Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast

Thread: Finnan unhappy with 'impatient' Irish

Quote Originally Posted by jmurphyc View Post
    If I was taking the Ireland job then I would expect nothing else from the national tabloids. I suggest you go into a newsagents and have a look at the front page of the tabloids as what happened to Staunton is nothing new. Why are you blaming the ordinary fan for these things? Again, what exactly did the ordinary fan do to Staunton that was so bad?
    They verbally abused the guy from the stands, they bought the tabloids that sought to make his life a misery, and they tuned in to the show that made him seem mentally disabled. That and they talked endlessly about how much of a disgrace he is, both to each other and on the national airwaves, when he is anything but.

2,796 Posts
    Finnan says that type of personal criticism is too much. I agree.

I think it's sad that tabloid culture has taken hold in Ireland, not to mention the hypocrisy of the likes of The Mail having an Irish edition given their utter contempt for the Irish in the parent edition.

Not having tabloids used to be one of the best things about "old Ireland". The fans' outlook has changed. They've become spoilt and think Ireland is a good substitute for a Premiership team. Shame, though there are still great fans in among the support.

Quote Originally Posted by jebus View Post
    They verbally abused the guy from the stands, they bought the tabloids that sought to make his life a misery, and they tuned in to the show that made him seem mentally disabled. That and they talked endlessly about how much of a disgrace he is, both to each other and on the national airwaves, when he is anything but.
    What verbal abuse? A few boos? Do you have proof that any of the people who go the games buy these tabloids or tune in to Joe Duffy or talk about him being a disgrace? Has someone on here called him disabled? You're starting to bore me...

Not to the point that some of you think. They came third, albeit with a lower points total then should be expected, which is their natural level in a group including the Czechs and Germany, and I'm sure the players were taken back with the absolute **** that was spouted against Staunton in particular, and them all in general, by the media and the ordinary fan. Once again some of ye seem to think that if your country wants you then it's national duty to uphold the standards the fans set for you. It isn't, you don't pay their wages, they are there by choice, and so when they don't want to be they should be allowed leave without any fuss, or in the case of footballers like Finnan, to a round of applause, not to a bunch of 'I'm more Irish than you' lunacy for a bunch of no-marks
    This is what gets to me Jebus fans come on here with the opinin they are always right, the players are always wrong, Stan was on a hiding to nothing as soon as he got the job. John Delaney being the fault of that. Why would Steve Finnan, Steven Ireland etc want to play for Ireland when as soon as they play badly the fans will slate them.

Which one of the Irish players was it that said that is easier to stay in England and play for your club and fans that love you than come over here and be shot at by the media and slated by fans...

Steve Finnan will be 34 by the time the end of the next campaign, He felt that other lads could give Ireland more. I think he is right, he is suffering with injuries. I will always remember the cross for Jayo against holland. God knows it was one of the happiest days of my life. I respect Steves decision and wish him all the best. Thank you for holding your hand up and admitting it.
    Barca 2 vs manchester 0

2,796 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by shanman2 View Post
    Which one of the Irish players was it that said that is easier to stay in England and play for your club and fans that love you than come over here and be shot at by the media and slated by fans...
    Whoever it was needs to take a good look at himself.

What verbal abuse? A few boos? Do you have proof that any of the people who go the games buy these tabloids or tune in to Joe Duffy or talk about him being a disgrace? Has someone on here called him disabled? You're starting to bore me...
    Heaven forbid I bore you, I know what high standards you have in the entertainment category and all. Come back with some proper logic champ, not the nonsense you just spewed there

Again, what did the fans who attended the matches do that was so dreadful to Staunton and the players? You refuse to answer this question. I admit that the booing during the match irked me but I'd hardly call it horrible abuse.

Try have a good look through this thread....http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=80806
    Barca 2 vs manchester 0

Booing and shouting insults at him on the touchline. What else do you want me to say for the UMPTEENTH time?

Quote Originally Posted by shanman2 View Post
    Try have a good look through this thread....http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=80806
    I read that thread before. I can't seem to get past the first page at the moment but I've seen nothing so far that is really awful personal criticism. In fact a lot of people stick up for him.

Booing and shouting insults at him on the touchline. What else do you want me to say for the UMPTEENTH time?
    I didn't hear any personal insults but there was undoubtedly booing. But you can hear people booing in practically every stadium in the world if the result doesn't go their teams way. I really don't think that's enough to slaughter the crowd for or for Finnan to retire. He can hear booing after most games at Anfield these days.

FORMERLY: Youwerethereray Traps Cat's Avatar
    You'd expect to be portrayed as mentally retarded by Today FM? As a fictional frog by the Sun? As a national disgrace by people like you ringing into Joe Duffy etc.? You sir are a liar

"A Fictional Frog" - quote of the day!!
    "The cat is in it, but it's open - and it's a wild cat"

I really don't think that's enough to slaughter the crowd for or for Finnan to retire. He can hear booing after most games at Anfield these days.
    Yeah but i guess Finnan can plug his ear holes with the wads of cash he gets each game eh?

a fictional frog ........
    Yeah I keep hearing mention of this bloke "Gerard Houllier" but I'm beginning to doubt he exists at all.
    Quoting years at random since 1975

82 Posts
    And those valid points that I haven't argued would be?
    Your ridiculous assertion previously that EVERY Irish fan expected to qualify.

Quote Originally Posted by Kingdom View Post
    This is the crux of the problem. If I was going to away games to be entertained, I wouldn't go. Also you don't need to take a week off work to support the team against Andorra. Quite a lot of people fly in and out in a day.
    Thats not to say the fans should appluad atrociousness, but this shyte of I've paid my money, you better entertain me is nonsense.
    When is Andora, San MArino? The shortest trip realistically for this was 2 days mid week as it was a night match with no chance of a return flight same day.

214 Posts
    heaven forbid and how dare us that we the fans expect our team to beat nations such as Cyprus home and away. I very much doubt that the majority of our fans demanded we qualify for Euro 2008 - we just didn't expect to be the laughing stock of international football on three occasions (Cyprus home and away, San Marino).
    "If God had meant football to be played in the air, he'd have put grass in the sky." Brian Clough.

You'll NEVER beat the Irish.......you'll just draw with us instead!!!

Quote Originally Posted by OneRedArmy View Post
    Your ridiculous assertion previously that EVERY Irish fan expected to qualify.
    They do, I've talked to every single one of them in the past week and thats what I've been told

50 Posts

Question Finnan & Staunton are yesterdays news....

Why can't we all just be friends??????????
    You show me a good loser and I'll show you a loser - Vince Lombardi

Fair play Finnan, validating my point about him not playing in his position being a big factor along the way. Irish fans are moaners, pure and simple, we're a small country who's average player level seems to be high Championship or low Premiership and yet they still expect qualification each and every time (and don't give me that ****e about Cyprus etc., you all expect to qualify for the next World Cup right). Plus some of the bile spewed at Finnan over on the Finnan retires thread proves beyond doubt that Irish fans have become more personal in their attacks on players. What the media were allowed to do to an Irish playing legend like Staunton was ridiculous, whatever his shortcomings were as manager
    I agree 100% Jebus. Well put.

The fans have changed drastically. Even from the McCarthy/ Kerr campaign to the Cyprus game. If the whole squad told the fans, & consequently the international scene, to fuch off they'd be well within their rights. I said it after the last campaign & I'll say it again now; shame on you booboys.

People who say FACT at the end of sentences have less sex than the rest of us, TRUE
    Brilliant
    Last edited by Colie; 23/01/2008 at 7:05 PM.
    "I always likened him to a Rolls Royce. You just used him once a week & he'd be flawless"
    Townsend on McGrath

Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast