Thread: How well do you know alcohol?

1,025 Posts

How well do you know alcohol?

From the BBC

Researchers at the California Institute of Technology have shown that a person's enjoyment of wine can be heightened if they are simply told that it is an expensive one.
    So the test subjects were fooled by the price into identifying qualities in the wine that actually weren't there.

We've all seen wine experts go on about "the smell of fresh hay in summer" or some similar rubbish (I say "rubbish", as I know nothing about wine).

I remember I was home from Japan 3 years ago on holiday, and I did a blind taste test of 4 Japanese beers with my father and brother.

Ebisu - the king of Japanese beers, and the most expensive.
    Kirin Ichiban Shibori - a well-respected beer.
    Kirin Happoshu - happoshu is a kind of fake beer that contains a malt substitute, in this case rice extract.
    Draft One - another happoshu, this is the cheapest muck known to man, made primarily of yellow peas.

(In Japan, substituting malt for another substance is common as beers are classified, and subsequently taxed, based on malt content).

I was surprised to see both my father and brother immediately identify the bottom two as being terrible. The did rank the top two differently, but even here in Japan, the debate as to which one is better rages on.

We all talk about how certain beers, wines, whiskeys are better than others, the taste, texture etc, but, when it comes to the quality of the alcohol you drink, do you really know what you are talking about?

read that this morning, have to say, id be very much of the persuasion that is the case with most people who go on chatting sh1te about wine.

My father goes twice yearly to France, wouldn't say he is a connoisseur, but he likes his wines and spends a few days looking at what ones to get etc,
    brings back around 100 - 200 bottles everytime and he says the cheap stuff over there is as nice as the more expensive stuff in Ireland and the taste is no different at all.

Just ppl trying to make something out of something that clearly isnt.....

London, Monday; Mr. Uneducated Palate 2008, Paul O'Shea, blasts perceived differences in wine tastes, claiming "it is all a grand hoax, the Merlot and Chardonnay families have foisted this notion on an unsuspecting public for centuries now, they've got rich off the back of claiming to be different when, really, they are the exact same. I'm just plain sick of it." O'Shea continued his stinging rebuke of wine culture with a scathing dismissal of the craft of sommeliers, whom he brandished, "the lowest form of swindlers, a scourge on society. The world must some day wake up to this horrible fraud and then, finally, I'll be shown to have been right all along," he angrily whined. (Onion Network News)

Paul, you could also argue that the cheap stuff over there is the same wine as the more expensive stuff in Ireland. In general, although there are obviously exceptions, quality and price do seem to go together, so to bundle a bunch of non-tasting experts together it was always likely that the price would play a major role in their decision making. As the article said, an expert wouldn't be fooled, and would probably give you the correct price range.

Interesting to see the results of your experiment. Might I presume that your family enjoy, as in appreciate, a good quality beer? A lot of people I know, given that test, would pick the one that tastes most like Bud.

but, when it comes to the quality of the alcohol you drink, do you really know what you are talking about?
    Without being too cocky, yes, I do. Beer being my particular area of expertise.
    Ceci n'est pas une signature

1,025 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by noby View Post
    As the article said, an expert wouldn't be fooled, and would probably give you the correct price range.
    I wouldn't be too sure. I remember reading about a whiskey tasting test, where half the experts were told what each whiskey was before they sampled the whiskey. They rated Scotches as the highest, and generally followed the common ideas on which whiskeys were the best.

The other half were served the same whiskeys without being told anything, and left to decide on taste only. Their results were quite different from the first group, with non-Scotch consistently rated highly.

A lot of people I know, given that test, would pick the one that tastes most like Bud.
    that would be a urine test.
    Last edited by osarusan; 15/01/2008 at 7:32 AM.

Possibly. Although it must be said, in terms of quality Bud is right up there, consistently turning out a beer that is very delicately flavoured, where the flavour, colour, mouthfeel, hopping rates etc. never alter in the slightest. It's just that what they do produce isn't up to much.

Paul, you could also argue that the cheap stuff over there is the same wine as the more expensive stuff in Ireland. In general, although there are obviously exceptions, quality and price do seem to go together, so to bundle a bunch of non-tasting experts together it was always likely that the price would play a major role in their decision making. As the article said, an expert wouldn't be fooled, and would probably give you the correct price range.
    ya to an extent, from all the tax and stuff on it, thats one of the main reason he goes.

Hoop, ive been to quite a few vineyards actually, in california, france and Italy, due to the people I was with though To say I am uneducated about wines is still prolly true though, and yes, my palate couldn't differentiate between certain grapes etc, save to say some tasted more "bitter"/"sour" than others......all the dry, medium, crisp crap I dont have a clue about, cos no I could never taste the difference. But when I worked in a pub over in London, I used to get all sort of requests, this one couple came in he always drank scotch and she always drank wine, well dressed, appeared quite eloquent, yer stereotypical middle-class English couple, anyhow she would always ask for a dry white wine ( I learnt to say that we always had it even if we didnt, as she would only drink water otherwise - sparkling of course, but yet with Ice which was another thing I didn't get.....), Id mix it up ( the types of wine ) through the evening, never got any complaints, and the couple still came back every week or so I used to do it with loads of people that would ask for a particular type of wine, just to see would anyone ever realise, and no they didnt.
    Last edited by paul_oshea; 15/01/2008 at 7:55 AM.

386 Posts
    I'd drink a fair bit of wine but really wouldn't have much of a clue if what I'm drinking is a good quality wine or not. But the rules of thumb I use for wine buying are:
    Go for New World or Italian wines,
    Avoid wines in tetra-pak packaging, and
    If I like it, buy it again. If not, don't.

I know what I like, although I do change my "drink" regularly(every three years or so.) was on Carlsberg first then went to the black stuff for a while Local started to do Bavaria for 3 yoyo's a pop so drank that all through college , Ive been drinking Heineken for a good few years now

id drink most beers to be honest(except bud which is like a soft drink)....Regarding vodka, i can tell the cheap stuff from the good stuff. I can do this as i always come out in a rancid rash after drinking cheap vodka ala Borisov, Vatsky, tesco brand etc..
    'How can I hate women, my Mums one!!!' Chris Finch

20 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ifk101 View Post
    If I like it, buy it again. If not, don't.
    I find this is the best advice for all occasional wine drinkers, such as myself, as acquiring a taste is difficult if you don't drink it regularly.
    Check out my new sports blog http://www.action81.com

Coopers Green Label Australian beer is all I have to say about which is the best beer in the world

I hate all beers. Cider is the only thing I can drink. Apart from shorts of course.

Coopers Pale Ale? Arr, 'tis a fine beer indeed, but let's not be getting into best beer in the world discussions.
    I hate all beers. Cider is the only thing I can drink. Apart from shorts of course.
    Fair play for trying all beer to come to that informed opinion.
    Last edited by sligoman; 15/01/2008 at 2:33 PM. Reason: merge

Fair play for trying all beer to come to that informed opinion.
    , it was a tough task and my liver is fecked now but I managed it in the end.

Of course I should have said, 'I have yet to taste a beer that I like enough to drink it'

Its a good thing that you can take shots. your stomach would be ripped up from the cider.

Have to say after my time in the States, Miller lite is top. Gives you very little of a hangover also.
    Life isn't all beer and football...some of us haven't touched a football in months

Quote Originally Posted by ollie View Post
    Its a good thing that you can take shots. your stomach would be ripped up from the cider.

Have to say after my time in the States, Miller lite is top. Gives you very little of a hangover also.
    That would be the .5% of alcohol

Very little of anything, I would guess.

A robust real ale, made with good quality ingredients will also give you little of a hangover, with the added bonus of flavour. It's when people start adding additives to your beer that the hangovers really kick in.

im sorry but i had to resort to corona (and jds, together i mean) over the xmas ( drinking every night caused this ), and i didnt drink it like the gringos either. But it worked a treat, and in fairness is a very refreshing taste. But I think it doesn't confirm to lager/beer, it should be in its own little section.....and not called pussy drink or something like that....

In terms of strong tasting hops beers, Id go for sam adams as being a distinctive beer, a beer that is prolly an acquired taste, but well worth acquiring all the same.

Becks is another lovely one, really like it, though again it might be put down here.....

Finally, heineken would be the lager i drink at home, but unfortunately its not well stocked over here, and when it is its the 5.2% stuff and i have had 2 very bad experiences on that stuff ( i blame the gas from it ) so i try not to drink more than 6 or 7 pints. It also gives a terrible hangover.

I hate fosters/carling but sometimes i force myself. Carlsberg would be the best of a bad bunch over here. Kronenbourg is not a quality beer either in my opinon, though its charged at that price.

Star is a nice beer also. I have drank a lot of different beers at this stage, but Id say I remember only about 10% of those......:8
    Last edited by paul_oshea; 15/01/2008 at 4:27 PM.

Angry

Augustiner helles is the finest beer I've ever had the pleasure of drinking. Unfortunately the don't export it outside of Bavaria/Germany. Selfish Shermans!
    And you ask me to help you??!! Man is evil!!!! Capable of nothing but destruction!