Results 1,021 to 1,040 of 4233

Thread: Stephen Ireland

205 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ciprian Marica View Post
    If he's psychologically capable of playing well for Man City then that rules his mental state out as an excuse for not playing for Ireland. To me, it seems he couldn't be bothered.

No it does not. No more than a man with a broken leg can make a cup of tea but can't run a marathon. Marcus Trescothick was able to carry on playing County Cricket during his depressive illness but could not handle the stress of playing for England. It is pretty obvious that Ireland's decision is not motivated by some idle whim or any lack of patriotoc fervour, but is rooted in personal circumstances and experiences. As much as I would love to see him playing for us, he doesn't actually owe me or anybody else on this site anything, and we therefore have no right to abuse and criticise him as a person.

Third Policeman, do you think a player can just pick and choose when he wants to play international football and for that to have no effect on the morale and team spirit of a squad. Also there were rumours of bullying in the media he did not come out to clarify the issue in relation to this and this is lsomething that should have been done according to both Hunt and Dunne as they both mentioned this in interviews.

Its not nice for any player like both Robbie Keane and Stephen Hunt to be accused of bullying, and it should have been cleared up by Stephen Manchester.

International football is something that chooses you not the other way around and he has shown total disregard for the jersey that has been worn by legends and some who have had personal issues that they got over.

He clearly does not like being away from his families and it is a free world and he is entitled to do so but he should not have the choice of coming back and playing for us whenever suits him. The Republic of Ireland squad and fans is a lot bigger than Stephen Manchester and his mixed up life.
    In Trap we trust

162 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tricky_colour View Post
    Looks like you will have to do it because you are the only one who knows it.
    I'll do it! Michael Laudrup, Denmark's best player for much of the 80s and early 90s, fell out with the manager Richard-Moller Nielsen. Without him, Denmark won Euro '92.

But then they drew their opening USA '94 matches against Latvia and ourselves, and despite Laudrup's eventual return, those dropped points cost Denmark dearly, and we qualified on goals scored!

Quote Originally Posted by third policeman View Post
    As much as I would love to see him playing for us, he doesn't actually owe me or anybody else on this site anything, and we therefore have no right to abuse and criticise him as a person.

I do not agree, he owes us (The Irish Football Family) the cost of his private jet home from Bratislava.
    Fair Play died Nov 18th 2009, Stade Francais.

Can we please move this thread to world football as Stephen Manchester has nothing to do with Irish Football. It is insulting to all Irish football fans to have him in an Ireland thread.

As for the ass**** journalists who think Trap should beg him to play, they are the ones who know nothing about team spirit, slagging off fans for having a different opinion to them.
    Fair Play died Nov 18th 2009, Stade Francais.

Is this the newstalk lads, you are talking about. Total cynics in my view but with zero passion for the game.
    In Trap we trust

Quote Originally Posted by Greenforever View Post
    Can we please move this thread to world football as Stephen Manchester has nothing to do with Irish Football. It is insulting to all Irish football fans to have him in an Ireland thread.

As for the ass**** journalists who think Trap should beg him to play, they are the ones who know nothing about team spirit, slagging off fans for having a different opinion to them.
    Totally agree with you. He has got to be the biggest d1ckhead ever to have put an Irish Jersey on his back. Why so many people on here stood by him and still clearly do is beyond me? He might have as well have taken it off and spat on it. I hope he never gets a chance to wear it again.

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by seanfhear View Post
    Mind you I would be surprised if Trap would actually play him.
    He is physologically flawed.Who lies about his grandmother dying to do a runner.At best he is very stupid which(contrary to popular opinion)is unusual in talented sports people.
    People with flawed personalities usually become unstuck when faced with the pressure of performing at the highest level.
    ah come on, please!

244 Posts
    I've defended him for a long time because we don't know all the details, but those comments shrugging the national team off are disappointing to say the least.

I was really excited by his play this year, and was hoping it was a matter of weeks or months before he would come out and say he'd play for us again.

After this latest kick to the nuts of Irish football, I think my interest in following his exploits with City has expired.

I saw the interview on Football focus too, the body language when asked about playing for the Irish team said it all, the prior excitable tone when discussing Manchester citys revolution was replaced by a dip of the head, a sombre expresssion and a response that would led one to believe we won't see this chap in Green for some while if ever..

As Irelands talent have improved so too have peoples anger with him on this forum which is only natural afterall It is hugely fustrating to watch an Irish player blossom in Premiership and turn around and refuse to play for his country, We have a limited pool of talent to choose from and We haven't had an attacking central midfield option of SI quality in years..he is young 22 wasn't able to take a slagging lost the plot and now there is a huge mental block there stopping him returning, I saw Trap at the match yesterday, I doubt he was there to rule the ruse over Dunnes tired and tested pedigree, I can't see how he is going to coax this guy back into the fold but then again an unbalanced 22 year old is bread and butter to the wily 69 year old trap so we'll see.

2,693 Posts
    Patrick Barclay's main feature in the Sunday Telegraph was on Stephen Ireland's talent.

Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    Patrick Barclay's main feature in the Sunday Telegraph was on Stephen Ireland's talent.
    He's been busy on the media front, big interview in the Observer on Sunday, when questioned about playing for Ireland , he says and I quote " Im unsure about the situation there, for my part I'll never say never , but to be honest I dont miss it".

Ambiguous as usual !

Quote Originally Posted by jjppc View Post
    He's been busy on the media front, big interview in the Observer on Sunday, when questioned about playing for Ireland , he says and I quote " Im unsure about the situation there, for my part I'll never say never , but to be honest I dont miss it".

Ambiguous as usual !
    Nothing ambiguous about that!.......so as far as we should be concerned it's MUTUAL, and should be, FINALLY, the end of this debate!!!
    Tact is for people who are not witty enough to be sarcastic

Quote Originally Posted by Reality Bites View Post
    I doubt he was there to rule the ruse over Dunnes tired and tested pedigree.
    Ah now he has some gas left in the tank yet surely!

205 Posts
    [quote=NeilMcD;1029231]Third Policeman, do you think a player can just pick and choose when he wants to play international football and for that to have no effect on the morale and team spirit of a squad.

I dont think that he "just picking and choosing". As you hint yourself there is a reason for his opting out and we dont know (nor necessarily need or deserve to know) all the facts. It's sad and I still think its possibly capable of being resolved (interesting to see Trap at the game?) but ultimately he does have the right to make a personal decision about this and we should respect that.

131 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by third policeman View Post

I dont think that he "just picking and choosing". As you hint yourself there is a reason for his opting out and we dont know (nor necessarily need or deserve to know) all the facts. It's sad and I still think its possibly capable of being resolved (interesting to see Trap at the game?) but ultimately he does have the right to make a personal decision about this and we should respect that.
    Of course he has the right to opt out of the squad, no one is questioning his God given right to do so. We however as fans of the Irish team also have the right to slate him for doing just that and deservedly so imo.
    Last edited by youngirish; 29/09/2008 at 2:51 PM.

International Prospect passinginterest's Avatar
    424 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jjppc View Post

Ambiguous as usual !
    Following on from this he also said:

"I'm happy playing for the club and I've got a young family to think of. My commitment is to Manchester City and my family. I wouldn't say I hated playing for Ireland, I just feel I'm better off being away from it,"

I think he's pretty much ruled himself out completely there.

More from the Herald here.

Tallaght Stadium Regular

367 Posts
    If he is not 100% committed to playing for Ireland he should not be anywhere near the team.

Whatever about him coming back in the future, I think he's made it clear that playing for Ireland is not something he's particularly bothered about - and his actions in the past have shown this on more than one occasion (and he's still only 22). Yes Stephen Ireland has his reasons for not playing for Ireland but instead of fooling ourselves into thinking his reasons are "complex", let's just take them for what they are - he couldn't be arsed to play for his country.

I don't think a player with this kind of mentality should ever be capped again.

Stephen england i hate you.
    Your daddy works in porno
    Now that mommy's not around
    She used to love her heroin
    But now she's underground

Personally I disagree utterly with all the 'hate Stephen Ireland' brigade... You can say we should ensure he has himself right before he returns, and that he must really want to be there... but to hate the guy is just stupid.