Page 5 of 8 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast

Thread: Duff to improve with Keegan?

Don't forget lads that he went out to those games voluntarily in Eastern Europe to be with the team, and paying for the trip out of his own pocket.

I have great respect for that and wish him the best of luck for himself (and Ireland) that he gets back to his early form for Chelsea and WC 2002 form.

However, I have to agree he is finished (hopefully just temporarily)

SPecifically aiming this at Finnpark and Kennedmc
    Last edited by zenokelly; 20/03/2008 at 12:17 PM.
    San Marino are going to be a handful as the group goes on." - Steve Staunton reacts to performance against San Marino.

634 Posts

Cool D69er I've no problem if people put facts in front of me. I'm not doubting Duffer for Ireland. I've no reason to. He's always done the business for us and until he stops doing so he'll get the credit he deserves for it.

Now what the Irish lads do in their club careers is a different story.
    Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!

253 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by zenokelly View Post
    Don't forget lads that he went out to those games voluntarily in Eastern Europe to be with the team, and paying for the trip out of his own pocket.
    I'm a Duff fan and don't question his desire or commitment.

The fact that he went to support the team is fantastic, and I admire that; however, the fact that he paid for it out of his own pocket is about as significant as me tossing some change at a homeless person, considering his wages.
    Last edited by irishfan86; 20/03/2008 at 9:00 PM.

It shows he is a fan and fair play and that he cares but yeah I agree the money bit is irrelevant.
    In Trap we trust

Quote Originally Posted by zenokelly View Post

I have great respect for that and wish him the best of luck for himself (and Ireland) that he gets back to his early form for Chelsea and WC 2002 form.

However, I have to agree he is finished (hopefully just temporarily)

SPecifically aiming this at Finnpark and Kennedmc
    What are you aiming at me?

I have never questioned Duff attitude, commitment or performances in an Irish shirt.....he has been obviously one of our few oustanding players over the last 10 years.

My point was why he signed for Newcatle in the prime of his career (Not like Given when he was a 20 year old and starting out).

He's only turned 29 and in the right environment he could easily do a job for Ireland for another 3/4 years.

Quote Originally Posted by kennedmc View Post
    Perspective? - as in he had a long lay off so he's only getting back in to it which is fair enough - it might take him until next season to get going again.

One of my beefs with Duff is (please correcrt me if I'm wrong) he had the chance to join Spurs or Liverpool but he chose to join Newcastle

It seems to me he wasn't up for the challenge and went for the easy option.

Hopefully he'll still be able to do it in a green jersey.
    What are you aiming at me?

I have never questioned Duff attitude, commitment or performances in an Irish shirt.....he has been obviously one of our few oustanding players over the last 10 years.

My point was why he signed for Newcatle in the prime of his career (Not like Given when he was a 20 year old and starting out).

He's only turned 29 and in the right environment he could easily do a job for Ireland for another 3/4 years
    This to me questions Duff's desire/commitment to the game and I replied by saying about his commitment to go to the Eastby his own accord.

I'm not aiming anything at you.

Maybe I misunderstood your post but I don't think I did
    San Marino are going to be a handful as the group goes on." - Steve Staunton reacts to performance against San Marino.

International Prospect Razors left peg's Avatar
    1,001 Posts
    Left out against Bolton today too, bit of a worry although it would be nice to see him leave that joke of a club in the summer

214 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ciaran View Post
    I have a feeling Keegan will be gone before the Season is out to be honest. His formation is a shambles, you can't play a 3 man midfield with crap like Butt, Geremi and Barton. Fulham to win.
    I hope you didn't stick any money on this

I have a feeling Keegan will be gone before the Season is out to be honest. His formation is a shambles, you can't play a 3 man midfield with crap like Butt, Geremi and Barton. Fulham to win.
    God the bookies must be really worried of you. Saying a team that hasnt won away from home in nearly 2 years will win today.

Quote Originally Posted by carloz View Post
    God the bookies must be really worried of you. Saying a team that hasnt won away from home in nearly 2 years will win today.
    . Ciaran knows his football, leave him alone.
    My concerns are global. I reject absolutely revenge, aggression, and retaliation. The foundation of such a method, is love. I love you Sheriff Truman.

His career is over - the great Kelvin Koogan dropped him for the win against mighty Fulham.
    "No regrets, none at all. My only regret is that we went out on penalties. That's my only regret. But no, no regrets." -Mick McCarthy

Can see Duff ending up in the Championship next year.Something missing from his game since he came back from injury.
    Honest! I am not a secret Tim nor a closet Sham - I really am a Seagull.

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jmurphyc View Post
    . Ciaran knows his football, leave him alone.
    Just back against his tips - your'd make a fortune

Quote Originally Posted by seanfhear View Post
    the big clubs have a major say on which clubs they transfer their players to [witness man utd with heinz to liverpool]
    perhaps chelsea did not want duff to go to liverpool or spurs and duff may have gained financially by keeping his mouth shut and joining newcastle
    That's it exactly. Liverpool and Spurs offered several million pounds more than Newcastle for Duff but Chelsea made it clear to Duff they would keep him in Chelsea's reserves until his contract ran out rather than sell him to a rival club. Freddie Sheppard actually thanked Chelsea at the press conference!

Quote Originally Posted by Drumcondra 69er View Post
    Duff did more then allude to it he mentioned it right out.

"Duff said on Monday: "A lot of people - Liverpool fans in Ireland - will ask 'why didn't you sign for them?'

"But I just listened to my heart and it told me to come to Newcastle. That's all it is."
    He's not going to sit there and say "Well - Liverpool was my first choice and Spurs was my second choice but Mourinho said he'd never sell me to either of those so in the end I had no choice but to join Newcastle." That's very likely what he was thinking when he said he was listening to his heart!

People need to look at Heinze and what happened with him. He was desperate to join Liverpool but he couldn't - Man Utd wouldn't allow it. The fee they took from Real Madrid was 'undisclosed' which means it was almost certainly substantially less than what Liverpool offered. Clubs do have a major say on where players go to - Duff was not allowed to join Liverpool or Spurs because Chelsea saw them as their rivals.

The real choice Duff had was - Chelsea's Reserves or Newcastle. In that light I think he made the right decision.

International Prospect Razors left peg's Avatar
    1,001 Posts
    I heard that he had been approached by Valencia too. Surely that would have been ideal?
    I think I remember him saying years ago that he doesnt particularly like hot weather so maybe he wouldnt go to Spain because of that
    Its really not that complicated!!!

2,771 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Razors left peg View Post
    I think I remember him saying years ago that he doesnt particularly like hot weather so maybe he wouldnt go to Spain because of that
    he looks like the sort of lad who soesnt like much except sleeping and chicken fingers.
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

Quote Originally Posted by Emmet View Post
    He's not going to sit there and say "Well - Liverpool was my first choice and Spurs was my second choice but Mourinho said he'd never sell me to either of those so in the end I had no choice but to join Newcastle." That's very likely what he was thinking when he said he was listening to his heart!

People need to look at Heinze and what happened with him. He was desperate to join Liverpool but he couldn't - Man Utd wouldn't allow it. The fee they took from Real Madrid was 'undisclosed' which means it was almost certainly substantially less than what Liverpool offered. Clubs do have a major say on where players go to - Duff was not allowed to join Liverpool or Spurs because Chelsea saw them as their rivals.

The real choice Duff had was - Chelsea's Reserves or Newcastle. In that light I think he made the right decision.
    Again not sure about Liverpool but a £5m fee was deffinitely agreed with Spurs it was on the official website at the time (or maybe just after) but he said his conversations with Carr & Given made him think Newcastle was the better option. Like most people I think he went because Newcastle were offereing him silly money and who would blame him, in reality there's not a huge difference in Class (and I say this as a Spurs fan) between 5th to 15th in the EPL and if someone offered to double my salary I'd be gone in a flash.

To correct several misconceptions on this thread, this is from an article at the time of the transfer:

Yet if Liverpool's enthusiasm for deploying him on the right was a disincentive to moving to Anfield, Duff simply refused to countenance joining Chelsea's London rivals. "As a Chelsea player I couldn't join Spurs," he reflected, apparently seriously

http://football.guardian.co.uk/News_...828193,00.html
    Together with all our hearts.

130 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Emmet View Post

People need to look at Heinze and what happened with him. He was desperate to join Liverpool but he couldn't - Man Utd wouldn't allow it. The fee they took from Real Madrid was 'undisclosed' which means it was almost certainly substantially less than what Liverpool offered. Clubs do have a major say on where players go to - Duff was not allowed to join Liverpool or Spurs because Chelsea saw them as their rivals

Why wouldn't he? Heinze wasn't shy about stating he wanted to go to Liverpool? It's common knowledge that Duff would have needed to take a substantial pay cut, Chelsea were prepared to accept an offer from Liverpool that was a lot higher then they got from Newcastle. Totally different to man u not accepting an offer for Heinze. But they were also happy to accept a lower offer from Newcastle to ensure Damo didn't join one of their rivals as that meant Newcastle could bulk up his wages to match his reputed £100k plus per week. At no stage was he given an ultimatum of rotting in the reserves if he didn't go to Newcastle, it's nonsense to suggest so mate.

Page 5 of 8 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast