Page 20 of 25 FirstFirst ... 101819202122 ... LastLast

Thread: Elvery's Super League 2008

Quote Originally Posted by sprah1 View Post
    Sat 23rd Aug -Bangor 1 Westport 12...looks like they didn't have to work too hard here either...and both celtic and ballina dropped points earlier in season in Bangor......is it difficult for teams struggling to get lads back after the summer break????
    I think it has more to do with the fact that they are safe and could not be bothered trying, it was a joke up there in fairness, everyone was taking shots from all angles to see who could get the best goal. Our keeper even took a penalty.
    Dont always say what you know, but always know what you say.

Just wondering what the story is with the the proposed playoff for the team that finishes 3rd from bottom in the super league?

I assumed the idea behind this proposal was to discourage teams that are safe from relegation from fielding weakened teams during the run in.

Couple of silly results in the Super League in recent weeks.
    Does anyone know if this playoff will be played?

Quote Originally Posted by Leveller View Post
    I think it has more to do with the fact that they are safe and could not be bothered trying, it was a joke up there in fairness, everyone was taking shots from all angles to see who could get the best goal. Our keeper even took a penalty.
    Bangor are still in danger of being involved in the relegation play-off. It will either be Erris or Bangor and if Erris defeat Bangor on Saturday it will definitely be Bangor so I'm sure they must have been trying.

Quote Originally Posted by Norm View Post
    Just wondering what the story is with the the proposed playoff for the team that finishes 3rd from bottom in the super league?

I assumed the idea behind this proposal was to discourage teams that are safe from relegation from fielding weakened teams during the run in.

Couple of silly results in the Super League in recent weeks.
    Does anyone know if this playoff will be played?
    I don't no if you have notice, there was two circus in town. lets not make a circus out of the super league,where more than lightly end up playing a team who would finish 4th or 5th or even play a team who couldn,t take there place. Should the super league team lose in play off, the team below the play off place could end up in the super league. Lets leave the clowns in the circus.it should be two up two down, if a club can't take there place only one should be promoted.

Quote Originally Posted by renovater View Post
    I don't no if you have notice, there was two circus in town. lets not make a circus out of the super league,where more than lightly end up playing a team who would finish 4th or 5th or even play a team who couldn,t take there place. Should the super league team lose in play off, the team below the play off place could end up in the super league. Lets leave the clowns in the circus.it should be two up two down, if a club can't take there place only one should be promoted.
    I think I agree with you. I Was just wondering if the playoff is still part of the Mayo Leagues plans?

Quote Originally Posted by renovater View Post
    With the 3rd from bottom Bangor losing 22 goals in 2 games, and the performance of Claremorris and Ballinrobe this year in the super you should be glad that their replaced by 2 or 3 new teams!! I would even fancy the likes of Crossmolina to give Bangor a beating and get the 3rd promotion place by playoff...but according to you the super league teams are too strong so bangor should hammer Crossmolina or whoever?!

any one have any idea when the oscar traynor starts? is declan kilkelly still looking after them?

Quote Originally Posted by theboy View Post
    any one have any idea when the oscar traynor starts? is declan kilkelly still looking after them?
    the first oscar traynor game is on october 26th.anyone got any idea of who they're playing?as far as i know d k is still looking after them alright.saw him driving his sponsored car out of milebush the last day after the semi finals of the cup.heard that he doesn't rate gerry gaughan from sand f at all.wonder if his opinion changed after he bossed the midfield last sunday?

Quote Originally Posted by Cloggs View Post
    the first oscar traynor game is on october 26th.anyone got any idea of who they're playing?as far as i know d k is still looking after them alright.saw him driving his sponsored car out of milebush the last day after the semi finals of the cup.heard that he doesn't rate gerry gaughan from sand f at all.wonder if his opinion changed after he bossed the midfield last sunday?
    Hard position for Gerry Gaughan to get into, danny scahill & stevie gavin are the best centre mids in mayo. Good player though, on form hes ahead of stevie ryan and the likes...

Quote Originally Posted by GoodFootball View Post
    Hard position for Gerry Gaughan to get into, danny scahill & stevie gavin are the best centre mids in mayo. Good player though, on form hes ahead of stevie ryan and the likes...
    ya scahill and gavin prob are the best centre mids but from watching gaughan play he's a quality player, he has strenght and can give a quality pass. he has played well beside alan mcdonnell all year. would think that DK's mind would have been changed from watching the semi final on sunday. in my opinion i think he's be well able for the mayo side, himself and paul fitzpatrick.

Quote Originally Posted by Cloggs View Post
    has the squad been picked yet?

Ger Gaughan is a good talent but would be lost and found by both danny scahill and stevie gavin,in the past year dave cameron has excelled as i believe scahill has gone back a notch......

Quote Originally Posted by El-Hero9 View Post
    Ger Gaughan is a good talent but would be lost and found by both danny scahill and stevie gavin,in the past year dave cameron has excelled as i believe scahill has gone back a notch......
    Gerry Gaughan is considerably younger than both stevie.g and danny scahill and has shown form already to even be mentioned by ye guys and others around the mayo circle to make the mayo oscar trainor team, that shows how good of a player he is, he's strong,skillfull and very athelitc...
    its not a case of if he'l make the mayo team...its only a matter of time before he will..!! Craig Reape, Alan Mac and fitzi are other candadites from straide&foxford...

Quote Originally Posted by robben 11 View Post
    Gerry Gaughan is considerably younger than both stevie.g and danny scahill and has shown form already to even be mentioned by ye guys and others around the mayo circle to make the mayo oscar trainor team, that shows how good of a player he is, he's strong,skillfull and very athelitc...
    its not a case of if he'l make the mayo team...its only a matter of time before he will..!! Craig Reape, Alan Mac and fitzi are other candadites from straide&foxford...
    agree totally robben11, seen him play a few times this year. top class player.

Played against him 3 times this year in the opposite position, he is quality but the only thing he would need to work on is his fitness. He is nowhere near as fit as Stevie Gavin/Danny Scahill

What age is he?

Quote Originally Posted by GoodFootball View Post
    Played against him 3 times this year in the opposite position, he is quality but the only thing he would need to work on is his fitness. He is nowhere near as fit as Stevie Gavin/Danny Scahill

What age is he?
    as far as i no he's 21.

Talking

as far as i no he's 21.
    ya 21, i think hes useless.......

that is seriously harsh to come out saying Ger Gaughan is useless!so who is the best young player in the mayo league at the moment?Also i wasnt surprised to hear of Ballina Town been beaten by s&f in the semi final Ballina are simply unable to win anything,they always fade away in the league!

Quote Originally Posted by El-Hero9 View Post
    that is seriously harsh to come out saying Ger Gaughan is useless!so who is the best young player in the mayo league at the moment?Also i wasnt surprised to hear of Ballina Town been beaten by s&f in the semi final Ballina are simply unable to win anything,they always fade away in the league!
    I think chris rowland is a great player. ger gaughan is slow and unfit and his passing is terrible. i played against him and he is useless.

Quote Originally Posted by nevjo View Post
    I think chris rowland is a great player. ger gaughan is slow and unfit and his passing is terrible. i played against him and he is useless.

Lad!!!!! Chris Rowland is a decent player but its harsh to say dat gerry is useless!!!! Chris Rowland is definately not the best young player in the league........on his day gerry gaughan can be a fine player!! Give him a break!!!

Page 20 of 25 FirstFirst ... 101819202122 ... LastLast