Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Thread: How well do you know alcohol?

Decided to go with Carlsberg tonight. Not bad, although seemed to get tipsy a lot quicker than I do with cider...maybe cos I'm not used to drinking it.
    Quote Originally Posted by Spudd View Post
    Seeing as your a cider man much like myself,have you tasted Koperberg(s?) yet?
    It's some mad swedish cider..Theres 3 flavours...But i cant look past the Mixed fruit one! Absaloutley gorjus!
    Try it mate,you'l love it..
    Stronger then most beers too..
    I have tried Kopperberg alright and it's class stuff, love it. But just want to try and stay away from cider if possible.
    Quote Originally Posted by Magicme View Post
    Spudd please dont but him onto that stuff. Much as he wrecks our heads we all love Sligoman and would hate to see what damage he would do to himself on that stuff!!
    I'm taking that as a compliment
    Quote Originally Posted by Magicme View Post
    Sligoman have you tried Coors light? It really does go down easy!!
    No haven't tried it but the 'light' bit makes it sound a bit gay for a man to be drinking tbh no?

some would think that alright Sligoman but you would be astounded at how many men I have seen drinking it. Its as strong as other beers, just a lighter taste and lower calorie count.

33 Posts
    I drink red wine fairly regularly but wouldn't have a notion as to what i want when I'm in the shop. It's always a bit of a gamble, but I reckon the 12.5% french ones are my least favourite. Chilean merlot is usually safe.

Of course my favourite type of wine is brown wine. Being Irish but living in Scotland 7 years I have wide experience of both varieties. The Irish tonic is tastier, but thicker and far more sickly. I couldn't imagine cracking open an Irish bottle at midday on the bus to the game, but even though the Scottish one was a ranker taste and is more wide ranging in flavour (numbers from 1-40ish) it goes down a lot easier at that time of the day.

Guinness.
    I moved here at 17 and really only started drinking Guinness then. All my Irish pals can't understand how I can drink it here and when they visit will all switch to whatever gash lager is on display (never get this, how is gammy flat weak Brit beer going to be better? British based posters will know what I mean about the scandalous standard of draught lager over here - carling, carlsberg, fosters, kronenbourg, tennents etc).
    I don't find a MASSIVE difference in quality in the cross-channel Guinness, though it can be more variable given that it might not get poured as much in certain bars. What do the rest of ye make of it? Complete myth that you can't drink Guinness outside of Ireland?
    The dude abides....

Sligoman:becks is the way to go. trust me. you will get used to it fierce quick and then realise its lovely - too lovely in fact :8
    Last edited by paul_oshea; 23/01/2008 at 10:46 AM.

20 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    Sligoman:becks is the way to go. trust me. you will get used to it fierce quick and then realise its lovely - too lovely in fact :8
    dont trust him.....could be another one of his "experiments" from his bar man days..

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    I am on a month long detox ( do it every year ) including NO alcohol.

I was at my sports club on saturday before watching Watford ( Jesus it's hard without booze! ) and decided to ask if they had any non-alcoholic beer ( as I was fed up with soft drinks ).....I was thrilled to learn they had BECKS, until I bought two small bottles and was charged £5 for the pint!!

Feck the detox next year!
    Tact is for people who are not witty enough to be sarcastic

Feck the detox next year!
    Is there meant to be a comma, somewhere there?!

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123