Page 20 of 212 FirstFirst ... 1018192021223070120 ... LastLast

Thread: Stephen Ireland

Lost in Giovanni Trappatoni's Tactics Board
    132 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tetsujin1979 View Post
    My bad, thought you were already started on the new job.
    First quotes from Ireland on the subject of whether or not he wants to play for the national team, and about f*cking time too. Really getting sick of "insider" quotes, and stories based on "sources close to the player". It's done and dusted. He never told anybody he is not going to play for his country (although I concede this does not mean he doesn not want to play, just he has not told anyone) He want to meet Il Trap to discuss his future. End of story.

the only person who knows whether steve ireland will play intl football again is STEVE IRELAND - until we hear otherwise from the man himself , he is playing for his country and he should be welcomed back with open arms.

Im sick to the teeth of ppl jumping on the "ireland doesnt want to play for the republic" bandwagon when they have no official source to back up their argument, apart from some quote from a "SOURCE!!!!!!!! on some tabloid , - which is obviously complete boll*x

131 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by back of the net View Post
    the only person who knows whether steve ireland will play intl football again is STEVE IRELAND - until we hear otherwise from the man himself , he is playing for his country and he should be welcomed back with open arms.

Im sick to the teeth of ppl jumping on the "ireland doesnt want to play for the republic" bandwagon when they have no official source to back up their argument, apart from some quote from a "SOURCE!!!!!!!! on some tabloid , - which is obviously complete boll*x
    So why even when he's been named in the squad do Traptonni and/or Brady need to have a meeting with him before he decides to come back? Can't he just show up for training like the rest of the players? Don't be so foolish.

I personally couldn't care less if he plays for Ireland again or not. This is not the point as a far as I'm concerned. He's being a severe ar*e about the whole situation, it's plain for all to see. Read the signs and stop ignoring them. You rarely have the liberty of having access to 100% of all the facts when making decisions in life . I've seen more than enough evidence to (paraphrasing a court term) show beyond reasonable doubt that Stephen Ireland is a 'grade A' tos*er who is showing not even an ounce of the enthusiasm to play for his country that you would expect from an Internatonal footballer.

If he was Roy Keane I would at least understand (though possibly not adhere to) the arguments stating that we need him and must do whatever it takes to get him back. However he's an average player in a position we are reasonably strong in so I don't see what all the fuss is about.
    Last edited by youngirish; 18/04/2008 at 10:52 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by youngirish View Post
    So why even when he's been named in the squad do Traptonni and/or Brady need to have a meeting with him before he decides to come back? Can't he just show up for training like the rest of the players? Don't be so foolish.
    I doubt he rang up and requested a meeting. Probably just arranged by Sven and he wants to get stuff off his chest. Wait until the squad meet up before making assumptions.

132 Posts

I personally couldn't care less if he plays for Ireland again or not. This is not the point as a far as I'm concerned. He's being a severe ar*e about the whole situation, it's plain for all to see. Read the signs and stop ignoring them. You rarely have the liberty of having access to 100% of all the facts when making decisions in life . I've seen more than enough evidence to (paraphrasing a court term) show beyond reasonable doubt that Stephen Ireland is a 'grade A' tos*er who is showing not even an ounce of the enthusiasm to play for his country that you would expect from an Internatonal footballer.

If he was Roy Keane I would at least understand (though possibly not adhere to) the arguments stating that we need him and must do whatever it takes to get him back. However he's an average player in a position we are reasonably strong in so I don't see what all the fuss is about.
    how many editions of the sun have you read - you know f**k all about it

sven arranged the meeting with trappatoni and has been in consistent contact with him over the stephen ireland situation

QUOTE["You rarely have the liberty of having access to 100% of all the facts when making decisions in life . I've seen more than enough evidence to (paraphrasing a court term) show beyond reasonable doubt that Stephen Ireland is a 'grade A' tos*er who is showing not even an ounce of the enthusiasm to play for his country that you would expect from an Internatonal footballer."]UNQUOTE -

but yet can call him a tosser and claim to know that he is been a toss*r -its idiots like yo that keep tabloid thrash in business

ur even contradicting yourself in your own post , you say you expect a player to have the enthuasism to play for his country so therefore you slate ireland - but then you say if it was roy keane , it would be ok , cos he is better - so are you saying "1 rule for 1 player and a different rule for every other player"

also im intrigued to know about all this evidence that you have "SEEN"????

131 Posts
    how many editions of the sun have you read - you know f**k all about it

sven arranged the meeting with trappatoni and has been in consistent contact with him over the stephen ireland situation

QUOTE["You rarely have the liberty of having access to 100% of all the facts when making decisions in life . I've seen more than enough evidence to (paraphrasing a court term) show beyond reasonable doubt that Stephen Ireland is a 'grade A' tos*er who is showing not even an ounce of the enthusiasm to play for his country that you would expect from an Internatonal footballer."]UNQUOTE -

but yet can call him a tosser and claim to know that he is been a toss*r -its idiots like yo that keep tabloid thrash in business

ur even contradicting yourself in your own post , you say you expect a player to have the enthuasism to play for his country so therefore you slate ireland - but then you say if it was roy keane , it would be ok , cos he is better - so are you saying "1 rule for 1 player and a different rule for every other player"

also im intrigued to know about all this evidence that you have "SEEN"????
    I simply stated I could understand the logic of an argument to pressure the likes of Roy Keane to come back if we needed him as he obviously makes a big difference to our team. However I also stated I wouldn't agree with such an argument just that it was more logical. Newsflash Stephen Ireland is no Roy Keane, he won't even be deemed good enough for city next year imo and will be either offloaded or only used sparingly in the starting 11.

Again as I stated why if Stephen Ireland is so keen to come back does he not just show up for training with the rest of the squad? When is Trap having his meeting with Duff, R Keane, Dunne et all to convince them to show up for his first training session? Let's see, mmmmm, yes the only logical deduction is that S Ireland believes he requires some special attention to pursuade him to return. Come up with any other conclusion that makes more sense (the keyword here is more) and I might start to take you seriously.
    Last edited by youngirish; 18/04/2008 at 11:58 AM.

131 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by eirebhoy View Post
    I doubt he rang up and requested a meeting. Probably just arranged by Sven and he wants to get stuff off his chest. Wait until the squad meet up before making assumptions.
    Didn't Sven state on numerous occasions that he wasn't sure after talking to Ireland if he wanted to come back? Come on lads cop on. There's not this much smoke for such a long period of time without fire.

Yes we can ignore all the stories in the media regarding football as most are only written by tabloid hacks but then we'd have no information on anything.

I wouldn't be surprised if he turned out for Ireland again after some serious effort has been put in to convince him to do so but he'll cause more trouble in the future. Let's be honest his track record is pretty long in this regard isn't it?

1,928 Posts
    BOTN, I don't know about consistant contact.
    Sven has said he has spoken to Trap once pink think
    "I hope that Trapattoni will come here and visit us and speak to Stephen," Eriksson said. "I know he wants to meet [him]. I have spoken to Trapattoni once and he has said that he will come here".

Ireland has not indicated his willingness to play as that headline suggested, he is just quoted as saying that he has an "open mind".

I wonder how Jack would have responded on that day in Oxford if Houghton or Aldo had replied "I´ll keep an open mind" when asked to declare for Ireland.

132 Posts
    You're being even more of an idiot now. I simply stated I could understand the logic of an argument to pressure the likes of Roy Keane to come back if we needed him as he obviously makes a big difference to our team. However I also stated I wouldn't agree with such an argument just that it was more logical (a universal concept you seem to have great difficulty understanding). Newsflash Stephen Ireland is no Roy Keane, he won't even be deemed good enough for city next year imo and will be either offloaded or only used sparingly in the starting 11.

Again as I stated why if Stephen Ireland is so keen to come back does he not just show up for training with the rest of the squad? When is Trap having his meeting with Duff, R Keane, Dunne et all to convince them about showing up for the training? Let's see, mmmmm, yes the only logical deduction is that S Ireland believes he requires some special attention to pursuade him to return. Come up with any other conclusion that makes more sense (the keyword here is more) and not the usual rubbish you've been spouting until now and I might start to take you seriously (unlikely though).

Tip - Another step on the road to being taking seriously is to learn how to use the quotes.

if steve ireland has no reason for his international wilderness and his past actions with the irish team - then of course he should be left to his own and the irish squad should move on without him

however you dont know what his reasons are -either do i or does anyone else - so stop presuming you do and wait till the outcome of the trappatoni meeting is revealed to the public - you dont know what the full topics of the meeting between will be about

i dont need you telling me ireland is no keane , but my point was that if keane had done similar for no reason(as you assume with s ireland) then why should he be given the special treatment and stevie ireland not?

this whole thread has had people preaching assumptions because they read some thrash that has no official background to it and just presumed that thrash to be correct

and as for your " using quotes comment" - it aint even worth a reply

132 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    BOTN, I don't know about consistant contact.
    Sven has said he has spoken to Trap once pink think
    "I hope that Trapattoni will come here and visit us and speak to Stephen," Eriksson said. "I know he wants to meet [him]. I have spoken to Trapattoni once and he has said that he will come here".

Ireland has not indicated his willingness to play as that headline suggested, he is just quoted as saying that he has an "open mind".

I wonder how Jack would have responded on that day in Oxford if Houghton or Aldo had replied "I´ll keep an open mind" when asked to declare for Ireland.
    thats not my point - all im saying is that wait till the outcome of the meeting is revealed - ppl are throwing to many accusations around without knowing the full facts

there is no point comparing the ireland situation to any other player - lets just wait and see how the meeting goes and then ppl should make their verdict

131 Posts
    if steve ireland has no reason for his international wilderness and his past actions with the irish team - then of course he should be left to his own and the irish squad should move on without him

however you dont know what his reasons are -either do i or does anyone else - so stop presuming you do and wait till the outcome of the trappatoni meeting is revealed to the public - you dont know what the full topics of the meeting between will be about

i dont need you telling me ireland is no keane , but my point was that if keane had done similar for no reason(as you assume with s ireland) then why should he be given the special treatment and stevie ireland not?

this whole thread has had people preaching assumptions because they read some thrash that has no official background to it and just presumed that thrash to be correct

and as for your " using quotes comment" - it aint even worth a reply
    An honest, intelligent well constructed reply unlike your previous one. I'll edit the other post.
    Last edited by youngirish; 18/04/2008 at 11:59 AM.

132 Posts
    An honest, intelligent well constructed reply unlike the previous one. I'll edit the other post.
    your fine mate - u can leave it alone - dont assume you all the facts next time ((-:

1,928 Posts
    thats not my point -
    but this was
    "sven arranged the meeting with trappatoni and has been in consistent contact with him over the stephen ireland situation"
    Sven has said he talked with Trap on one occasion.

132 Posts
    but this was
    "sven arranged the meeting with trappatoni and has been in consistent contact with him over the stephen ireland situation"
    Sven has said he talked with Trap on one occasion.
    sorry geysir - crossed wires mate

my point is : all im saying is that wait till the outcome of the meeting is revealed - ppl are throwing to many accusations around without knowing the full facts

there is no point comparing the ireland situation to any other player - lets just wait and see how the meeting goes and then ppl should make their verdict

it just annoys the hell out of me when ppl start presuming stuff about our players when they dont know the full facts

1,928 Posts
    I'd let Trap deal with it as he sees fit.
    Any manager would want to have the best squad available and that includes checking out retired and semi retired players.
    It is not Trap's responsibility on what went on before. Regardless of how silly Ireland has behaved in the past, it wasn't done under Trap's watch.
    I'd have full confidence that experienced heads like Trap and Tardelli will be able to see what is up with the player, make a sound judgement call and follow up on his behaviour in the squad.

132 Posts
    Any manager would want to have the best squad available and that includes checking out retired and semi retired players.
    It is not Trap's responsibility on what went on before. Regardless of how silly Ireland has behaved in the past, it wasn't done under Trap's watch.
    I'd have full confidence that experienced heads like Trap and Tardelli will be able to see what is up with the player, make a sound judgement call and follow up on his behaviour in the squad.
    agreed mate

634 Posts
    Great point and I'll subscribe to that theory.
    Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!

Quoting years at random since 1975

634 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Wolfie View Post
    We're all friends here¬
    Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!

1,928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Wolfie View Post
    Kingdom didn't claim that anyone had ownership of the theory
    Should you?
    The clean slate theory has been mentioned often enough through the past zillion posts.

Kingdom didn't claim that anyone had ownership of the theory
    Should you?
    The clean slate theory has been mentioned often enough through the past zillion posts.
    Jaysus, not atall!!. Twas messin about there, Geysir

Should have added the in the first place. Its the common sense stance, afterall.

As for the World is Round theory - hands off, thats mine!!!
    Quoting years at random since 1975