Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: If you're not in the habit...

54 Posts

If you're not in the habit...

...of getting a match programme please make an effort to do so tonight. Programme sales are a vital source of income and, as such, help to make CCFC financially stronger.

Be interested in the views of any first time purchasers - their impressions etc. Post here and let us know! We think you'll see very good value for your €2.50.

Special thanks to all those who regularly take a programme on match days, your support is greatly appreciated!

Donie

is that the sounds of desperation there donie
    seems like every matchday you're on here pleading for customer like
    life is random

@ndy
    Ah now, theres no need for that. I'll buy one man, better live up to our 8.5 in the dublin daily rating, made by and for eL fans! Blue Review. Best ever rating btw.

it's probably because UCD will bring down eight fans so sales to the away support will be down

Doesn't matter how many UCD bring.
    Bloody students wouldn't cough up for it anyway.

54 Posts
    Originally posted by James
    is that the sounds of desperation there donie
    seems like every matchday you're on here pleading for customer like
    Ever the bitter word...

Just appealing to people who don't normally buy one, James, that's all. Don't usually pre-plug the prog, only trying to change a few habits and inviting fans to find out for themselves what it's actually like.
    The club has put in a big effort with the production this season. I think it's something every true City fan should be proud of and I'm asking those non-buyers to give it a bash to see what they make of it. They might enjoy it more than they expect...

Donie

I think the program is top drawer......the best I have seen.

I have even heard it has gotten positive reviews in England........how about that.

Saw some Waterford fans ranting and raving about it at their last match down here.

I also think there are more people reading it at half time etc........maybe because it's so much bigger and more noticable.

Anyway, keep up the excellent work, it's well worth the 2.50 and they have become valuable additions to my collection!
    Irish by birth,
    Cork by the grace of God.

i love the program
    the programme is great
    blah blah blah

they dont have too many ads honest

and 2.50 is greeaaaat valus for money.. i didnt have a cork business directory till i bought the programme... its great

MAGIC.. everyone buy it.. fookk it buy 3 everyone
    well done donie you are the best
    life is random

Match day magazine is the best match day magazine in the world.

Rebel Army Match day Magazine!!!
    Champions!

Prog

Another excellent programme.
    Fair play to those involved.
    I'm getting into the habit of buying it again.

54 Posts
    Originally posted by James
    i love the program
    the programme is great
    blah blah blah

they dont have too many ads honest

and 2.50 is greeaaaat valus for money.. i didnt have a cork business directory till i bought the programme... its great

MAGIC.. everyone buy it.. fookk it buy 3 everyone
    well done donie you are the best
    James, old chum, you're well entitled to your opinion and, for what it's worth, I care little for impoverished cynicism and begrudgery...

What I'm doing in this thread is trying to get new people to buy programmes, hopefully to make it part of their match day.
    I'm not seeking praise on this board (hah!) - just trying to win a few converts from those who (a) never buy one usually and (b) those who maybe used to get one but gave it up (for whatever reason).

James has a problem with advertising in the programme. Have you, like, ever bought a City shirt without advertising, gone to a City match without advertising etc etc? It's part of what the programme does - raise revenue for the club as a vehicle for advertising.

I agree that if the advert content outweighs the editorial copy then that would be a problem. However, I don't think that is the situation with City Edition. If you think it is, fair enough, guess you'll just never be satisfied...

I have no more to say to you James on the subject, I have no intention of turning this thread into something other than what it was intended for: inviting other peoples' views.

To answer an earlier query: my understanding is that the programme may not have yet turned the corner to actual profit.
    The reasons are that (1) the costs to produce at this standard are quite high (2) the required advertising base has yet to be fully realised and (3) sales could be better...(4) we're only 5 issues into the season and the end of season figures are what will decide if it has been an earner for the club or not.

Donie

Donie,
    lighten up a bit man

the city match day magazine is the job, i;ve bought it since the start of this season on a regualar basis (even have 2 of one of the matches for some reason!!), as oppose to seasons past where i'd get one every so often.

the post i made was at 3am ish after 1 or 2 lemonades and shud be read with that in mind

true i dont like the ads v text balance.. but if thats a cost factor fine.. everyones entitled to their opinion.

if you do ask for ppl's opinions thou u must accept that u take the good with the bad, the praise with the criticsm the bit of banter and craic and slagging etc etc whether or not u agree with it.
    life is random

Exclamation ???

Originally posted by The Donie Forde
    I agree that if the advert content outweighs the editorial copy then that would be a problem. However, I don't think that is the situation with City Edition. If you think it is, fair enough, guess you'll just never be satisfied...
    Program is not over the top with adverts and the ones that are there are tastfully done. The content is great and the quality makes it the best in the country. Fullstop

As someone said earlier, it competes with some of the english programs/magazines. The program has nothing to worry about as it would stand up for itself on every aspect. It is a credit to the club and fair play to all involved. It does show how much work goes into it and have many people are working behind the scene's ... it is only fair that the unsung heros get a mention. The lotto, Event control staff, Ticket sales, Marketing, Training staff, Shop and the Editorials from Pat, Brian and Linda. Since the program has changed, i think this is one of its strongest points. It focused more on the club (i know space was tight before) and the people involved and it is great to read about the club in this way.

The program is all that it should be, and hopefully more. It is very hard to say otherwise. And someone would want a very sound argument to have any leg to stand on.

As Bob himself once said ........

"Program bashers are idiots"

Good and Bad IMO.I think the new look is great,very professional and all that,although I would have to side with James on this1,the amount of Ads is a little too much for my liking(though I know if it was free and it had no Ads you would still get moaners) That being said Im gonna buy a few more for 1 reason;Cos Donie your appeal was so damn nice!! Im glad you appealed to the fan's intelligence rather than taking the "if ye dont buy it ye're a pack of ******s"stance,
    It's all just a bunch of Tree-Hugging hippy crap.

The Match Day Magazine is excellent and is a huge improvement on what we had before. I thought the programme was always quite dull and boring in the past but this season it is something which I actually enjoy reading on the morning after a match.
    Some of the articles are excellent and Pat Dolan's notes are always a good read.
    I think it is fairly safe to say that it now stands out as by far the best programme in the league.
    Champions!

i think the program is excellent...well done to everyone involved....

2 things though......

1. the stats and fiqures page (not the fiqures bit from the last issue) someone needs to get a bit of layout going here even if it means using 2 pages.... the table colours are terrible....just an idea from the pats program, they have a guide to every match as in who started, came on as sub, booked scored etc....might be worth while.....

2. still needs some sort of diary from one of the players. could change player every issue, just to get an inside account of the last few games and the feeling within the dressing room...

Muppet
    I think the program is well produced and written, a vast improvement on the efforts of a few seasons ago, and enough to keep me entertained at half time plus some on the bog reading for the following day/couple of weeks (depending on drinking habits). I remember when it was a pound in and 50p for the program, I ran all the way to Hazelbrook farm, blah blah blah... But seriously, there was a time when the program (programme? I'm not sure and I have an honours degree in English) was utter tripe, but then Pat the Plonk was running the show at the time. We are also lucky to have had two of the biggest guff blowers in Ireland writing the manager's notes, Damien Richardson and Pat Dolan. There'll always be a lot of ads, but if it brings in revenue that's fine by me.

While i buy a program most of the time, im not a great fan of them. I think that our one this year is ok at best. For one thing, i hate the size of it. Its pure English Premierhip to have it that size.

I think alot of the content is boring as well. Ok I enjoy Pats piece, and Dave Galvin, Jerry Kelly and gerry write nice pieces, but some of the stuff thats been there this season has been awful, most notably Peter Gouldings awful attempt to be funny.

Overall, in comparison with the rest of them, its quite good, but its competition isnt great. I would like to see more interviews with current players though.
    If at first you don't succeed, redefine success.

I think that is where the programme lacks to be honest. It should concentrate on the current squad. If it is a mgazine it should be profiling and interviewing the players to fill the void that would be an eL magazine.

For what it's worth I didn't buy a programme when I was down for the Shels match. Not sure why but I've gotten very lazy towards programmes this season especially when there's a fanzine on offer instead. Not just in Cork mind, ditto for Cobh and the Galway - Sligo match I headed to weekend before last. I don't like the size of yours either, much prefering an A5 effort.

I did buy a programme when I was at the Cork City - Bray game last season and thought that was the best I'd seen though. Dunno how it compares to last seasons but draw your own conclusions from that.

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast