Page 6 of 7 FirstFirst ... 4567 LastLast

Thread: Norway Away - 20th August 2008

reder
    The thought of currency just crossed my mind. How are they on the euro? Should I get some Krone?

3,489 Posts
    Just bring a pass card and you'll be fine.

57 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by reder View Post
    The thought of currency just crossed my mind. How are they on the euro? Should I get some Krone?
    Ryanair bus only takes Norwegian currency and credit cards. Not sure about the rest of the country.

Apparently there are ATMs in the middle of Torp airport.

Quick question!

Has anyone confirmed the names/addresses of pubs where 'reasonably' priced drink can be found?

Thanks!

Quote Originally Posted by republic View Post
    Quick question!

Has anyone confirmed the names/addresses of pubs where 'reasonably' priced drink can be found?

Thanks!
    This was spoken about earlier in this thread. There's an area on the city called Gronland which seems to have a few bars where the prices are reasonable enough.

Anyway, I'm flying across on Tuesday so I'm off all next week. For those of ye going, have a safe trip and I might even meet you over there for a pint!

89 Posts
    Right,

We're away off tomorrow early BFS-EMA-Oslo so see you all out there.
    Tifo poles, sausage rolls and a few goals.

The Brandy Blogs, back and blogging the 2010 season

30 Posts
    In Dublin Airport at the mo, going to Oslo via Birmingham!

Still waiting on my refund from Ryanair for the direct flight home they rescheduled for a day later!!!!!

3,489 Posts
    Boo! Not going until tomorrow...

Boo!Boo!....not going AT ALL!!
    Tact is for people who are not witty enough to be sarcastic

57 Posts
    Leaving for the airport in half an hour, Sunny stanstead tonight and Oslo tomorrow morning. Half an inch of rain forcecasted to fall in Oslo tomorrow. It will be just like a home game.

International Prospect Green Tribe's Avatar
    Have a good trip. Make sure yis get a win!

Lashing down here all day and will be tommorow so I imagine it cant be too much different up the road.
    I think I should the parachute, because I'm great.

In fact, I think I should get both parachutes, in case one doesn't work.

Quote Originally Posted by Torn-Ado View Post
    Lashing down here all day and will be tommorow so I imagine it cant be too much different up the road.
    It seems to be lashing down everywhere except the Sudan..........feckin' summer my ar*e!
    Tact is for people who are not witty enough to be sarcastic

Greetings from Oslo, just like home, ****ing rain and expensive pints, worse than temple bar!! Crack is great though, can't be more than 100 / 150 here
    Fair Play died Nov 18th 2009, Stade Francais.

FFS, i knew it would be expensive in Norway but over £7 STG a pint really took the **** (thank God for Gronland!) In comparsion, the three piece meals on offer at Burger King (burger, fries and coke) were a bargain at just £9.
    Good enough performance by the lads in the first half, but the second was a write off due to the weather. Mental amount of rain in those two days!
    Last edited by stiofain; 22/08/2008 at 12:40 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by stiofain View Post
    FFS, i knew it would be expensive in Norway but over £7 STG a pint really took the **** (thank God for Gronland!) In comparsion, the three piece meals on offer at Burger King (burger, fries and coke) were a bargain at just £9.
    Good enough performance by the lads in the first half, but the second was a write off due to the weather. Mental amount of rain in those two days!
    We were in a bar in Gronland called 'Choice'. Cheap as hell but full of alcoholics. I thought the town was fairly dead overall with not much happening anywhere. Maybe I just couldnt find the right spots.
    I think I should the parachute, because I'm great.

In fact, I think I should get both parachutes, in case one doesn't work.

30 Posts
    My Ryanair refund for the direct Torp-Dub finally arrived today .... over 70 days since applying for it. Still wrecked, Left the hotel around 4.30am yesterday and just got back to Athlone at 8pm ... and straight over to Lissywollen for the 2nd half of the Ireland Spain U19 game

Good trip but mad expensive. 5 minute taxi trip from Central Station to my hotel worked out at around €25!

Met up with the lads from PeoplesFlag and Birmingham Irish on the plane, bit of a sing song on the bus from Torp to Oslo before the driver threatened to have the cops waiting to arrest everyone!

Met a gang(s) from Bray, Tullamore, Carlow, Dublin and Wexford in the Dubliner and then went on to the Bohemian cos the Dubliner was fairly dead, and went from there to the match. I was expecting the ref to abondon the game int he middle of the 2nd half, it was terrible conditions.

reder
    Well that was one expensive place. Good laugh but the bus journey from Torp to Oslo was awful. Yesterday morning I was just fuming that i hadnt forked out the extra cash and flown into the main airport.

The price of food really got me. Something as simple as a pizza was €20. I have to say that the travel organisation after the game was something to behold. We stayed til the end and walked out in the main crowd but were back in the city centre in no time. Officials and planners, take note for the new Lansdowne!

214 Posts
    20 euro's for a pizza?!

57 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by shakermaker1982 View Post
    20 euro's for a pizza?!
    It was only €18 in the Scotsman for a pizza. there was I complaining and it seems like I got a bargain. You could get 2 pints for that price as well.

Definitely no way that Dublin is the most expensive city in Europe anymore. I was expecting it to be dear but it was ridiculous. Most things were double the price Eddie Hobbs rightly goes mad about. Glad I stayed in the hostel too when I saw the hotel prices.

The bus journey to/from torp was a nightmare. there were lots standing on our bus. Two buses left at 6am - one 95% full, the other looked 50% full. Our bus was the one that stopped to pick up passengers along the way most of whom had to stand.

City was nice, ground was nice and infrastructure in Oslo is excellent. It was easy to get to/from the stadium.

Page 6 of 7 FirstFirst ... 4567 LastLast