I work with a Wexford lad and he is allways saying how his mates in Wexford go to the Wexford Youths vs Limerick 37 match just to give the knackers from Limerick a good kicking, his words not mine.Is there a rivalry between the two counties or just the clubs.
It sounds like it's just one child blowing steam tbh. There's never been any trouble at any Limerick-Wexford game that I've been at. There might be some resentment at their end because we seemed to play them about 573 times last season and I'm not sure they ever beat us (and everybody else beats us, even Kilkenny had the better of us last season!)
Wexford Youths barely register on the horizon of almost all Limerick fans. Galway, Dundalk, Shamrock Rovers and Cobh would be the clubs there'd be a bit of a split with in my opinion (except for LTID who seems to loathe everybody but UCD and Kilkenny)
Last edited by sadloserkid; 08/01/2008 at 12:51 PM. Reason: spelling
If by a good kicking you mean giving a slack jaw stare while we cover half their ground with flags then yes they do.other then that id suggest the 14 year old bebo type's should go away and amuse themselves with some form of sharp object.
If yer man is talking about actual violence and not just a bit of verbal banter then I'd say he's more than likely a liar or an exaggerator of extreme proportions. It would be a terrible pity if the little scum bags of Wexford started attaching themselves to the club and trying to cause trouble.
Especially with the lovely Limerick people, who will be finishing below us in the league this year (I honestly think we'll finish fifth or sixth with a very similar points total to ye).
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Tallaght Stadium Regular
Ya i agree, with the lack of aggro that is.![]()
Rivalry with Who??
I think the rivalry comes from Limerick's link up with Hellas Verona and the hatred they have for all the Wexford Youth's players being lined up to be poached by Juventus.Oh how they laughed in Wexford, or at least would have if they hadn't 4 arses for a face
Basically, last season had very little preparation, and a team pulled from junior clubs.
This year the core of the team all have 20 plus league games behind them, they will have a full pre-season, they know the standard that's required. Some of the players were only starting to show real quality towards the end of last season, attacking players like Liam O'Loughlin and Johnny Flynn O'Connor stared to look very good in the later games. Add to that the possibility of Willie Doyle and Paul Murphy in the squad next season, Doyle a proven goal scorer at this level and Murphy a player with cross channel and Eircom Premier experience (limited as it is), and I see reason for optimism.
The squad will be a lot more settled than the vast majority of other, so getting to know each others shouldn't be an issue. Looking at the results from last season most of the games we lost were by a single goal, it wouldn't take a massive leap to start taking more points from these games.
Maybe it's just blind optimism, but I really don't see much to be scared of in the division. I don't think it's dreaming to think we could finish ahead of Kilkenny, Kildare, Monaghan, Athlone, Limerick and possibly Longford if they don't start signing players.
I think whoever finishes bottom this season will be relegated, because by the sounds of things Sporting Fingal are putting together a very strong side. I don't think it'll be Wexford Youths at the bottom.
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Tallaght Stadium Regular
Experience can only count for so much though.
Bad players are bad players regardless.
Bad management is bad management regardless.
Even with our problems we still have far more quality at the club than you lot.
LoEven the most revisionist Wexford fan would surely admit this is because you played most of your games with 14 men behind the balloking at the results from last season most of the games we lost were by a single goal, it wouldn't take a massive leap to start taking more points from these games.
Don't be too suprised if Sporting Fingal take their place before the seasonI don't think it's dreaming to think we could finish ahead of Kilkenny
I'd have my doubts.Kildare
Have some fairly strong players.
Not a hope in hellMonaghan
Pure speculationAthlone and possibly Longford if they don't start signing players.
You're most likely right, but I really think you'll see a big improvement from us this year.
Wallace was never going to send out a young, inexperienced side to play swashbuckling, attacking football and get beat 5-0 every week.
The football will still be fairly conservative as long as Wallace is in charge, that's his style, don't conceded too many and take your chances at the other end. I think experience can't be underestimated for defenders and we'll concede less and score more this year.
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Tallaght Stadium Regular