Page 78 of 212 FirstFirst ... 2868767778798088128178 ... LastLast
Results 1,541 to 1,560 of 4233

Thread: Stephen Ireland

Quote Originally Posted by third policeman View Post
    .......that he should be mature enough to simply get over it and declare himself available for international football, but alas he is not mature enough and seemingly cannot sort this out for himself... .
    What? he cannot pick up a phone and utter those four little words 'I want to play'

Quote Originally Posted by third policeman View Post
    ....I think Trapp and Brady have a professional duty to go the extra mile, even if they dont have a moral one. We are not paying them for their principles, we are paying them to get results and the fact that they have done nothing to build bridges with Ireland is in my view unbelievable.
    - beg him to play?
    - guarantee him a starting place?
    - tell him 'your country needs you'?
    - we will make sure the lads dont take the **** and upset your fragile state of mind
    - we will make sure the fans to a man will welcome you back
    - we will make sure there will be no mention of your granny

What they have a professional duty to do is to respond professionally when he says he is ready to come back and wants to play.

Forgive the pun, but it's Ireland's call. Dreadful song, dreadful individual.
    Honest! I am not a secret Tim nor a closet Sham - I really am a Seagull.

Quote Originally Posted by Superhoops View Post
    What? he cannot pick up a phone and utter those four little words 'I want to play'

- beg him to play?
    - guarantee him a starting place?
    - tell him 'your country needs you'?
    - we will make sure the lads dont take the **** and upset your fragile state of mind
    - we will make sure the fans to a man will welcome you back
    - we will make sure there will be no mention of your granny

What they have a professional duty to do is to respond professionally when he says he is ready to come back and wants to play.

Forgive the pun, but it's Ireland's call. Dreadful song, dreadful individual.
    Well said!

20 Posts
    There is a third factor in this equation people should remember, aside from Stephen himself & the management; the other players. Maybe they don't want him back. I can't honestly imagine many of the players would be too enamored with Ireland's behavior.

Bringing back Stephen Ireland into the squad could be a major unsettling factor in the harmony of the squad, something that Trap seems to be keen on building. So for SI to be made a special case to be begged into returning could seriously upset all the good vibes Trap has been trying to inject into the team.

Quote Originally Posted by amaccann View Post
    There is a third factor in this equation people should remember, aside from Stephen himself & the management; the other players. Maybe they don't want him back. I can't honestly imagine many of the players would be too enamored with Ireland's behavior.

Bringing back Stephen Ireland into the squad could be a major unsettling factor in the harmony of the squad, something that Trap seems to be keen on building. So for SI to be made a special case to be begged into returning could seriously upset all the good vibes Trap has been trying to inject into the team.
    Hmmm ...not buying it Amaccann. Players don't have to like each other. Yeah it'd be nice if they all did but if Trap was all that concerned about how his selections affected morale in the group he'd do nothing else beyond second guess himself all the time. For example, Andy Reid is probably a very popular guy in the group but Trap has no compunction about leaving him out -and reading between the lines might be doing so because he considers Andy Reid a bit of a messer and a bad influence on the squad.

If Stephen Ireland ever does come back Trap will likely expect the other players to be good pros, get their heads down and get on with it.
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

I'd love to know what Ireland means by this quote:
    "I read in the press that (Giovanni) Trapattoni and Liam Brady have said they have contacted me. Well, they haven’t. That’s all I can say. Never say never, though."

Is he talking about recently or ever?

S.Ireland, February 2008:
    "I'm available for selection, very much available. We need someone like Trapattoni hopefully to bring it out of us and get us playing. When Sven heard that Trap was appointed, he said it was a great opportunity for me to go back now because he is a very good coach and I will learn a lot. This did have an effect on my decision to return. I trust Sven you know. Whatever he says is good advice and he means well. I think there is a lot of talent in the squad and we can actually qualify for the big tournaments."

Ireland, April 2008:
    "I have never told anybody that I am not going to play for my country and I have an open mind going into my meeting with Mr Trapattoni. Obviously, because I am meeting with the new Irish manager I cannot say a lot, but I am looking forward to sitting down with him. Personally, I will be happy to resolve the matter as soon as I have met with the manager and we have both discussed our situations."

Trap, May 2008:
    "I had very good meetings with all three players. The discussions I have had with them have been very positive and I am confident there is a very good possibility that they will return to play for their country."

Trap, May 2008:
    "The moment I left him, I told him, 'I will wait for you', and he said to me, 'okay'. I understood Stephen. I understand he is young. I have children, I have a son and I understand him. I am confident, I trust he will come back. I spoke with him and normally when I speak with a player, I look the player in the eyes. The eyes never lie. I have trust he will come back.'

Well done Eirebhoy. Well put together.
    In Trap we trust

It's interesting that most of the quotes from Ireland are from the Irish Star. The chap in the Star is definitely close to the family.
    Last edited by eirebhoy; 15/03/2009 at 3:03 PM.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/socc...d-1673443.html

It seems to me that Stephen Ireland has no interest in playing for Ireland again but he is doing a PR campaign trying to restore his name.
    In Trap we trust

38 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD View Post
    http://www.independent.ie/sport/socc...d-1673443.html

It seems to me that Stephen Ireland has no interest in playing for Ireland again but he is doing a PR campaign trying to restore his name.
    You could be right or else he is trying to restore his name before he comes back so that he won't be subjected to as much abuse as if he returned now.
    I don't think he even knows himself to be honest :P

However, for those who want him to return, maybe it's best for him to do it in his own way so that he feels as comfortable as possible with it or else his feebel ego might not be able to handle the abuse and he would run away with his tail between his legs again. For this very reason I would prefer him to return in a friendly where he can't harm our chances of qualification or progressing in a tournament. If all goes well then he could play a competitive game.

Interesting to see Trap at Stamford Bridge today, does he really need to see Given and Dunne?......my hunch is that Ireland is going to be asked for a final decision.

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SUB of the day View Post
    Interesting to see Trap at Stamford Bridge today, does he really need to see Given and Dunne?......my hunch is that Ireland is going to be asked for a final decision.

Agreed, they are hardly border line players.
    I suppose he will see Shay and Dunne after the match.
    It also gives Ireland a chance to make it clear he is not interested, just in case anyone still has any doubts.
    Last edited by tricky_colour; 15/03/2009 at 9:17 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Irish_Praha View Post
    You could be right or else he is trying to restore his name before he comes back so that he won't be subjected to as much abuse as if he returned now.
    I don't think he even knows himself to be honest :P

However, for those who want him to return, maybe it's best for him to do it in his own way so that he feels as comfortable as possible with it or else his feebel ego might not be able to handle the abuse and he would run away with his tail between his legs again. For this very reason I would prefer him to return in a friendly where he can't harm our chances of qualification or progressing in a tournament. If all goes well then he could play a competitive game.
    Not in todays squad. The interviews he has been giving of late are two things. One is publicity for his charity which is fair enough and the other is to somehow get back his good name (if he ever had one) and stop being a laughing stock. He is failing miserably on that issue but that seems to be the motivation for it though.
    In Trap we trust

Formerly: Rafa B
    39 Posts
    Was Trap asked about him at todays press conference?

1,928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD View Post
    Not in todays squad. The interviews he has been giving of late are two things. One is publicity for his charity which is fair enough and the other is to somehow get back his good name (if he ever had one) and stop being a laughing stock. He is failing miserably on that issue but that seems to be the motivation for it though.
    His self deception has been an everpresent.
    Now comes an added dimension, that he has a belief that we would actually swallow his fantasy over and above Trap's version of events.
    And this is coming from the same birdbrain space that came up with the 2 dead granny tales.
    He has a compulsion to tell lies /not be honest.
    He is actually not emotionally mature enough to be maligned.

Hard to credit that he could actually dig a deeper hole. He is too worried even obsessed about how people perceive him, yet keeps avoiding the simple rectification action of making himself available to the squad and now has to dig deeper holes to cover his tracks on that deception.

603 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    His self deception has been an everpresent.
    Now comes an added dimension, that he has a belief that we would actually swallow his fantasy over and above Trap's version of events.
    And this is coming from the same birdbrain space that came up with the 2 dead granny tales.
    He has a compulsion to tell lies /not be honest.
    He is actually not emotionally mature enough to be maligned.

Hard to credit that he could actually dig a deeper hole. He is too worried even obsessed about how people perceive him, yet keeps avoiding the simple rectification action of making himself available to the squad and now has to dig deeper holes to cover his tracks on that deception.
    I am in agreement with the above sentiment.

621 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by The Fly View Post
    I am in agreement with the above sentiment.
    I had to look if up (maligned)

Quote Originally Posted by Rafa B View Post
    Was Trap asked about him at todays press conference?
    I couldn't hear the journos properly so I don't know the question,but I assume so cause Trap got really agitated and like me is really tired about this subject. Please stop the madness, let it go, it's tearing us apart.
    Goddamn Stephen fecking Ireland, enough already.
    Esse Quam Videri

621 Posts
    He is more effective out of the squad than in it IMO.

52 Posts
    http://www.independent.ie/sport/socc...d-1675234.html

"He is not my son. Also, I know very well Mark Hughes, his coach, and he said: 'I think he's not ready'. I think he is not ready to come back so you have to respect the team. We have other players.

"My feeling is he will not come back. Stephen is not my son. I cannot force him. My feeling is he wishes not to come back. I have said also that now it's up to him. Ok, it's clear."
    I think Trap has had enough of him. SI has missed his chance and even if he does declare "he is ready", I don't think Trap will pick him after this unless things go disastrously wrong in these two upcoming games.
    "Jacques Santini...will be greeted in every dugout of the country by "one-nil, one-nil" - Clive Tyldsley, 89th minute of France-England June 13, 2004.
    "Ooooohhhh Nooooooo" Bobby Robson 91st minute.

Quote Originally Posted by Ciaran View Post
    That probably was Ireland's last window to get into this campaign. Shame he didn't take it, it's as much our loss as it is his.
    Speak for yourself. I've lost nothing. He doesn't want to play for us... We, as Ireland fans, should only support those that do. l'm glad he hasn't been forced to play for us. You talk of "this campaign". It would take some really major contrition for me to accept he should ever be given the honour of the chance to play for us again.
    "Can I have a Kit-Kat, chunky?"

"you mean a big one"

"No a normal kit-kat you fat bitch"