147 26.68%
Page 17 of 212 FirstFirst ... 715161718192767117 ... LastLast

Thread: Stephen Ireland

Does the fact Trap (a hard task-masker) is willing to countenance his return not suggest we should move on as well?

I'm sure we've all played with the type of fella who although very talented has been touched in other ways too, the fella who needs the arm around the shoulder to make him feel a part of the team, and once he does, he performs. I'm not saying Ireland should get extra special treatment, just specialised, tailored to the person he is. It might be difficult at first, but I'm sure after a couple of weeks with the squad in May any discomfort will be ironed out.

I can take him or leave him. But the team will undoubtedly be better for his inclusion, and so as hard as it might be to forget I, for one, would not boo him, but draw on a touch of compassion and think 'ok this guy's screwed us over in the past, but he's fcuked in the head and he's playing a great game for us, maybe he's seen the light, why boo like that muppet beside me is?'

20 Posts
    Clearly Stephen Ireland is like a bottle empty

Quote Originally Posted by youngirish View Post

I correctly suggested this guy was a plank all those months ago when he lied about not one but both of his grandmother's dying and a lot (not all) of the usual muppets here stuck by him and offered excuse after pitiful excuse for his behaviour. I don't for a second believe his miscarriage story either considering the lies that has preceeded and followed it.

Let it go now. You were wrong. The guy's a severe ar*e. Hope to never see him in an Ireland jersey again and will let my displeasure be heard if I do and I'm at the game.
    Jaysus aren't you great
    "Well I think they'll be a little disappointed with that" - Matt Holland on TV3 after 5-2 drubbing by Cyprus

26 Posts
    I don't agree with what has gone on but lets not forget that he is only 21!

Quote Originally Posted by eirebhoy View Post
    That's the 2nd Man City player to say that. I think it shows how mature he is on the pitch that he'd rather keep possession at all times than trying to do too much or showboating. He's gonna have one brilliant football brain by time he's at his peak. Himself and Andy Reid could pass teams off the park. Stephen Reid looks to be up to it too. If those 3 players ensured we could dominate possession against teams, the real creativity can come from Duff, McGeady and Keane.

I'd actually like to see the Sunderland game again now. No way was Ireland woeful. Woeful for Ireland would be hiding and regularly losing possession. He was quick thinking, he was at least as involved Petrov and Elano while he was on (City had 60% possession) and he got himself into the box a lot.
    Beauty is the eye of the beholder. I'd say this shows he doesn't have the confidence in his own ability (or the character) during games to take on the oppostion. If he is the most skillful player at City why is he not more creative and direct during matches? Keeping possession is one thing but a successful team has to have the creativity to slice their opponents open at crucial times. Its very seldom I see him trying to cut open a defence - all these 5 yard passes are grand if your team is winning and needs to hold possession but what about when theyre behind?? Sure jaysus Carsley could play the 5 yard passing game

And he was poor against Sunderland, made a few of those 5 yard passes but that was about it - no meaningful passes or shots. Petrov and Elano injected a bit of urgency to Citys play which Ireland simply wasnt doing. And I can assure you Petrov was much more involved than Ireland - nearly all Citys attacking play came from him

Quote Originally Posted by livehead1 View Post
    I don't agree with what has gone on but lets not forget that he is only 21!
    Yes he is 21 not 7, the excuses for Ireland are getting weaker and weaker

Quote Originally Posted by jmurphyc View Post
    That stat could be rolled off the tongue by anyone who has never watched him play in their life. So far for us, Stephen Ireland has been poor in most of the games he has played for us. His goalscoring record has been excellent for us but he has done little else to prove that he is worthy of a place in the starting eleven. It's no good if he scores and then goes missing for the other 89 minutes. If a striker were to do that then he could be forgiven but a midfielder should always be trying to impose himself on games and Ireland hasn't done that for us consistently enough. Judging by his last performance in the shirt he won't be missed.
    I've said this before due to his finishing ability - why not play him up front alongside Keane or just in behind. I really don't think he has what it takes to play CM for Ireland (he does disappear for large periods) but I believe his touch and finishing would make him an excellent striker. The only would be he might be too similar to Keane. Perhaps he could be a viable sub for Keane if Keane wasnt playing well

I'd be wary of that article. He was quoted if I remember correctly as saying he was interested in coming back or words to those effect after Givens spouted off about him in his press conference. Can't remember where I saw it (may have been here) but I definately remember the article.

I would take everything with a pinch of salt unless it comes from the man himself.
    Top Breeders recommend drinkfeckarse....

Quote Originally Posted by drinkfeckarse View Post
    I would take everything with a pinch of salt
    Even really salty bacon?

Quote Originally Posted by lionelhutz View Post
    I've said this before due to his finishing ability - why not play him up front alongside Keane or just in behind. I really don't think he has what it takes to play CM for Ireland (he does disappear for large periods) but I believe his touch and finishing would make him an excellent striker. The only would be he might be too similar to Keane. Perhaps he could be a viable sub for Keane if Keane wasnt playing well
    He played in behind Doyle at home to Slovakia and that was arguably his best game for us. His performances suggest to me that this is the position we should play him in. I wouldn't trust him to lead the line though as he doesn't seem to have enough strength or pace to do this.
    My concerns are global. I reject absolutely revenge, aggression, and retaliation. The foundation of such a method, is love. I love you Sheriff Truman.

131 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dr. Ogba View Post
    Jaysus aren't you great
    Yeah I think so to. Thanks man.

[I]

I correctly suggested this guy was a plank all those months ago when he lied about not one but both of his grandmother's dying and a lot (not all) of the usual muppets here stuck by him and offered excuse after pitiful excuse for his behaviour. I don't for a second believe his miscarriage story either considering the lies that has preceeded and followed it.

Let it go now. You were wrong. The guy's a severe ar*e. Hope to never see him in an Ireland jersey again and will let my displeasure be heard if I do and I'm at the game.
    i agree with what you say above, that the lad's not the sharpest and i'm still indifferent about seeing him back in an irish jersey but the miscarraige story is true, i know his girlfriend, and i saw a text he sent a buddy of his over the weekend saying that he doesn't want to come back playing for ireland so i say lets move on and forget about the waster.

85 Posts
    Lads , it's tabloid sh!te is what it is... and it's the type of thing that further complicates situations..

I'm stickin to what I saw Ireland say after MOTD about the highlights in his career including representing his country...

I think he wants to come back but is nervous of how he's gonna be treated by the fans after the Granny incident... Articles like that don't contribute anything.
    I pity the fool!.... But suggest ways that he might improve himself.

www.thefastleague.com

Quote Originally Posted by jmurphyc View Post
    He played in behind Doyle at home to Slovakia and that was arguably his best game for us. His performances suggest to me that this is the position we should play him in. I wouldn't trust him to lead the line though as he doesn't seem to have enough strength or pace to do this.
    Ya I'd agree. There's no way he could be our main striker but playing behind a front man would suit him perfectly - like the Elano role for City. I don't think Keane could lead the line either though so they wouldn't work as a partnership

Quote Originally Posted by dr_peepee View Post
    ....I'm stickin to what I saw Ireland say after MOTD about the highlights in his career including representing his country....
    You saw what he said Don't remember subtitles!

Was the sound gone on your telly and you had to lip read?
    Honest! I am not a secret Tim nor a closet Sham - I really am a Seagull.

Quote Originally Posted by lionelhutz View Post
    all these 5 yard passes are grand if your team is winning and needs to hold possession but what about when theyre behind??
    5 yard passes is all that's needed to pass a team off the park and play some of the most attractive football. Carsley can play a 5 yard pass but I doubt he's any use playing one touch passing and playing different types of passes. Carsley has good defensive positional sense but he rarely knows what he's going to do with the ball before he even gets it. Players like Ireland do. It comes natural to him and he'll release the ball as soon as it comes to him.

I just think we're not used to a player of S.Ireland's style in this country. He's too laid back on the pitch. We're used to players showing tremendous desire and even anger in their play.

Ireland's ~40 passes a game are effective. Even if 39 of those are simple 5 yard passes. If A.Reid, S.Reid, Duff, Keane and McGeady were all passing it as quickly as him while rarely giving it away it would be an absolute joy to watch. A style of football rarely seen from an Irish team and I think we're capable of it with our current set of players. And chances and goals are bound to come with those players in the team.

131 Posts
    Ireland's ~40 passes a game are effective. Even if 39 of those are simple 5 yard passes. If A.Reid, S.Reid, Duff, Keane and McGeady were all passing it as quickly as him while rarely giving it away it would be an absolute joy to watch. A style of football rarely seen from an Irish team and I think we're capable of it with our current set of players. And chances and goals are bound to come with those players in the team.
    A Reid is far more comfortable on the ball (including his passing) than Stephen Ireland. I'd rate Keane as having similar ability on the ball.

The problem with Ireland anyway is that other than his distribution he offers little to a team. A modern midfielder needs to rely on more than just a single attribute of his game.
    Last edited by youngirish; 16/04/2008 at 1:31 PM.

85 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Superhoops View Post
    You saw what he said Don't remember subtitles!

Was the sound gone on your telly and you had to lip read?
    I smell colours too!!!
    I pity the fool!.... But suggest ways that he might improve himself.

www.thefastleague.com

5 yard passes is all that's needed to pass a team off the park and play some of the most attractive football. Carsley can play a 5 yard pass but I doubt he's any use playing one touch passing and playing different types of passes. Carsley has good defensive positional sense but he rarely knows what he's going to do with the ball before he even gets it. Players like Ireland do. It comes natural to him and he'll release the ball as soon as it comes to him.

I just think we're not used to a player of S.Ireland's style in this country. He's too laid back on the pitch. We're used to players showing tremendous desire and even anger in their play.

the simple passes are only one part of the equation - the next, and just as important part is off the ball movement, something which we never saw under the previous few managers. Hopefully Trap can get us playing a pass and move kind of game cause I think we finally have the kind of players that can do this (the lads you mentioned above being the main players capable of doing this.)
    "Well I think they'll be a little disappointed with that" - Matt Holland on TV3 after 5-2 drubbing by Cyprus

A Reid is far more comfortable on the ball (including his passing) than Stephen Ireland.
    Of course he is. I probably could have phrased that sentence better. Basically, 5 Stephen Ireland's could pass teams off the park (obviously ignoring what'd happen when they lose possession ). 5 yard passes is all that's needed. Those 5 yard passes will look a lot more effective if his teammates have the proper positional sense and decision making skills. I definitely think we have enough players now with excellent technique to compliment and get the best out of each other.