Thread: Finnan unhappy with 'impatient' Irish

Quote Originally Posted by Torn-Ado View Post
    Eh?

Greece yes, as for the other two, No.
    No point answering to your comments, you don't seem to understand.
    Barca 2 vs manchester 0

Quote Originally Posted by shanman2 View Post
    Point 1= Poland, Greece and Sweden all have teams who compete regularly in the champions league So yes they do they have strength in depth in the most important point here, a much bigger selection pool..
    Yeah what swedish and polish teams have qualified for the group stages of the champions league in the last 4 years. How many of their squads play in the supposed best league in the world compared to ours? Have they got better squads than us? yes or no

Point 2= Ya grand you deserve your say we all do as fans. Did we have the manager and players Scotland had -NO. Pro footballers know they have played muck they don't need the fans to turn on them and abuse them your no better than those English yobos. Supporters stand by their team in theirour of need. If your not happy don't go...
    Oh...sorry you mean top quality scottish players like darren fletcher, stephen McManus, Kenny Miller, and James McFadden and barry ferguson...what was i thinking? We didnt have the manager, but isnt that half the point!! to get the best possible preformance from the group of players at their disposal.!!

Also i dont shout abuse at them, but iam entitled to be unhappy and jump around like a leprachaun when we lose...I wont stop goin, and i wont stop complaining either..because ill follow the team through Thick and thin..unlike alot of other irish fans!!

Point 3= Someone payed for the performances namely Stephen Staunton. By god did pay dearly publically humiliated and broken down as a man. We have a good 15 players thats all. If we have a few injuries we are up the proverbial creek without a paddle. The Irish team need your support not your abuse.[/QUOTE] I think youl find it was the fai who paid, 800,000 to be exact..he was on 400,000 grand a year, no one forced him to take the job,,the abuse was harsh and over the top..but he made a hash of it...plus stan is the most over-rate player ever he was never a 'great' player for us!
    'How can I hate women, my Mums one!!!' Chris Finch

You obviously switched off your tv after the game!!! Cause I remember more than a few fans roaring abuse at them.
    I was at the game. I think you misunderstood my post. I was saying that the poster didn't mention anything about abuse.

Steve finnan has now retired , served us pretty well and so deserves his chance to give out to the media. But the fact is that we were utter toilet in the last campaign and everyone involved should be ashamed of themselves except Hunt , Doyle , Given and Dunne , maybe andy reid( apologies if i have left anyone out but thats about it for me , S. Ireland outwith grannygate and carsely for turning up but not for his play). We need committed individuals. if the players dont like going on international duty then get lost. retire if you like. we will support the eleven lads who are on the pitch. If we dotn agree with the management then we will let them know. With a decent manager we could be close to challenging regardless of who we get in the group with and we could be going to every second or third tournament. we have been to 1 in the last 7 tournaments. i think we should have gone to more , certainly the year we were seeded first was a poor performance. we have outstanding fans , committed in a way that the french bandwagon jumpers and the germans who expect to win every game will never know.

Impatient? My arse!
    Was he crazy!! Yeah , in a very special way , an Irishman.
    I slept, and dreamed that life was Beauty;
    I woke, and found that life was Duty.

No point answering to your comments, you don't seem to understand.
    Brilliant.

Now do please tell me what Polish and Swedish sides have qualified regularly for the champions league like you said earlier.

Because I don't seem to understand, like.
    I think I should the parachute, because I'm great.

In fact, I think I should get both parachutes, in case one doesn't work.

Quote Originally Posted by jebus View Post
    Fair play Finnan, validating my point about him not playing in his position being a big factor along the way. Irish fans are moaners, pure and simple, we're a small country who's average player level seems to be high Championship or low Premiership and yet they still expect qualification each and every time (and don't give me that ****e about Cyprus etc., you all expect to qualify for the next World Cup right). Plus some of the bile spewed at Finnan over on the Finnan retires thread proves beyond doubt that Irish fans have become more personal in their attacks on players. What the media were allowed to do to an Irish playing legend like Staunton was ridiculous, whatever his shortcomings were as manager
    Qualification for tournaments has relatively little to do with it. Irish supporters expect the team to be competetive. They expect the team to still be in contention to qualify for a tournament with three games to go. Looking around Europe at comparatively sized nations, their player pools and general standard ...that's not asking too much.

I, and I suspect the great majority on here, fully agree with you in relation to the media. We now have an element in our media that bring Kermit the Frog dolls to Irish training sessions. Now personally I'd like that element rounded up and gassed like rats but my legal advice is that, if I were to do so, my position before the courts and in the eyes of the law is at best uncertain and perhaps even actionable.
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

Quote Originally Posted by citizenerased View Post
    Yeah what swedish and polish teams have qualified for the group stages of the champions league in the last 4 years. How many of their squads play in the supposed best league in the world compared to ours? Have they got better squads than us? yes or no

Oh...sorry you mean top quality scottish players like darren fletcher, stephen McManus, Kenny Miller, and James McFadden and barry ferguson...what was i thinking? We didnt have the manager, but isnt that half the point!! to get the best possible preformance from the group of players at their disposal.!!

Also i dont shout abuse at them, but iam entitled to be unhappy and jump around like a leprachaun when we lose...I wont stop goin, and i wont stop complaining either..because ill follow the team through Thick and thin..unlike alot of other irish fans!!

Point 3= Someone payed for the performances namely Stephen Staunton. By god did pay dearly publically humiliated and broken down as a man. We have a good 15 players thats all. If we have a few injuries we are up the proverbial creek without a paddle. The Irish team need your support not your abuse.
    I think youl find it was the fai who paid, 800,000 to be exact..he was on 400,000 grand a year, no one forced him to take the job,,the abuse was harsh and over the top..but he made a hash of it...plus stan is the most over-rate player ever he was never a 'great' player for us![/QUOTE]

102 caps seem to say otherwise. No he wasn't forced to do the job. But he got it he had to go grand i can except that. Humiliating him publically is not exceptable.

Scotlands first 11 was far ahead of ours throughout the qualifying campaign. I Will admit that if we have everyone fit our first 11 is good enough to qualify after that any injury and we are fecked. Scotland had their preferred first 11 available most of the time in the qualifying.
    Barca 2 vs manchester 0

agree 100% Roger well said...
    'How can I hate women, my Mums one!!!' Chris Finch

Quote Originally Posted by gustavo View Post
    Why should we expect to beat Slovakia?
    We should expect to beat them with 60 seconds left on the clock. But as usual we folded.

Thats my point.
    I think I should the parachute, because I'm great.

In fact, I think I should get both parachutes, in case one doesn't work.

2,796 Posts
    And maybe because Wales beat them 5-2 the same week, same place.

I Will admit that if we have everyone fit our first 11 is good enough to qualify after that any injury and we are fecked.
    So we go from 'being good enough to qualify' to being thrashed by Cyprus and scraping past San Marino in the last minute because of injuries to a few players?

Quote Originally Posted by Lionel Ritchie View Post
    Qualification for tournaments has relatively little to do with it. Irish supporters expect the team to be competetive. They expect the team to still be in contention to qualify for a tournament with three games to go. Looking around Europe at comparatively sized nations, their player pools and general standard ...that's not asking too much.

I, and I suspect the great majority on here, fully agree with you in relation to the media. We now have an element in our media that bring Kermit the Frog dolls to Irish training sessions. Now personally I'd like that element rounded up and gassed like rats but my legal advice is that, if I were to do so, my position before the courts and in the eyes of the law is at best uncertain and perhaps even actionable.
    totally agree. well said
    "Well I think they'll be a little disappointed with that" - Matt Holland on TV3 after 5-2 drubbing by Cyprus

Quote Originally Posted by Lionel Ritchie View Post

I doubt that, and the previous thread and the nonsense spouted against him suggest that I'm right in thinking a lot of Irish fans fully endorse the Kermit the Frog approach

jebus, just because the fans are wrong doesn't make the players right. They underperformed in the last campaign.

26 Posts
    I doubt that, and the previous thread and the nonsense spouted against him suggest that I'm right in thinking a lot of Irish fans fully endorse the Kermit the Frog approach
    Its doubtless that some do endorse this approach, similarly there are some in Germany who fully endorse facism, but they are the minority in the extreme. The vast majority feel that the media have a serious problem but this should not distract us from the fact that our team has underachieved in recent years.

Your problem appears to be that you cannot accept anyone's opinion but your own. Numerous posters on this board have made extremely valid and relevant points on this topic yet you have chosen to simply ignore them and continue to argue a side issue.

Quote Originally Posted by boovidge View Post
    jebus, just because the fans are wrong doesn't make the players right. They underperformed in the last campaign.
    Not to the point that some of you think. They came third, albeit with a lower points total then should be expected, which is their natural level in a group including the Czechs and Germany, and I'm sure the players were taken back with the absolute **** that was spouted against Staunton in particular, and them all in general, by the media and the ordinary fan. Once again some of ye seem to think that if your country wants you then it's national duty to uphold the standards the fans set for you. It isn't, you don't pay their wages, they are there by choice, and so when they don't want to be they should be allowed leave without any fuss, or in the case of footballers like Finnan, to a round of applause, not to a bunch of 'I'm more Irish than you' lunacy for a bunch of no-marks

Quote Originally Posted by livehead1 View Post
    Your problem appears to be that you cannot accept anyone's opinion but your own. Numerous posters on this board have made extremely valid and relevant points on this topic yet you have chosen to simply ignore them and continue to argue a side issue.
    And those valid points that I haven't argued would be?

By the by The Sun has one of the highest readerships in Ireland, first or second if I remember correctly, the majority of which are males, and on an assumption, sports loving males, so they obviously found something in the Kermit the Frog nonsense that they enjoyed, so I don't think its as small a majority as you think

Not to the point that some of you think. They came third, albeit with a lower points total then should be expected, which is their natural level in a group including the Czechs and Germany, and I'm sure the players were taken back with the absolute **** that was spouted against Staunton in particular, and them all in general, by the media and the ordinary fan. Once again some of ye seem to think that if your country wants you then it's national duty to uphold the standards the fans set for you. It isn't, you don't pay their wages, they are there by choice, and so when they don't want to be they should be allowed leave without any fuss, or in the case of footballers like Finnan, to a round of applause, not to a bunch of 'I'm more Irish than you' lunacy for a bunch of no-marks
    If I took the Ireland job and did an atrocious job (which is what Staunton did) then I would be expecting abuse. What about the **** that he spouted when he was in charge of the team and the **** that he spouted to a newspaper the other day? And anyway, what exactly did the ordinary fan do to Staunton that was so bad? The team got booed a few times, big WOW, this happens in football stadiums all over the world.

Quote Originally Posted by jmurphyc View Post
    If I took the Ireland job and did an atrocious job (which is what Staunton did) then I would be expecting abuse. What about the **** that he spouted when he was in charge of the team and the **** that he spouted to a newspaper the other day? And anyway, what exactly did the ordinary fan do to Staunton that was so bad? The team got booed a few times, big WOW, this happens in football stadiums all over the world.
    You'd expect to be portrayed as mentally retarded by Today FM? As a fictional frog by the Sun? As a national disgrace by people like you ringing into Joe Duffy etc.? You sir are a liar

If I was taking the Ireland job then I would expect nothing else from the national tabloids. I suggest you go into a newsagents and have a look at the front page of the tabloids as what happened to Staunton is nothing new. Why are you blaming the ordinary fan for these things? Again, what exactly did the ordinary fan do to Staunton that was so bad?

Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast