147 26.68%
Page 28 of 212 FirstFirst ... 1826272829303878128 ... LastLast

Thread: Stephen Ireland

Quote Originally Posted by bellavistaman View Post
    you dont, you threw in the one rumour that would suit your case more, you failed to add his family situation, if your going to say stuff you heard add all sides of the story please
    ok, these are all the stories he told (or allowed to be told without refuting them):

allegedly, his grandmother (maternal) died

allegedly, his grandmother (paternal) died

allegedly, his girlfriend had miscarriage

allegedly, he was slagged off about getting a hair transplant.

(forgive my cynicism but it reminds me of the boy who cried wolf.......)

Apparently one of the above stories is true, or has an element of truth to it. Ever since the said story (whichever one is true) occurred he has stated he is not in the correct mind frame to play for Ireland (the country) although he has no problem playing week in week out for his club.

When he told his first porkie he was given the use of a private jet to fly home to grieve for his grandmother, no questions asked by FAI.

He has been given the opportunity to resurrect his international career but apparently he has chosen not too.

Good riddance.

If any of the first 3 stories were to be true then there is no reason whatsoever preventing him from playing for Ireland (the country) as all are just unfortunate occurrences that can happen throughout life. If the fourth story is true then he really needs to get a life. Anyone who played football, at any level, needs to be able to put up with a little dressing room banter - if you are not then stick to individual sports.

Quote Originally Posted by tetsujin1979 View Post
    The only official word from Ireland himself is that he never told anyone that he didn't want to play for his country again and that he's looking forward to working with Trapattoni. Anything else is hearsay and speculation

Maybe he just wants a private jet in both directions
    Fair Play died Nov 18th 2009, Stade Francais.

MOds - any chance of a poll on this, do we really want SI back

Yes

Yes after an apology

No

634 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by galwayhoop View Post
    ok, these are all the stories he told (or allowed to be told without refuting them):

allegedly, his grandmother (maternal) died

allegedly, his grandmother (paternal) died

allegedly, his girlfriend had miscarriage

allegedly, he was slagged off about getting a hair transplant.

(forgive my cynicism but it reminds me of the boy who cried wolf.......)

Apparently one of the above stories is true, or has an element of truth to it. Ever since the said story (whichever one is true) occurred he has stated he is not in the correct mind frame to play for Ireland (the country) although he has no problem playing week in week out for his club.

When he told his first porkie he was given the use of a private jet to fly home to grieve for his grandmother, no questions asked by FAI.

He has been given the opportunity to resurrect his international career but apparently he has chosen not too.

Good riddance.

If any of the first 3 stories were to be true then there is no reason whatsoever preventing him from playing for Ireland (the country) as all are just unfortunate occurrences that can happen throughout life. If the fourth story is true then he really needs to get a life. Anyone who played football, at any level, needs to be able to put up with a little dressing room banter - if you are not then stick to individual sports.
    Wow you read my mind!

As for the highlighted bit, I have to agree to it to a certain extent. Bullying isn't nice. I got my fair share of it as a kid, you deal with it. But in the context of a football team, particuarily in a professional capacity (by this i refer to the copious amounts of money, time and a need to use both), banter is part and parcel, I would have thought anyway?
    By the by, having allegedly used the bullying card once in his defence, I would imagine he's going to be the consumate professional for the rest of his days and not partake in any banter, be it physical or verbal, cause that would just make him a hypocrite!
    Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!

Quote Originally Posted by Greenforever View Post
    MOds - any chance of a poll on this, do we really want SI back

Yes

Yes after an apology

No
    added

85 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by galwayhoop View Post
    Anyone who played football, at any level, needs to be able to put up with a little dressing room banter - if you are not then stick to individual sports.
    Good point and Agreed. 'Bullying' is bantered about too loosely nowadays for my liking.... It's the new 'Bulemia' in the celeb mags... "My bullying hell" by Mondo from Fair City, or something..

The type of dressing room banter that could be contrued as Bullying in some quarter could also be construed as bonding in others. My mates are always patting my bald head for luck, pinching my belly to hear my girlish laugh.

I suppose it's about context and that's subjective. If his presence impacts teams spirit in that everyones on tenderhooks then it's not worth it.
    I pity the fool!.... But suggest ways that he might improve himself.

www.thefastleague.com

3,499 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dr_peepee View Post
    My mates are always patting my bald head for luck, pinching my belly to hear my girlish laugh.
    that doesn't sound like they like you at all. tomorrow, you should punch lenny in the back of the head!

634 Posts
    that doesn't sound like they like you at all. tomorrow, you should punch lenny in the back of the head!
    Ha ha genius!
    Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!

1,928 Posts
    I am beginning to feel a jilt coming on.

Maybe it's best to get the retaliation in first.

50 ways to love your lever

Quote Originally Posted by elroy View Post
    Its a new set up a new beginning. All it should take is an apology from SI to the squad on the first day back and that be the end of it. We're not blessed with good players so we need him in the squad.
    I disagree, I think we can do fine without him.

I cant believe we are still talking about him, his attitude stinks, he isnt really that interested in playing for us and he isnt actually that good.

Lets move on, for the love of God...
    'I can't even remember when the Seventies was.' - ROBBIE KEANE

131 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RivaldoBabb View Post
    I disagree, I think we can do fine without him.

I cant believe we are still talking about him, his attitude stinks, he isnt really that interested in playing for us and he isnt actually that good.

Lets move on, for the love of God...
    I agree. He gets far too much attention for a man who at best could be described as a fairly average footballer.

Now that Trap has announced the 28 man squad and SI is not in it by choice can we move on and forget him

Source
    [COLOR=#800080]http://www.fai.ie/index.php?option=c...k=view&id=3164[/COLOR][COLOR=#800080][/COLOR]

85 Posts
    Maybe I will tets..... Maybe I will!!

www.thefastleague.com

85 Posts
    He's gone now...F'ck him.

www.thefastleague.com

1,928 Posts
    Exactly, we didn't want him anyway

Move the thread

Quote Originally Posted by gustavo View Post
    added

thanks,

130 Posts
    Im very interested to hear the reasons why he, in particular but also finnan and O'Brien arent in the squad. If they couldnt be bothered now, why will they be in a few months?

International Prospect Razors left peg's Avatar
    1,001 Posts
    Why isnt Andy O Brien being subjected to the same abuse that Ireland gets.Hes retired at 28 and didnt even answer the phone to Givens when he tried to get in touch, and he like Ireland isnt in this squad.... I do think that all 3 lads will be back for the qualifiers and personally I will be glad to see them
    Its really not that complicated!!!

3,499 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by elroy View Post
    Im very interested to hear the reasons why he, in particular but also finnan and O'Brien arent in the squad. If they couldnt be bothered now, why will they be in a few months?
    Finnan's having a hernia operation, dunno about O'Brien

Quote Originally Posted by Razors left peg View Post
    Why isnt Andy O Brien being subjected to the same abuse that Ireland gets.Hes retired at 28 and didnt even answer the phone to Givens when he tried to get in touch, and he like Ireland isnt in this squad.... I do think that all 3 lads will be back for the qualifiers and personally I will be glad to see them

There's no comparison, Andy O'Brien never lied to anybody, never fell out with other managers, he made his descision and even though i'd love him to change his mind, it's his call.