Injury my arse.

214 Posts
    gutted that those two are missing.
    "If God had meant football to be played in the air, he'd have put grass in the sky." Brian Clough.

You'll NEVER beat the Irish.......you'll just draw with us instead!!!

Any ideas on what kind of team Brazil will be bringing? Ronaldinho? Robinho?

feck it anyway, the 2 lads would've been main attractions.

Brazil named their squad very early with some big names in it. Perhaps at the request of the FAI in order to shift some tickets before they pulled out?
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    Membership Advisory Board
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

Sure while we are at it lets blame the FAI for the London bombings, Madelaine McCann and a few other things.
    In Trap we trust

3,499 Posts
    Alex Bruce called into the squad to replace Andy O'Brien: http://www.fai.ie/index.php?option=c...k=view&id=2833

Givens admitted following this morning’s squad training session at Gannon Park in Malahide that he has yet to receive confirmation from Andy O’Brien that he has retired from International football.

There were reports on Sunday that the Bolton Wanderers defender had hung up his boots for Ireland but Givens is awaiting clarification from the player himself.

O’Brien had been included in the original squad but owing to his absence, Bruce has been called up.

“I haven’t been able to make any contact with Andy O’Brien, so I’ve called in Alex Bruce and he’ll arrive in this afternoon,” said Givens.

1,928 Posts
    Steven Reid is unlikely to be involved
    RTE sport
    Pity.

2,796 Posts
    I hear Robbie is carrying a knock too.

Carsley-Miller looks to be the only option for midfield.

2,796 Posts
    I really dislike Miller as many of you know by now but I saw a bit of Liverpool vs Sunderland on Saturday and he impressed me, not for the first time this year. Busy on the ball, linking play, always looking for it.

He seems like a new player this past month or so.

Quote Originally Posted by eirebhoy View Post

Miller is a man of perpetual false dawns....every time that he seems to be "recapturing his old form" he earns his start for Ireland and then proceeds to play absolute muck. I'd sooner have the likes of McCann/Garvan/Potter in the team ahead of him...
    "Well I think they'll be a little disappointed with that" - Matt Holland on TV3 after 5-2 drubbing by Cyprus

85 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by eirebhoy View Post

He does. He's playing well enough and the Sunderland fans seem happy with him. But there's something missing. It's like he's always just a tad late getting to someone, and a bit slower. And at least once a game he gets cought in possesion cos he hasn't got rid soon enough.. I'm not comparing to A Reid and Ireland technically, but like them I think he really only excels with 5 in the middle. I'll give him his due though, cos for someone so small I've seen him leave bigger payers on their @rse after a shoulder.
    I pity the fool!.... But suggest ways that he might improve himself.

www.thefastleague.com

Quote Originally Posted by Dr. Ogba View Post
    Miller is a man of perpetual false dawns....every time that he seems to be "recapturing his old form" he earns his start for Ireland and then proceeds to play absolute muck. I'd sooner have the likes of McCann/Garvan/Potter in the team ahead of him...
    You're right and I'm not a big fan of him either but I think he was played on the right wing in our last game against Wales.

Which channel is Brazil on??

Is Brazil game live on RTE? If not where si it on?? Thanks
    "Being Irish, he had an abiding sense of tragedy which sustained him through temporary periods of joy."

MARTIN ROWLANDS.......COME ON DON WHAT HAS HE DONE WRONG?

YOU SHOULD BE GIVING HIM A CHANCE
    Ciao

Clinton On Fire!

Quote Originally Posted by green army View Post
    its a disgrace that morrison is not included. he is on fire at the moment.
    Whats so disgraceful about this ?He got his chances and did not take them !so just lets put this rubbish to bed and get on with what we have ,Clinton is only good enough for the Championship put him in the premiership and hes found out!

3,499 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by hamburg paul View Post
    Whats so disgraceful about this ?He got his chances and did not take them !so just lets put this rubbish to bed and get on with what we have ,Clinton is only good enough for the Championship put him in the premiership and hes found out!
    Certainly no more found out than Shane Long or Daryl Murphy, who aren't scoring. If nothing else, Clinton is in form and playing well. Murphy has being playing better recently, out left and only recently notched his second of the season. Long has barely finished 4 games in total, in terms of minutes played this season, and rarely gets more than 10 minutes at the end of a game.
    You're going to have to do a lot better than that to convince anyone Clinton does not deserve his place in the squad.

Quote Originally Posted by hamburg paul View Post
    What's disgraceful about it is that seemingly a striker on a run of 13 goals is not in good enough form to be selected in an understrength friendly squad (Why only name a squad of 21 for a friendly? Trying to prove a point of omission?) by a caretaker manager who is either unaware of form, or cares not for it.

While its accepted that Keane will definately start, one way or the other, one of Doyle, Long or Murphy will also. While all three are noble servants with decent qualities, I defy anyone to argue that their current form is more impressive than Morrisons right now. What are friendlies for if not to reward in form players by recalling them to see how they can do?

Morrison is scoring goals, has played well in the past with our recognised no1 choice striker, and is acknowledged to be popular and well liked by both the older & younger players, and for these reasons alone he should be in this squad.

This "He's had his chance" argument is a load of my arse. Do you mean to say that if this was the first qualifier instead of a friendly, he should be ignored in favour of a hot-and-cold out of form 'one for the future' player, clogging away with a relegation battling team simply because Morrison as a striker has "had his chance" ?

Fair enough, Mr Givens....
    On the way into the stadium, an elderly San Marino Steward waved us in and said "Tonight, may the best team win"

And they nearly did.

Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3456 LastLast