Page 11 of 13 FirstFirst ... 910111213 LastLast

Thread: Finnan retires from International Football

Lets hope Don Trappatoni can convince him to change his mind because he is way better than any other fullback we have.
    'I can't even remember when the Seventies was.' - ROBBIE KEANE

Quote Originally Posted by RivaldoBabb View Post
    Lets hope Don Trappatoni can convince him to change his mind because he is way better than any other fullback we have.
    Presumably if he gets a position alongside Trap it would be Brady who would sound out Finnan about coming back for another campaign.

That said Finnan sounded pretty adamant in the paper that he was finished but players have said that before.

Surely Finnan is regretting his decision, what with the opportunity to work with legends in the game Trappatoni (All time great manager) Gentille (Legendary Defender) Brady?(Irish legend).....
    Marge: Homer, the plant called. They said if you don't show up tomorrow don't bother showing up on Monday.
    Homer: Woo-hoo. Four-day weekend
    -
    Trappattoni+Tardelli+Brady=Holy Trinity of Irish Football

Great game by Finnan tonight!!

We definitely need him back..
    Hope 'Trap' can persuade him..

I thought he had a good game, though his crossing wasnt great to be honest.

Though, we need him back in the green shirt, 1 more campaign!

he played so well because he has retired from international football and can solely focus on club football, didnt ye know?!?!

No, thats not what I read on the official Liverpool website...

Finally Steve, can you tell us what was behind your decision to quit international football?

As I said a couple of weeks ago, I felt the time was right to quit. I've enjoyed my time with Ireland. But I thought it was probably right to do it now before a new manager came in, so he has an idea of the squad he's got for the next campaign.

Was the thought of prolonging your Liverpool career a factor?

Not really. If it helps my club form then great. But it was just about it being the right time to do it. If it helps my Liverpool career, great, but that wasn't a factor.

source-
    http://www.liverpoolfc.tv/news/archi...80206-1031.htm

He, along with most of the other players, was probably p1ssed off with the drawn out selection process and gave up.

I wouldnt be surprised if Trap sends the mafia around to 'talk him out of retirement', he was one of Liverpools best performers against Inter and we havent anything near that quality in that position...McShane, Kelly, O Shea, Oh dear.
    Last edited by RivaldoBabb; 20/02/2008 at 12:20 AM.
    'I can't even remember when the Seventies was.' - ROBBIE KEANE

3,501 Posts
    Slightly off topic, Kuyt's opinion of Finnan
    Steve Finnan
    He’s a really nice lad. He was one of the players who helped me out from the beginning when I arrived at Anfield. We play golf together sometimes. We play computer games against each other as well and with a few of the other lads when we travel to away games.

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    794 Posts
    Didn't do much for Kuyt's game though

I thought Finnan was excellent last night. He is will be sorely missed by us.
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

Quote Originally Posted by OwlsFan View Post
    Didn't do much for Kuyt's game though

I thought Finnan was excellent last night. He is will be sorely missed by us.
    Don't want him to come back to be honest rather if we get there now without him.

Great player he was but he made the call and would be annoyed if he came back now.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibernian View Post
    Don't want him to come back to be honest rather if we get there now without him.

Great player he was but he made the call and would be annoyed if he came back now.
    That is OK to say if we had a load of good quality fullbacks..
    But we haven't, people like Stephen Kelly are championship players at best...

Doesn't really matter because I can't see him coming back, its well known Liverpool have a pretty sh*tty attitude towards internationals, I doubt he has the balls to tell Rafa that he wants to play for Ireland again not that he does want to anyway

214 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Condex View Post
    but making a living for himself in the PL and regarded by Birmingham fans as their best player this season so far? He's young and will get better. Finnan was/is a good player but I think we should look for alternatives now that he has decided he doesn't want to play for us.

Quote Originally Posted by Condex View Post
    He let his country down at the time we needed these players the most so on that I would have Kelly ahead of Finnan.

i think finnan should be asked back , if he says no then we all know where we stand,
    Was he crazy!! Yeah , in a very special way , an Irishman.
    I slept, and dreamed that life was Beauty;
    I woke, and found that life was Duty.

Quote Originally Posted by RogerMilla View Post
    i think finnan should be asked back , if he says no then we all know where we stand,

But he retired, we all know where we stand now. why go grovelling back?

Give Kelly/O'Brien a chance now....
    "Well I think they'll be a little disappointed with that" - Matt Holland on TV3 after 5-2 drubbing by Cyprus

they always come back when asked , he's too young to retire , and we need him.
    nothing wrong at all with sending out feelers to him. It's far from grovelling , its more of a statement that we feel he has acted rashly , made a mistake and would be welcome back into the fold.
    Was he crazy!! Yeah , in a very special way , an Irishman.
    I slept, and dreamed that life was Beauty;
    I woke, and found that life was Duty.

I think it would be a result to get him back for the next campaign.

Definitely worth sounding him out for a return. He's by far our best full back.
    Quoting years at random since 1975

Quote Originally Posted by shakermaker1982 View Post
    but making a living for himself in the PL and regarded by Birmingham fans as their best player this season so far? He's young and will get better. Finnan was/is a good player but I think we should look for alternatives now that he has decided he doesn't want to play for us.
    Watched him at Spurs and in Prague is a very average player IMO..
    If thes the best that Birmingham have to offer then they better get prepared for relegation..

161 Posts
    Trappottoni will be fully aware of how good a player Finnan is as he watches a lot of football on the TV. He is sure to make an approach to get Finnan back. I think Finnan can be persuaded by someone like Tardelli.

Page 11 of 13 FirstFirst ... 910111213 LastLast