147 26.68%
Page 29 of 212 FirstFirst ... 1927282930313979129 ... LastLast

Thread: Stephen Ireland

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Razors left peg
    Why isnt Andy O Brien being subjected to the same abuse that Ireland gets.Hes retired at 28 and didnt even answer the phone to Givens when he tried to get in touch, and he like Ireland isnt in this squad....
    No comparison. Andy O'Brien never deserted the ship. All players retire at some point.

International Prospect Razors left peg's Avatar
    1,001 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mypost View Post
    No comparison. Andy O'Brien never deserted the ship. All players retire at some point.
    Retiring at 28 is ridiculous
    Its really not that complicated!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Razors left peg View Post
    Retiring at 28 is ridiculous

Agreed, but he never took the **** with the team and fans etc
    Fair Play died Nov 18th 2009, Stade Francais.

Quote Originally Posted by Greenforever View Post
    Ciaran you will never understand that football is a team game and to suceed you need players who WANT to play.

SI does not want to play and thats the end of it.

What do you want, another Siapan or Bratislava and him walking out on the team.

You obviously have no respect for the rest of the squad who want to play for their country.

Off course the fact you have to try and belittle people for their views rather than put up a reasonable argument proves what a narrow minded individual you are.

On Saturday week Davy Langan will be honoured as an Eircom Legend, off course maybe that honour should be awarded to Stephen Ireland as he is a legend all right.
    Top post. Agree completely
    Honest! I am not a secret Tim nor a closet Sham - I really am a Seagull.

RTE Sport - 14/05/2008

The following quotes attributed to Trapp would suggest he's been made aware of a few "ishoos" affecting young Stephen and has made allowances:

Trapattoni said: 'The moment I left him, I told him, "I will wait for you", and he said to me, "okay".

'I understood Stephen. I understand he is young. I have children, I have a son and I understand him. I am confident, I trust he will come back. I spoke with him and normally when I speak with a player, I look the player in the eyes. The eyes never lie. I have trust he will come back.'
    Quoting years at random since 1975

Quote Originally Posted by Ciaran View Post
    Like I've said time and time again, Stephen Ireland does want to play for his country. There's a lot of evidence for this, he came back after isolating himself from Kerr. He accepted his FAI award, indicating he hopes to return soon and criticised Don Givens for being unfair to him. He does care, he wants to be there.

But the most important thing in any job is to look after number one and that's where his problem lies. You don't understand what he's going through, I don't understand what he's going through and least of all the media understand what he's going through. He's a complex individual who is having a lot of difficulties with his teammates, with an unstable manager structure, with his girlfriend and who knows what else. The fact that some people on this board show a complete lack of understanding for somebody with a mental illness is disgusting, to the point where you make constant jokes about him and call him "retarded". It's childish and embarassing for me to posting with some of you people, this is coming from a 19 year old to probably a bunch of 40 year olds who really should know better.

You speak with pride of Dave Langan who has a physical disability yet speak with bile about Stephen Ireland who has a mental disability. It's horrible, that's the only way I can describe it.
    If he wanted to play for his country he would play.

It is SI and only SI that has stopped SI from being in the squad.

Are you really naive enough to think that any issues he may have with the Irish Squad wouldn't happen with Man City.

What makes you say that SI has a mental disability?

Davy Langan has a physical disability as a result of playing for Ireland.

Does SI have a mental disability as a result of playing for Ireland?

How can he be mentally alright to play for one team and not another?

So in your opinion it's alright to slag off someone with a physical disability but not with a mental disability?

As trap is quoted he is only a child, like yourself, young and immature. You probably will look back at this in years to come and be embarrased by your posts.

Like I've said time and time again, Stephen Ireland does want to play for his country. There's a lot of evidence for this, he came back after isolating himself from Kerr. He accepted his FAI award, indicating he hopes to return soon and criticised Don Givens for being unfair to him. He does care, he wants to be there.

But the most important thing in any job is to look after number one and that's where his problem lies. You don't understand what he's going through, I don't understand what he's going through and least of all the media understand what he's going through. He's a complex individual who is having a lot of difficulties with his teammates, with an unstable manager structure, with his girlfriend and who knows what else. The fact that some people on this board show a complete lack of understanding for somebody with a mental illness is disgusting, to the point where you make constant jokes about him and call him "retarded". It's childish and embarassing for me to posting with some of you people, this is coming from a 19 year old to probably a bunch of 40 year olds who really should know better.

You speak with pride of Dave Langan who has a physical disability yet speak with bile about Stephen Ireland who has a mental disability. It's horrible, that's the only way I can describe it.

You write this as though you know SI personally and maybe you do. This could also be the reason why you are so defensive when others give their opinion on him. This could also be a reason why you know he has a mental disability as you quote above.

If you do know that its true about him having 'Mental health issues' then I for one will give him the benefit of the doubt. If you are just making it up to try and boost your argument, then you are a very sad little boy.

SI has wonderful ability. This goes without saying and I would have loved if he had made himself available to play for Ireland. He is just a very complicated individual and we can do without this for now. We have a new manager with some new additions to the team so I am happy enough to let them get on with it without Mr Ireland.

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ciaran
    Manchester is where he's in his comfort zone, his friends and family are there.
    It doesn't stop him from travelling with his club to matches.

He walked out on his country by lieing through his teeth. He let himself down, his teammates down, and his country down in the process. On that basis alone, he should be banned from wearing the proud green shirt again, never mind his continued refusal to make himself available for selection since. If he plays again, it sends a signal to the rest of the squad that his behaviour is acceptable, and another player can do the same to us in the future. GT is 69, and doesn't have to go to 21 year olds to persuade them to play, when there are many players available, willing and able to take his place.

131 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by FarBeag View Post
    He is just a very complicated individual and we can do without this for now. We have a new manager with some new additions to the team so I am happy enough to let them get on with it without Mr Ireland.
    It actually appears to me that he's a very simple individual to be honest. He has the personality and mental prowess of a spoiled 8 year old child with the world at his feet. Nothing too complicated about that.

P.S. I've never heard of a mental illness that totally cripples you when trying to play for one football team in a voluntary capacity but seems to have no effect on you when playing for the other team that are paying you handsomely. SI knows which side his bread is buttered on. You haven't seem him causing any problems in all his time with his employer Man City.

Ciaran you're talking out of your anus. Too many people these days use falsified or exagerrated mental problems as an excuse for inappropriate behaviour.
    Last edited by youngirish; 14/05/2008 at 1:14 PM.

not explaining away ireland's misdeeds (not knowing the full truth) but if he does have mental problems then it's very sad. it got me thinking slightly off-topic but mental health is something that rarely comes up in football, as has probably been pointed out ad nauseum. deisler from bayern was the only other player i could think of that sufferred from depression to a debilitating extent. everyone has stress in life and no one is 100% mentally healthy let's face it. but there can be very real sufferring involved and "just because so and so's a professional footballer with a cushy life" shouldn't discount the severity of some of these illnesses and disorders.
    zombie/thread killer..

obviously GT knows more than we do on the situation, hes been around the block and is known as a disciplarian(excuse the spelling) he wouldnt let him decide when he wants to come back unless theres a very good reason. As for callin SI retarded or has a mental disability, lads this is disgusting unless one of SI's agents or Man Citys reps comes out and says it, its not true, total tripe and very unfair to the lad and his family, and stuff like that should not be stated on a public forum.
    COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007

http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979

176 Posts
    If he had such a disability, he wouldn't be playing any football whatsoever. He's played 40-odd games with his club without any ill effects. There is nothing wrong with him, only a refusal to be a part of the Ireland squad for about a month in the year, and to play the odd game or two.

Quote Originally Posted by bellavistaman View Post
    obviously GT knows more than we do on the situation, hes been around the block and is known as a disciplarian(excuse the spelling) he wouldnt let him decide when he wants to come back unless theres a very good reason. As for callin SI retarded or has a mental disability, lads this is disgusting unless one of SI's agents or Man Citys reps comes out and says it, its not true, total tripe and very unfair to the lad and his family, and stuff like that should not be stated on a public forum.
    The only one who has claimed he has a mental illness is Ciaran from what I can see.

I would agree totally with you on this one.

I would also say if SI just confirmed his desires one way or another most people would have more respect for him. He really is the cause of all his own problems.

I agree. It's an increasing problem with young people today which is probably why it hasn't really been seen before. People here need to stop confusing anxiety with laziness. Ireland met with Trap, he accepted an FAI award, he never even mentioned international retirement and he discussed his situation with Sven and Dunne several times. He didn't have to do any of these things, he could have much more easily taken the Andy O Brien route and given the middle finger to the manager, ignored calls and tell nothing to the fans but declaring his international retirement.

And I'd prefer if he did that.

Sven IS not our manager.

He needs to say YES or NO and get off the fence.

And in reference to an increrasing problem with young people, us older posters have kids in that age group so we have plenty of 1st hand experience of problems they encounter.

And I know several kids (under 21) who will be in Fullham paying thier own way who would not agree with your view of anxiety etc, they would say get real and live in the real world.

634 Posts
    I agree. It's an increasing problem with young people today which is probably why it hasn't really been seen before. People here need to stop confusing anxiety with laziness. Ireland met with Trap, he accepted an FAI award, he never even mentioned international retirement and he discussed his situation with Sven and Dunne several times. He didn't have to do any of these things, he could have much more easily taken the Andy O Brien route and given the middle finger to the manager, ignored calls and tell nothing to the fans but declaring his international retirement.
    You noticed the bit where his club captain and international team mate didn't present him with his international award didn't you. That spoke volumes to me more than anything else.
    Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!

Quote Originally Posted by Kingdom View Post
    You noticed the bit where his club captain and international team mate didn't present him with his international award didn't you. That spoke volumes to me more than anything else.
    As I heard it, Dunner actually refused to present him with the award because of the Bratislava incident.
    Honest! I am not a secret Tim nor a closet Sham - I really am a Seagull.

International Prospect Razors left peg's Avatar
    1,001 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Superhoops View Post
    As I heard it, Dunner actually refused to present him with the award because of the Bratislava incident.
    rumours without anything to back it up. Micah Richards is his best mate so I dont see any big issue with him presenting Ireland the award
    Its really not that complicated!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Razors left peg View Post
    rumours without anything to back it up. Micah Richards is his best mate so I dont see any big issue with him presenting Ireland the award

Exactly, where is the confirmation that he has a 'mental illness' and if so what type of mental illness is he supposed to have? Some people on here have more excuses than he has.

Not to mention the trauma of going through a miscarriage.
    Extratime.ie

Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.

Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.

Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.

Does pulling out of the international scene twice, driving a pink car, having a bebo page exposing your ass that you didnt think anyone would find, claiming both your grannies are dead when they aren't and pulling your pants down after scoring a goal. Does any of that sound like the doings of a rationally thinking guy?
    It does not confirm that he has a Mental Illness, none of it does. Seeing that you have laid the symptoms on the table for me. Here is my daignosis. He has either a very low IQ which suggests he has some sort of learning disability or It's more likely a Narcissistic personality disorder which consists of all the above type of behaviour. Defination 'a pervasive pattern of grandiosity, need for admiration, and a lack of empathy." Look it up if you think i am making it up.

Until Mr Ireland has mental Illness confirmed by a Psychiatrist, i will continue to believe that he is just a good for nothing lazy idiot that takes no pride in wanting to play for his country.