147 26.68%
Page 21 of 212 FirstFirst ... 1119202122233171121 ... LastLast

Thread: Stephen Ireland

1,915 Posts
    I am awaiting the latest Sun exclusive report that Stephen Ireland, before Trap arrives, has promised to paint his wheels green in order to demonstrate to Trap his Irish pride.

622 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    I am awaiting the latest Sun exclusive report that Stephen Ireland, before Trap arrives, has promised to paint his wheels green in order to demonstrate to Trap his Irish pride.
    He's saving it for the Serbia friendly where he'll pull down his shorts and produce green giant speedo's
    Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!

International Prospect Razors left peg's Avatar
    874 Posts
    Steven Ireland is 21 years of age and is basically a stupid young fella.But at the age of 21 people are writing him off and saying hes not good enough and we are better off without him.Yes he has made some huge mistakes in the last year and is probably a very difficult character to deal with but we are not blessed with the kind of numbers that other countries have.With 4 goals in 6 appearances he has shown that he can be a big asset for us and he will only get better and better and he gets older.His performance in the Manchester derby in Old Trafford this year also showed a glimpse of the talent that he has. Yes he does need to do it more consistantly but young players are often like that.
    I dont see what the problem with him having a chat with Trapattoni before he returns , he has had an absense from the squad for a short time now and he obviously has some issues that need talking about... but thats what good man management is, dealing with different players in different ways. Some players will just get on with things and hardly ever have to be spoken to while others need constant coaxing and reassurence to get the best out of them.
    At the end of the day we now have whole new set up and every one starts off on a clean slate.If he doesnt want to rejoin the squad and retire from international football I think it would be disgraceful and he would deserve the critism he get but if he comes back and scores the winner against Italy Im sure even his harshest critics would be calling him a hero
    Its really not that complicated!!!

dude's got a hang-up with a group of players teasing him about his hair, is the rumor right. so yea let him talk to the new manager and sort it out, episode over. hopefully.
    zombie/thread killer..

26 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ken foree View Post
    dude's got a hang-up with a group of players teasing him about his hair, is the rumor right. so yea let him talk to the new manager and sort it out, episode over. hopefully.
    Yee Haa Mannn, way to go!

Couldn't agree more, high time this was brushed under the carpet...

Quote Originally Posted by jjppc View Post
    Couldn't agree more, high time this was brushed under the carpet...
    or under the rug
    Honest! I am not a secret Tim nor a closet Sham - I really am a Seagull.

175 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by geysir
    I'd have full confidence that experienced heads like Trap and Tardelli will be able to see what is up with the player, make a sound judgement call and follow up on his behaviour in the squad.
    A "meeting" is not necessary.

He walked out, it's up to him to come back, not up to a professional manager to go to his gaff and coax a 21-year old to play for his country. If I was GT, I'd tell him where to shove his meeting.

Any player who is 21-years old and doesn't want to play under a world class management team, needs their head.....

Turn up when the squad meets up in Dublin, and have your meeting on the boss's terms, not yours.

1,915 Posts
    All that stuff happened before him.
    And as Trap is the new professional manager, he is entirely free to choose what he wants to do in order to get the strongest squad available. I trust he will not compromise himself nor the the team in the process.
    That's a new managers privilege. He may only play that card once
    After that it's the ethos that he establishes and maintains within the team that is more important.

Quote Originally Posted by Ciaran View Post
    Stevie Ireland is at best a fantastic midfield option with amazing prospects, at worst a very entertaining character.

I don't know why people are looking to shove him out of the scene. If it wasn't for him Stan's campaign would have been even less successful and much, much less entertaining.
    are you SI in disguise?

we all know you're only a kid at this stage, but surely you can read by now, I mean my 6 yr old nephew can read.

SI fell out with Brian Kerr, Steve Staunton, Don Givens

If you call a spolit kid deserting OUR country entertaining you really have a problem
    Fair Play died Nov 18th 2009, Stade Francais.

As much as i dislike the bloke the way he is p!ssing about re playing for his country he is a good player and showed this again this afternoon.

According to todays paper he's leaving Man City as the other players hate him and think he's spoiled.
    He needs to make a decision on his Irish future soon as otherwise it's gonna be a never-ending saga.
    LESS OF THE BULL NOW!

Quote Originally Posted by rambler14 View Post
    According to todays paper he's leaving Man City as the other players hate him and think he's spoiled....
    What do you expect? He's from Cork FFS
    Honest! I am not a secret Tim nor a closet Sham - I really am a Seagull.

Agree.

He could and should go on to be our best midfielder for many years to come. At 21 he is a very good Premier League player, highly rated over in England, hopefully this little issue gets sorted and il Trap wil get to use and develop him into a top class international, which he is more than capable of being.
    Thursdays are Oriel.

Two assists from today's game, highlights here.

Checking a Man City forum here's a rating for him:

Ireland - 9 - Best game since the Derby. Why? Because he got to play in his proper position! Ran the show for the 75 minutes he was on. Some of his passing was unreal and 2 assists is a good days work for anyone. Again, **** the critics.
    This guy is a real prospect with great vision and a decent ball. I agree, he does seem lost at times but going forward he's a real asset. Someone who, when played correctly, can provide a good link up with attackers.

Every time i see Ireland play he is poor. However today he was bloody excellent. Instrumental in 2 goals, his lovely pass also caused the last man tackle that resulted in the sending off. As has been pointed out he was playing in the hole which is his best position. His passing was a joy to watch

3,339 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by rambler14 View Post
    According to todays paper he's leaving Man City as the other players hate him and think he's spoiled.
    He needs to make a decision on his Irish future soon as otherwise it's gonna be a never-ending saga.
    what paper is that in?

News of the World. It could be in some more but thats the only paper i've read today.
    LESS OF THE BULL NOW!

Tell me you don't believe the News of the World. Believe that and you'll believe anythign!
    Thursdays are Oriel.

I loved watching him today. That Man City fan said he ran the show, exactly the phrase I would use.

Whilst Man City might feel they can't give him such a luxury all the time, we probably can. I reckon a continental coach like Trap will make the most of him.

Ade