Thread: Friday or Saturday nights?

just bring back winter football on a sunday afternoon, simple as.

Yuck. That would be horrible.

I hate daytime football. Saturday night, be it Summer or Winter, is perfect.

47 Posts
    The problem, as always in a GAA area, is finding a balance between their schedule and hitting peak social time (Friday & Saturday nights) as well as avoiding English games on TV. A lot of Youths home games were eventually moved to Fridays at 6.30pm. You'll never find a perfect time to attract the casual attendee and the die hard will always be there whenever it is. Personally, I love a floodlight game.

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by KianD
    Saturday means bye bye non-football social life though...
    I believe there's 6 other nights in the week to go for a pis-up...
    NL 1st Division Champions 2006
    NL Premier Division Champions 2010
    NL Premier Division Champions 2011

Keep Tallaght Tidy, Throw your rubbish in the Jodi

Ten Years Not Out

Quote Originally Posted by mypost View Post
    I believe there's 6 other nights in the week to go for a pis-up...
    5 of which I'm in work at 9am after, and 1 of which nobody I know bothers going out on anymore.

47 Posts
    My point about fitting in KO times around the peak **** up/social times is not directed at the true fan. It is done to accomodate unsympathetic partners who don't understand why we would rather be at the footie than at a chick flick with them.

Middle of No Where, The Center of Everywhere.
    Kildare County will be playing their home games on a Friday night for the coming season hopefully the crowds might go up a bit as well.
    Everyone needs something to believe in, I believe I'll have another beer.

We used to play sunday afternoons but alot of people like to spend family time and with shops open on Sundays now it is often the time for getting that new suite of furniture or the kids shoes.

Saturday nights have too much competition with social life etc.

So Friday nights again for the Mons. Sorry Limerick, Waterford, Kilkenny etc but they dont bring enough away fans to warrant a change.

81 Posts
    Saturday night please!

we will be playin on saturdays no meetin schedulaed to say otherwise, we tried fridays a few years ago didnt work so we went back to saturdays, last year we played on saturday or sunday afternoon to accomodate harps, mons and dundalk, and they also moved there home games to accomodate us (up to dundalk thursday night i dont think so),

i agree night games are best cant beat the old floodlights,

if you have a bar in your ground, saturday is ideal, if you show some EPL games at 5 or so, and a few barstoolers sometime make there way into the ground after the game,
    Great spirits have always encountered violent opposition from mediocre minds.

Quote Originally Posted by Keen2win View Post
    Saturday night please!
    just because theres feck all else to do in longford on a saturday night

106 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by holidaysong View Post
    Thursday.
    Are Dundalk playin thursday nights again this year?!

I remeber when monaghan were last in the premier division, playin up there on a sunday, decent idea, but with premiership football being shown on the tv at the same time, thats were most of the crowds were!

Sundays in an ideal (or winter football) world would be ideal, but with the gaa on every sunday, its just not viable. Saturdays always worked well down here, as a lot of people are only returnin home on friday evenings.

A regulated match day, where everyone sticks to and 1 live match would leave it all lot better for people to get off work etc. if they knew, more often than not they'd be playin on a specific day

Quote Originally Posted by Paddyfield View Post
    That was Sligo. They pulled down their old lights a few months before the new ones were delivered.
    Eh i think feo already knew that considering the fact that he supports sligo rovers!

84 Posts
    Think the majority of games should be Saturday night/afternoon or Sunday afternoon(Friday's ok for local derbies). Most people off Saturday & Sunday which would give time to get to games without having to take time off work.Also think all clubs should play at least a few home games on saturday or sunday afternoon allowing parents to take Kids to games withot having them out late.

As for people complaining about games eating into their social life, IMO if your not prepared to sacrifice an hour or two of your pub time to go watch your local team you ain't a proper fan.
    54 Crew-Finn Harps FC Supporters Club
    Following Harps Home & Away
    https://www.facebook.com/54CrewFHFC

101 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Cabs88 View Post
    Are Dundalk playin thursday nights again this year?!
    I would assume so.
    www.dundalkfc.com

Colin Scanlon - hero!

Id prefer a Saturday afternoon myself, Fridays are fine for home games, but if your looking to travel, taking half days on a Friday to travel to Dublin in particular takes its toll.
    Go lí cúnna ifrinn do thóin bheagmhaitheasach

81 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by The Man Himself View Post
    just because theres feck all else to do in longford on a saturday night
    True

Quote Originally Posted by dortie View Post
    Id prefer a Saturday afternoon myself, Fridays are fine for home games, but if your looking to travel, taking half days on a Friday to travel to Dublin in particular takes its toll.
    Agreed 100%. The fact that games will be clashing with the English game won't make a difference, the only problem in my eyes would be the possibility of games clashing with junior and schoolboy football.
    Who Cares?!

Quote Originally Posted by dortie View Post
    Especially for our away trip to ye......tough to get the day off. Saturday would be handy

SATURDAY
    RIP JOHNNY