Results 1,341 to 1,360 of 4233

Thread: Stephen Ireland

2,796 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by third policeman View Post
    I think that giving them "a shot" is all that has ever been advocated on this site.
    Exactly & Ciaran should know that.

2,796 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    As soon as Trap was appointed I thought he'd adopt 4-2-3-1. This hasn't been too far wrong - he does insist on 2 defensive midfielders and two very attacking wide players.
    Sorry to quote myself but I thought in the context of the above comment, I thought this article in today's Guardian is interesting.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/b...onathan-wilson

“a side playing 4-4-2, with the wingers pushed high and one of the centre-forwards dropping deep, is effectively playing a 4-2-3-1. When Manchester United beat Barcelona in the 1991 Cup-Winners' Cup final, for instance, they had Bryan Robson and Paul Ince holding, with Lee Sharpe and Mike Phelan wide, and Brian McClair dropping off Mark Hughes. Everybody still referred to it as 4-4-2, but it was in effect a 4-2-3-1.”

This is what I was saying about Trap’s system. He has realised we were like a turnstile in the middle of the pitch so his preference was for 2 defensive midfielders in front of our back 4, 2 out-and-out wide men (Duff & McGeady if fit), with Keane playing off Kevin Doyle.

The question then is where would you accommodate Andy Reid or Stephen Ireland if they were picked or available and we stuck with this system. I personally think that either could play the classic “10” or Totti role, i.e., behind a main striker, or either could play the wide right role with freedom to come inside.

Personally I think Trap is going the right way about covering up our weaknesses and maximising our strengths, though I'd continue to query the personnel choices made at times, especially in the choice of midfielders since Steven Reid's injury.
    Last edited by Stuttgart88; 18/12/2008 at 3:49 PM.

114 Posts
    "Jack Charlton, the former Ireland manager, suggested recently that Ireland should “say sorry and come back or bugger off”. Ireland is nonplussed. “When he says, ‘You can bugger off’, that is what I have done, so what does he mean?” he said.

“He said, ‘Come back and play or don’t’ but I haven’t come back, so what’s he on about? So much has gone on behind closed doors that I feel it’s almost too difficult for me to go back"

http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/spo...cle5372363.ece

''So much has gone on behind closed doors that I feel it’s almost too difficult for me to go back, but I’ve come out a stronger and better person so it’s not something that worries me now.

sounds to me like hes made his mind up, and that hes coming back.

130 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by richieos View Post
    ''So much has gone on behind closed doors that I feel it’s almost too difficult for me to go back, but I’ve come out a stronger and better person so it’s not something that worries me now.

sounds to me like hes made his mind up, and that hes coming back.
    To be honest i wouldve read that the exact opposite and that he isnt coming back. But in light of his dad's comments you may be right.
    If it doesnt come back, hes gonna be asked the question in every interview he does for years to come.

sounds like to me he is telling serious porkies again. The fella is a serial liar.

417 Posts
    He needs to come back and we need him. What is the deal with all this drama? Its irritating. Its so needless. Also every time some 90 year old ex manager or pundit in Ireland or England wakes up from whatever ditch they were in and says something negative it makes things worse. He shouldnt even respond. Just come back and let your game do the talking, Steve. The man is only 22 years old, right? People make mistakes. Just come back and stop letting it fester, in my opinion, and it will be the best answer for all concerned. Jeez.

386 Posts
    Has been absolutely sensational in the 1st half against Hull. 4-0 up with ireland with 3 assists

Quote Originally Posted by Crosby87 View Post
    He needs to come back and we need him. What is the deal with all this drama? Its irritating. Its so needless. Also every time some 90 year old ex manager or pundit in Ireland or England wakes up from whatever ditch they were in and says something negative it makes things worse. He shouldnt even respond. Just come back and let your game do the talking, Steve. The man is only 22 years old, right? People make mistakes. Just come back and stop letting it fester, in my opinion, and it will be the best answer for all concerned. Jeez.
    Then let him do 2 simple things:

- state publicly he is now making himself available for selection. None of this 'dont know if the lads/fans will welcome me back or I am not sure of the time is right' crap. Just say 'I am available for selection for the next game against Georgia in February'. Then it is down to Trapp.

- state publicly ' What I did in Sept. 2007 was wrong, I apologise to my team mates and to the fans'. End of. None of this 'I was young/I was going through a difficult time' crap. Never mind trying to offer excuses for the inexcuseable.

If he wants to come back and play for Ireland, and is man enough to admit unconditionally he was wrong, then so be it. Lets all get on with it.

My belief is that he doesn't really want to play for us and he still does not believe what he did was wrong.

This discussion is only being carried on because Ireland is playing well for his club. If this was John O'Shea or Paul McShane for example, most people would be taking the attitude 'Fu*k him'.

No player is bigger than a team. End of.
    Honest! I am not a secret Tim nor a closet Sham - I really am a Seagull.

41 Posts
    All this great form doesnt really make any difference. We cant pick someone who will just walk out in the run up to a big match, or if the team is playing badly. And he WILL do that if he is brought back. Time to forget him and move on.

417 Posts
    He played well today. Big win for them. Would be nice to see him and Keane playing together while both were hot like today. Wonder if it will happen?

Was at the Man City game, he absolutely ran the show. Perfect through balls. He'd do a great job if he played like that for Ireland. No doubting his ability but Ireland shouldn't go begging for him to come back, I still think he should apologise, that won't happen though.

253 Posts
    A goal and 3 assists...jesus.

Was at the Man City game, he absolutely ran the show. Perfect through balls. He'd do a great job if he played like that for Ireland. No doubting his ability but Ireland shouldn't go begging for him to come back, I still think he should apologise, that won't happen though.
    yeah probably not, seeing as he already apologised...

Quote Originally Posted by musicinmouth View Post
    yeah probably not, seeing as he already apologised...
    Well sure the poll is pointless so.

I mean an apology to the fans, afaik he never did. He disrespected his country and doesn't seem too bothered about it.
    Quote Originally Posted by Stephen Ireland
    It was wrong and I sincerely apologise as I have caused a lot of problems for many people. I would like to apologise to my grandmothers and all my family. I have learnt a valuable lesson from this mess and hope those I have hurt will forgive me.

Quote Originally Posted by irishfan86 View Post
    A goal and 3 assists...jesus.
    Was nearly a goal and 5 assists incredibly. Robinho and SWP both missed one on one chances with the keeper.

2,796 Posts
    I saw his games recently and have to say he’s becoming the real deal: his passing, vision, touch, speed, stamina and football intelligence are absolute top class.

His football brain is outstanding. At one stage yesterday he played a pass back to right full. The right full wasn't under pressure but played the first time pass back to Ireland who was under pressure. Ireland wouldn't have expected to receive the ball back so quickly but he had already picked out his next pass and played the first time pass forward to the right winger. All in a couple of seconds.

I mean an apology to the fans, afaik he never did. He disrespected his country and doesn't seem too bothered about it.

"I am also sorry for causing Manchester City any embarrassment and apologise to the supporters of both Manchester City and Ireland for misleading them and the media.
    "I love playing for my country and am grateful for the understanding Mr Staunton and the FAI have shown to me since I told them the truth.

Quote Originally Posted by musicinmouth View Post
    "I am also sorry for causing Manchester City any embarrassment and apologise to the supporters of both Manchester City and Ireland for misleading them and the media.
    "I love playing for my country and am grateful for the understanding Mr Staunton and the FAI have shown to me since I told them the truth.

Very touching but not very believeable, and as much as it would be great to have SI playing for us, I honestly believe he is likely to walk out again (if he ever does come back) and cause another Saipan type divide and do serious damage to our chances at a later date.
    Fair Play died Nov 18th 2009, Stade Francais.