is unacceptable and gives the wrong impression to young kids at matches.

We beat Crossmolina 2-1 today. Should have beaten them by alot more but their keeper played a blinder and made some excellent saves. Credit where credit is due. Things are still very open!!!!!
    now now,self praise is no praise!

Quote Originally Posted by robben 11 View Post
    yes that was me playing right back, behind hughes great man to have in front of ya! no theres no chance of taking foot of pedals at all its gonna run nice for us preperation wise our last game against kilmore is week before chadwicks final and we should be well prepared and hopefully with no injures, doubt the manager would change too much its nice to keep the flow of winning going and playing well as a starting 11 like we have done all season, if you change too much it would upset rythem and if we got beat confidence might dip slightly so id say you need not to worry cloggs!
    good to hear!true the team would be disrupted alright,was just wondering if the lads who might not have been getting much of a run in the league might be a bit disgruntled with little match action during the season
    on the game yesterday against celtic.thought that it was a good game but was very disappointed to come off the pitch on the losing side,particularly with the amount of chances that we had and the offside decisions but such is football and we have to get a win next weekend against manulla b,hoping that kilmore can do us a favour(just in case)it'd be better to make sure of it ourselves though!!
    Last edited by Cloggs; 01/09/2008 at 8:24 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Cloggs View Post
    now now,self praise is no praise!

Read it again. I was praising their keeper !!!!! I'm hoping he will be as good for their game v Swinford.

Hoping ye'll beat Urlar, but they look good lately so will be tough for ye. If Urlar win its all over for ye and Cross as I assume Cross will be beaten by S & F this weekend...

Promises to be an exciting weekend though...

Hoping ye'll beat Urlar, but they look good lately so will be tough for ye. If Urlar win its all over for ye and Cross as I assume Cross will be beaten by S & F this weekend...

Promises to be an exciting weekend though...
    We'll certainly do our best! This wkend should decide alot.Three big games
    Us v Urlar
    Swinford v Crossmolina (not S&F as you said)
    Fahy v Manulla

As you can see from the table below it's sooooooooo close. It's a crazy league when teams that are fighting for the possible third promotion spot are also fighting against relegation. If Erris b get promoted (currently looking that way)that will be yet another b team in premier. Something needs to change! This league is being treated as a joke and that's unfair to the non b teams in it.

TeamPWLDFA+/-Pts[LEFT]Straide & Foxford [/LEFT]
    [CENTER]16
    45[/CENTER]
    [LEFT]Castlebar Celtic B[/LEFT]
    [CENTER]16
    34[/CENTER]
    [LEFT]Fahy Rovers [/LEFT]
    [CENTER]16
    25[/CENTER]
    [LEFT]Westport United B[/LEFT]
    [CENTER]16
    24[/CENTER]