Thread: Cawley

20 Posts

Cawley

Just when you thought it couldn't get worse...

I just found out that Cawley was sent off after the final whistle in Cork so that means he'll miss the Rovers game.
    Check out my new sports blog http://www.action81.com

That's a load of gay.

Well, I'm not surprised anyway. Cawls has a serious attitude problem.
    And stay out of Bumtown, ya no talent bum.

3,489 Posts
    In fairness to him, he's been by far and away our best player since he came back. He's been like Judas Keane on the pitch - effing and blinding at players for making mistakes, involved at both ends of the pitch and involved in most of what we create. He'll be a serious loss for the Rovers game .

@ndy
    Ah for feck sake.

Lads, i watched Cork Waterford from the shed today. They were both muck. Cork have two fine strikers, but a weak supply which takes route one a lot. Waterford never ever threatened. As long as Doolo keeps his head, and we keep the defence solid (we're not conceding lots of goals if you don't put it in proportion to those scored) and we do our best to get back to wing football, we will stop losing games and start winning them.

Re: Cawley

Originally posted by Aberdonian Stu
    Just when you thought it couldn't get worse...

I just found out that Cawley was sent off after the final whistle in Cork so that means he'll miss the Rovers game.
    i take it he was arguing with the ref over the last minute penalty claims. none too clever.

@ndy
    Yeah...players arguing with the ref

On EL Weekly last night they said that someone (they said the name but I forget what it was but I'm sure it wasn't Hancock) had to be escorted off the pitch in 'ugly scenes'. Maybe Cawley was giving out to a linesman or something.

@ndy
    Pox. That's flaw in Cawley's game. It happened last season aswell.

How's the ankle schumi?

Originally posted by @ndy
    How's the ankle schumi?
    Not too bad, the swelling's gone down but it's still a bit awkward to walk on.

3,489 Posts
    Think I saw Cawley out of the corner of the screen wallop the ball straight at the referee when the final whistle was blown. It missed, but then the ref started going over towards the player (he had blonde hair, that's all I saw, but I presume it was Cawley if he got sent off) and then TV3 cut back to go to studio. Stupid if that's what it was.

Not overly sure if the penalty was a penalty either after looking at it, although the ref wasn't in the greatest of positions (about 25 yards behind play)

@ndy
    Well it wasn't given, that's enough. You know Doolo won't stand for indiscipline. Expect to see Cawley on the bench for his first game back if we have a replacment there as punishment. We don't need this though, but it's things like this that if let go cause bigger problems.
    Last edited by @ndy; 18/06/2003 at 2:07 PM.

Originally posted by pineapple stu
    Think I saw Cawley out of the corner of the screen wallop the ball straight at the referee when the final whistle was blown. It missed, but then the ref started going over towards the player (he had blonde hair, that's all I saw, but I presume it was Cawley if he got sent off) and then TV3 cut back to go to studio. Stupid if that's what it was.

Not overly sure if the penalty was a penalty either after looking at it, although the ref wasn't in the greatest of positions (about 25 yards behind play)
    Yer man who kicked the ball was Tony Mac.

I thought I saw Cawley running after the ref though, maybe something happened then.

@ndy
    Tony mac wasn't on the pitch, he went off after a few minutes. George Casey said he wasnt himself on the way down.

I'm not surprised that someone was dealt with by the ref after the game. UCD players went way over the top claiming something that simply wasn't there. Some of the reactions could have got more players in trouble.

And @ndy, give it a rest. Your still going on about City against Waterford. You seem to be the only one, no matter what you say, who did not see the excellent football played at times by City on Monday night.
    Too much muck in your eyes.

Tony mac wasn't on the pitch, he went off after a few minutes. George Casey said he wasnt himself on the way down.
    Who took over as captain for him?

I could've sworn that yer man who kicked the ball was wearing the captain's armband.

@ndy
    Originally posted by oddboy
    I'm not surprised that someone was dealt with by the ref after the game. UCD players went way over the top claiming something that simply wasn't there. Some of the reactions could have got more players in trouble.

And @ndy, give it a rest. Your still going on about City against Waterford. You seem to be the only one, no matter what you say, who did not see the excellent football played at times by City on Monday night.
    Too much muck in your eyes.
    You must be re reading posts oddboy...drunk are we?

This attempt at some sort of college humour is above my head, I'm afraid.

@ndy
    Originally posted by oddboy
    This attempt at some sort of college humour is above my head, I'm afraid.
    Humour?

@ndy
    Oh, and i'm not a student, i'm a fan of ucd afc.

3,489 Posts
    Originally posted by UCD_4_Life
    Who took over as captain for him?

I could've sworn that yer man who kicked the ball was wearing the captain's armband.
    Mick O'Donnell came on and took the armband.

Yer man had blonde hair who kicked the ball - assumed it was Cawley as he got sent off, but it must have been Micko.

Always the one you least suspect!