Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Thread: Jason McAteer

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    785 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Drumcondra 69er View Post
    So you can make a call on what I was doing now?

The fact that McAteer regularly uses these stories himself in interviews etc makes a mockery of your argument, I'm sure if he was reading this he'd be p1ssing himself laughing....
    ...and you can make a call on what McAteer would be doing
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

always had great time for McAteer. as said above he gave it his all whenever he put on the green shirt.

his goal against holland is one of the best moments in our recent football past.

he nutmegged Maldini (iirc) in the WC94 when he was only a young fella breaking through.

he is a very witty man.

the keane scribbling jibe oozed class as a lunatic was trying to knock his block off.

he readily admits to the trigger nickname, have heard him tell the pizza story and jimmy white story a few times too. he has a sense of humour ffs. seriously lads some people on here are a bit too PC for their own good. demeaning him indeed. get a life.

i remember his interview after the Denmark friendly in the run up to the WC02. Duff had an absolute stormer and was taken off early enough (iirc). when Macca was asked about Duff in the post match interview he said 'It is rare that a player wins the Man of the Match award in the first half alone, I can't remember a better 45 minutes by and Irish Player .... except for my second half against the Dutch'!!!!

Always liked him as a player and a man. Never took himself too seriously so why are the soft skinned PC brigade on here doing it for him.
    Last edited by galwayhoop; 28/01/2008 at 10:11 AM.

130 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by OwlsFan View Post
    ...and you can make a call on what McAteer would be doing
    Having seen him relay these stories on numerous occasions I'd be confident in making that call, yeah.

785 Posts
    The defining moment of Jason McAteer:

http://www.roguery.com/outings/hollandgame/mac.jpg

I still get goosebumps whenever I look at that picture and the faces of the crowd. Magic.

Mind you, a lot of Celtic (Rovers?) tops and even two rugby ones I think.
    Last edited by OwlsFan; 06/02/2008 at 4:40 PM.
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

2,712 Posts
    I was in the East Upper and thought he'd hit it over at first!

1,915 Posts
    Good picture, only a few have their arms in the air, the rest are open mouthed waiting for the ball to hit the net.

Talking ****e again on Sky tonight, just watched the coverage there. But got a few important goals for us so fair play but just glad he is not on the selection panel.
    In Trap we trust

785 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD View Post
    Talking ****e again on Sky tonight, just watched the coverage there. But got a few important goals for us so fair play but just glad he is not on the selection panel.
    Yep, both he and Cunningham are firmly in the Terry Vegetables camp!!

i think thats a bit unfair on mcateer really-thought he spoke well. cunningham is very drole and for god sake man shave that head or at least have a word with stephen ireland.
    I

In fairness McAteer was just trying to defend Stan by putting a positive spin on things, I doubt he really believes half of what he said

2,712 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by as_i_say View Post
    i think thats a bit unfair on mcateer really-thought he spoke well. cunningham is very drole and for god sake man shave that head or at least have a word with stephen ireland.
    Very good!

That's what Mrs Stuttgart said too actually. She says Jayo has lovely hair and I said that he had indeed done the Wash & Go ads in Ireland in his youth.

I though Jason was quite articulate but you don't expect SKY pundits to try and strip an argument down to its bones.
    Last edited by Stuttgart88; 07/02/2008 at 1:10 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    V

I thought Jason was quite articulate .
    I never thought I would see a sentence linking a word like articulate with McAteer.

2,712 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by joe_barry80 View Post
    I never thought I would see a sentence linking a word like articulate with McAteer.
    Yep, I should have said "surprisingly articulate".

I think Jeff Stelling was hoping for a more reasoned and comprehensive response from Jason when he asked:

(Paraphrasing)

Jeff: "Should Hunt count himself a bit unlucky not to be starting?"

Jason. "No. No, not really".

Quoting years at random since 1975

Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    Very good!

That's what Mrs Stuttgart said too actually. She says Jayo has lovely hair and I said that he had indeed done the Wash & Go ads in Ireland in his youth.

I though Jason was quite articulate but you don't expect SKY pundits to try and strip an argument down to its bones.
    I actually meant that Cunningham should shave the aul noggin. being a fellow baldo i can appreciate the need to hang on to what you have but theres always gonna be a time when the blade 1 has to come out.

and yes jayo does have lovely hair!
    I

Quote Originally Posted by galwayhoop View Post

the keane scribbling jibe oozed class as a lunatic was trying to knock his block off.
    Oozed class - you've got to be taking the p***. It was a stupid gesture from a guy who is depriving a village somewhere of its idiot

Quote Originally Posted by lionelhutz View Post
    Oozed class - you've got to be taking the p***. It was a stupid gesture from a guy who is depriving a village somewhere of its idiot
    yeah right. as opposed to a maniac with veins popping out of his neck having to be restrained and frogmarched from the pitch by team mates!!! he took the p1ss out of a purple faced RK who at that time was ready to take a swing at any member of the Irish squad who represented the country at WC02.

a SKY pundit said at the time 'are we now going to have to endure RK washing his dirty laundry on the pitch every time he comes up against his ex-international collegues - it will be a very long season'.

I stand by my comment, McAteer made a complete fool of RK during a very heated incident. 'So-called Village idiot' (1) - 'So-called Deep thinking, voice of reason, man of the people' (-1000)... I wonder has he an extra chapter written for his book explaining why he was right for trying to level McAteer for making a pencil on paper gesture
    Last edited by galwayhoop; 08/02/2008 at 12:41 PM.

someones been reading ross o carroll kelly roysh
    I

785 Posts
    Wish we had a few more "village idiots" like him to score winning goals against world class teams like Holland.

1,915 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by galwayhoop View Post
    I stand by my comment, McAteer made a complete fool of RK during a very heated incident. 'So-called Village idiot' (1) - 'So-called Deep thinking, voice of reason, man of the people' (-1000)... I wonder has he an extra chapter written for his book explaining why he was right for trying to level McAteer for making a pencil on paper gesture
    I have to say that that the last 1/2 hour in that game was top quality improvised theatre.

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast