Thread: eLoI Fantasy footy/last man standing

eLoI Fantasy footy/last man standing

Recently my interest in the English premiership has grown again through Fantasy Football leagues and Last Man Standing competitions at work. I'm still a Drogs fan first and everything else is just an interest or a bit of craic with my non-eLoI mates but got me thinking if we can't do something to entice the premier league fans into having an interest in eLoI.

We do a last man standing at work - why can't we all here start an eLoI Last man standing comp at each of our work places and colleges -when the League gets going of course. It's easily done and it has everyone in it checking the papers for eLoI games results etc. might be the first step in getting them out to their local clubs!

Is there an eLoI fantasy Football website? If not there should be by the time the next season rolls around - all the lads I work with would love to have something to keep them ticking over during the summer and again it could become their main fantasy footy comp or just get them a step closer to attending a game.

Any suggestions thoughts or links to games would be appreciated.

Quote Originally Posted by all drogged up View Post
    Is there an eLoI fantasy Football website?
    www.eldreamteam.net

Recently my interest in the English premiership has grown again through Fantasy Football leagues and Last Man Standing competitions at work. I'm still a Drogs fan first and everything else is just an interest or a bit of craic with my non-eLoI mates but got me thinking if we can't do something to entice the premier league fans into having an interest in eLoI.

We do a last man standing at work - why can't we all here start an eLoI Last man standing comp at each of our work places and colleges -when the League gets going of course. It's easily done and it has everyone in it checking the papers for eLoI games results etc. might be the first step in getting them out to their local clubs!

Is there an eLoI fantasy Football website? If not there should be by the time the next season rolls around - all the lads I work with would love to have something to keep them ticking over during the summer and again it could become their main fantasy footy comp or just get them a step closer to attending a game.

Any suggestions thoughts or links to games would be appreciated.
    That's a Super Idea, Well thought out and just might work to get a few more lads out. Nice One ADU

115 Posts
    Great idea, the last man standing comp. Simple thing to do at work and will get people who barely know the league exists to take an interest in the results. A lad has just started doing one for the Premiership this season here at work and it never occured to me to start one for the eL in March. Well done that man!
    If a few venture out to see a game because of it that's brilliant, but at the very least you'd imagine they'll be a bit better disposed towards the eL that will manifest itself in other ways, buying a second club lotto ticket when you call around to put the squeeze on them for example.
    Last edited by stann; 21/01/2008 at 3:35 PM.
    more bass

What is last man standing?

Quote Originally Posted by pete View Post
    I think it's where you pay a stake to pick a team to win that week, you can only pick any given team once in a season(or for as long as the game lasts) and if you win the first week you can continue the next week with another team. If you lose your out. The last man standing gets the pot

115 Posts
    Yeah you get a list of fixtures for, say, ten weeks in advance. Each week you pick a team to win, and if it does, you go on to the next week. You can only pick a given team once though. Also, I think with most of these types of thing all your selections must be done beforehand, certainly it's a lot easier on the organiser that way.
    If your selection loses or draws any week you're out. Last man standing wins the pot, or if two or more are left and they all go out together the pot is shared between them.
    more bass

22 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by stann View Post
    Yeah you get a list of fixtures for
    And it all falls down, shall try this in work when above are available.

kdjac
    5-0

thanks for the support lads. pass it on if ye can.

by the way does anyone know if that fantasy footy website is linked to the FAI the way that the FA premiership's game is?

This should be something simple that the FAI can organise and use a promotional tool.

by the way does anyone know if that fantasy footy website is linked to the FAI the way that the FA premiership's game is?
    Not afaik, a Drogs fan on here set it up. His foot.ie name is Brendan.

Can someone post up the exact rules for Last Man Standing please?

Quote Originally Posted by pete View Post
    its what that dude from thomas davis said they would be innit ?

Don't know if those things would catch on. Where I work people wouldn't know one EL player from another which makes Fantasy Football pretty hard.

Last man standing might catch on but I heard one of my colleagues saying "Shamrock Rovers won the league" last year.
    Mind you when money is involved maybe people would brush up on their knowledge, maybe even go to a few games.

Found this on an American Football website. It's the rules for Last Man Standing. It would need altering for an eircom League version. Anyone fancy having a crack at altering it appropriately so it would work in our context?

HOW TO PLAY

1. Pick the winner of one (1) NFL game each week. There are no point spreads; just pick the winner straight up. Lose or tie and you're moved to the 2nd Chance Pool; win and you're still standing.

2. Once you are in the 2nd Chance Pool, you may continue to make picks each week. Lose or tie and you’re out; win and you still have a second chance to win prize money.

3. You may not pick the same team to win more than once during the 17-week regular season. Once you are in the 2nd Chance Pool, you may not pick a team that you already selected.

4. All selections must be received no later than 12 Noon CT each Sunday during the 17-week regular season. In any week, including Week 1, where games are played on Thursday, Friday or Saturday, you may pick a team playing in those games only if your selection is received before those games kick off.

5. Should you forget to make your selection in any week, you will automatically be assigned the home team in the Monday-night game. If you've already used that team, you will be given the road team. If you've already used both teams, you'll lose. If there is more than one game played on Monday, the first game played will be considered the Monday-night game. If there is no Monday-night game, you'll lose.

6. In the event that any game is postponed or canceled for any reason (including but not limited to weather and/or an act of God) and the game is not played on or before the following Wednesday, if you have selected one of the teams in the postponed/canceled game, you will lose.

Winning the $10,000 Last Man Standing Prize

7. Should two or more participants remain standing and all are eliminated in the same week, the $10,000 Last Man Standing prize will be distributed equally among them.

8. In the event that two or more participants remain standing at the end of the regular season, the game will continue into the playoffs. Participants with teams still alive in the playoffs that they have not used during the regular season will advance. If only one participant has teams left to select, he/she will be "The Last Man Standing" and declared the winner.

9. If two or more participants have teams left to select, they must pick a winning team from their remaining unselected teams each week of the playoffs to continue standing. If a participant's only remaining unselected team(s) has a bye in the first round of the playoffs, he/she will not be able to pick a winning team and thus will lose.

10. If at the end of the regular season, all remaining participants can only select a team that has a bye in the first round of the playoff games, then all are eliminated in the same week and the $10,000 Last Man Standing prize will be distributed equally among them.

11. If at the end of the regular season, none of the remaining participants has a playoff team that they did not use during the regular season to pick from, then all remaining participants will start the playoffs with the right to use each playoff team once.

12. Similar to the regular season, during the playoffs all selections must be received no later than 12 Noon CT each Sunday. In any playoff week where games are played on Saturday, you may pick a team playing in those games only if your selection is received before those games kick off.

13. Should there be more than one participant still standing following the Super Bowl, the $10,000 Grand Prize will be shared equally among them.

Winning the $5,000 2nd Chance Pool Prize

14. Participants will continue to be added to the 2nd Chance Pool until there is a winner (or winners) of the $10,000 Last Man Standing prize. The Last Man Standing winner (or winners) is not eligible for the 2nd Chance Pool prize.

15. Once no more participants are being added to the 2nd Chance Pool, the last participant remaining in the 2nd Chance Pool will win the $5,000 prize.

16. Should two or more participants remain in the 2nd Chance Pool after the Last Man Standing winner has been determined, and all are eliminated in the same week, the $5,000 prize will be distributed equally among them.

17. At the end of the regular season, if the Last Man Standing winner has been determined and two or more participants remain in the 2nd Chance Pool, the 2nd Chance Pool will continue into the playoffs. Rules #8 through #13 apply to the remaining 2nd Chance Pool participants regarding available teams to be picked, elimination, distribution of the $5,000 prize, and the deadline for selections.

18. At the end of the regular season, if the Last Man Standing winner has not been determined, the 2nd Chance Pool will continue into the playoffs regardless of the current number of remaining participants. Remaining participants in the 2nd Chance Pool must select from their remaining teams unless none of the remaining participants in the Last Man Standing competition has a playoff team that they did not use during the regular season to pick. In this case, all remaining participants in both the Last Man Standing competition and the 2nd Chance Pool will start the playoffs with the right to use each playoff team once. Rules #12 and #13 apply to the 2nd Chance Pool participants regarding the deadline for selections and the distribution of the $5,000 prize following the Super Bowl.

Quote Originally Posted by Hoops_R_Us View Post

HOW TO PLAY

1. Pick the winner of one (1) eL game each week. There are no score spreads; just pick the winner straight up. Lose or Draw and you're out win and you're still standing.

2. You may not pick the same team to win more than once during the season. you may not pick a team that you already selected.

3. All selections must be received no later than 12 Noon GMT each Friday during the season. In any week, including Week 1, where games are played on Thursday, Friday or Saturday, you may pick a team playing in those games only if your selection is received before 12 noon on the day those games kick off.

4. Should you forget to make your selection in any week, you will automatically be assigned the home team in the Saturday game. If you've already used that team, you will be given the Away team. If you've already used both teams, you'll lose. If there is more than one game played on Saturday the first game on the Aertel fixtures page will be considered the Saturday game. If there is no Saturday game, you'll lose.

5. In the event that any game is postponed or canceled for any reason (including but not limited to weather and/or an act of God) and the game is not played on or before the following Wednesday, if you have selected one of the teams in the postponed/canceled game, you will Continue on however You cannot use this team again before the re-fixed match & must pick this team for the re-fixed match.

Winning the Last Man Standing Prize

6. Should two or more participants remain standing and all are eliminated in the same week, the Last Man Standing prize will be distributed equally among them.

7. In the event that two or more participants remain standing at the end of the season, the Last Man Standing prize will be distributed equally among them.
    I've edited this a bit
    Last edited by Block G Raptor; 22/01/2008 at 12:21 PM.

I usually run both in work, 80% goes to the pot and 20% goes to the Derry City FC Dublin SC, good way to raise funds for the SC. The rules I use are as follows, slightly different from Block G's

Start with 2 lives - €10 a head

Pick a team from the weekend fixtures in the eL, if your team wins your lives remain intact, if they draw or lose you lose a life

Each week you have to pick a different team until you have picked all 12 Eircom League teams - then you start again

If you forgot to send in a team, an automatic selection going from the bottom of the league up will be picked (e.g. If Finn Harps are bottom, and you have yet to pick them - that's your automatic selection, if you have already picked them we move on to 2nd last place and so on until we have a selection for you)

For the first round, Finn Harps with be the automatic selection, as they got promoted through the play-offs

To make my life simple this time round, all Match Day Selections have to be in by 12pm on the preceding Friday of the Match Day - after that, none will be accepted and Automatic Selections will take place - this allows me to send an update round Friday afternoon so everyone knows who they want to win and lose at the weekend

Usually when running with 2 life's it gets to about 8-9 weeks in the Premiership, an odd time to about 12.

In the Eircom League you can get a good run up until about June when the European fixtures make life dificult
    Derry City FC Dublin Supporters Club

http://dcfcdsc.blogspot.com/ - Dublin Supporters Club Blog

In the Eircom League you can get a good run up until about June when the European fixtures make life dificult
    So what do you do during the European games when League matches are getting called off?

Try not to be running it, as it's a pain.

Got caught a couple of seasons ago with European fixture messing things up and then Dublin City dropping out of the league - called it off and put every one into a Premiership killer instead in August - as that was the easiest way round it
    Derry City FC Dublin Supporters Club

http://dcfcdsc.blogspot.com/ - Dublin Supporters Club Blog

115 Posts
    [B]Found this on an American Football website. It's the rules for Last Man Standing.....
    Ah for the love of f.......
    Look, it really is a very simple concept. Everything you need to know about the type of competition can be found in posts 6 and 7 above and you've surely the wit to fill in the blanks and make it work yourself.
    The idea, put forward in post 1, was to try to get a load of people on here to run separate competitions at their places of work or book-learnin' to generate extra interest in the eL, or maybe get those more closely associated with individual clubs to use it to fundraise, so there does not have to be standardised rules across the whole country.
    Don't kill a decent idea stone dead at birth by over-complicating the bejaysus out of it.
    more bass

Would it be that hard to go 2 weeks without it?
    There's the right way, the wrong way.... and the Max Power way!! :-D