Just gone up in my view fair play Ray
I never really had much time for him as a pundit or commentator. He always manages to say something obvious or annoying, but I must say, he has gone up in my estimation today.
From today's star:
Next to the article is a pic of Quinner applauding the Sunderland fans.IRISH BUSINESS NEEDS TO HELP HOME CLUBS
Ray Houghton has called on Ireland's wealthiest businessmen to keep their money at home and invest in the eircom League at a time when Irish backers are bankrolling Sunderland, Celtic and even Peterborough United.
Houghton yearns for the day when and Irish club competes in the knock-out stages of Europe's premier competition.
He knows that will take serious investment in the domestic game, but he believes there is an onus on entrepeneurs to keep their football investments this side of the Irish Sea.
"Nothing would please me more than to see an Irish team that actually gets into the Champions League." the Euro '88 hero told Star Sunday.
"Irish football and the Irish team needs the eircom League to improve, and to achieve that, we need investment and we need money to be pumped into the domestic game here at home.
"We need investment to bring new players in and to keep the best youngsters here in Ireland, rather than send them over to England where they might not get a chance at first team level.
"Let's build a league that allows Irish football to keep them here, let them play here, improve here and get a good league going. I can't wait for the day when an eircom League side is in the league stage of the European Cup on a regular basis."
Houghton, a man who knows a thing or two about realising Euro dreams, believes the Champions League dream is possible, but only when Irish businessmen cop onto the potential value of their own game.
MONEY
"If I was a big money man here in Ireland, I would get more satisfaction out of putting my money into my own game than pumping my money into a club in England or Scotland where the locals get the benefits of it, not the Irish fans." added Houghton.
"Why not put the money into Ireland? If an Irish team qualifies for the Champions League, then you'll get more enjoyment out of that than anything else.
"Everyone benefits when the Irish international team does well, and it will be the same when an eircom League side makes that breakthrough. If an irish side gets into the Champions League, then the place will kick off. That's what we all want to see."
Just gone up in my view fair play Ray
In Trap we trust
I always thought he was a pain in the a ss, not any more....
Who paid him to say that? Has he ever attended a LOI game?
But what about his beloved Scotland??
Still nice to know our highly paid monkey can occasionally follow the organ grinders tune
I remember his slagging off John O'Flynn when he played for the u-21s down in Waterford, saying he wasnt used to this standard.
This was the old JOF. He was pure class.
fair play ray. in fairness to ray he was very good to us when he turned up at the clubs corporate dinner in ballsbridge a few years ago...
It's good that he said it regardless of whether or not he's ever attended a LOI match. It's been pointed out before that if the individuals who put two million quid into Carlisle (for no evident return I can see) had put their money into Cork, Derry, Bohs, St Pats or pre-melt-down Shels ...they'd likely have a team in the group stages of the CL now.
" I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"
Surely Ray's got a few bob that he could invest in a LoI club 'eh?
Well said Ray, but Its kinda embarassing that it takes a scots man to call for this?. No wonder Killkenny had to withdraw from the league and a few other clubs roudf the country are in big trouble.
54 Crew-Finn Harps FC Supporters Club
Following Harps Home & Away
https://www.facebook.com/54CrewFHFC
This mans a pain in the neck, who does he think he is telling lads what they should and should not be doing with their OWN money. An easy article to write to get alot of people to say ''Jeez that Ray Houghtan's a sound lad, look what he said about LOI''.... If he cares so much why doesnt he put some of his own money where is mouth is.
Ray Houghtan, provided some unreal memorable moments as an Irish player, but as pundit he's abysmal and i wish he'd p!ss off, cant stand listening to his whining tone.
Marge: Homer, the plant called. They said if you don't show up tomorrow don't bother showing up on Monday.
Homer: Woo-hoo. Four-day weekend
-
Trappattoni+Tardelli+Brady=Holy Trinity of Irish Football
He's still a cockhead.
I think he is right, and people should stop moaning. Would ye prefer he wrote an article mocking the league?
As an aside - who's the Irishman that's invested in Peterborough ?
The Posh's latest owner tried to buy AFC Wimbledon just before he bought them, and the club rejected the offer. I can't see Peterborough going too far up the footballing ladder.
If only it was a separate topic, Pete. There seems to be a bit of "he can shove his views on eL investment because he's a ****, scottish, pundit" on this thread. I say fair play to him for mentioning it.
Ceci n'est pas une signature
If we're talking of the same game (Russia, we won 2-0) I thought Ray was right I'm afraid, or at least that JOF was poor.
I think he's right on this issue too. It's ok for Quinn to have an interest - he loved it at Sunderland which is fair enough, but for the others it's a pure vanity investment.