Thread: How well do you know alcohol?

115 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    as she would only drink water otherwise - sparkling of course, but yet with Ice which was another thing I didn't get.....)
    I think she probably wanted it to be cold.

As regards the wine I wouldn't be too genned up, and not at all on reds, but with whites you should be able to at least tell a roundy, buttery, Chardonnay from a highly acidic white like a Riesling, they are totally different. There's your starting point then. Go to it, and good luck!
    My favourite tipple is a nice Chablis, can't beat it, well worth the extra few yo-yos for what is a real quality wine. A nice drop of Sancerre is the business too but they're taking the p**s over here with the prices.
    more bass

think she probably wanted it to be cold
    It came from the fridge

Six months sober today after years of binge drinking and I have to say life is much better without alcohol.
    I'll update this next year.

Quote Originally Posted by First View Post
    Six months sober today after years of binge drinking and I have to say life is much better without alcohol.
    Fair play - I presume you opted for the obvious course of action and took up crack cocaine to replace it?
    Quoting years at random since 1975

Quote Originally Posted by Wolfie View Post
    Fair play - I presume you opted for the obvious course of action and took up crack cocaine to replace it?
    No just the realistion that I was constantly in trouble over drink and while being aware of this planning my next binge.
    Still get mad urges to go and get hammered but by changing my routine I have so far avoided it . For me personnally drink was running my life. All my activities were centred around the next session.

As for replacing it with crack cocaine , trust me when I say , there are alot of those tee shirts hanging in the wardrobe with my drinking skeletons.

Quote Originally Posted by First View Post
    No just the realistion that I was constantly in trouble over drink and while being aware of this planning my next binge.
    Still get mad urges to go and get hammered but by changing my routine I have so far avoided it . For me personnally drink was running my life. All my activities were centred around the next session.

As for replacing it with crack cocaine , trust me when I say , there are alot of those tee shirts hanging in the wardrobe with my drinking skeletons.

Well, being genuinely serious, seems to me you've sensibly had the guts to ask yourself a few tough questions and have decided to take some action before, as you describe, your alcohol binging becomes a major problem.

Hope that doesn't come across as condescending as its not intended to be - Fair play and all the best.
    Quoting years at random since 1975

Quote Originally Posted by Wolfie View Post
    Well, being genuinely serious, seems to me you've sensibly had the guts to ask yourself a few tough questions and have decided to take some action before, as you describe, your alcohol binging becomes a major problem.

Hope that doesn't come across as condescending as its not intended to be - Fair play and all the best.
    Not condescending at all, I had to face a few realities and deal with them.

All the best.

Quote Originally Posted by ifk101 View Post
    If I like it, buy it again. If not, don't.
    natural selection in action!
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    Membership Advisory Board
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by noby View Post
    Possibly. Although it must be said, in terms of quality Bud is right up there, consistently turning out a beer that is very delicately flavoured, where the flavour, colour, mouthfeel, hopping rates etc. never alter in the slightest. It's just that what they do produce isn't up to much.

please tell me you are joking
    i find it amazing that there is such a thing as Bud Light, isnt that a contradiction
    women and people who dont drink drink Bud

anyway i would be def able to do that test for beers
    i love heineken, and german/polish beer
    and dont mind Bass/Smithwicks on a quiet night

Get a dictionary and look up quality. As I said they can continually churn out a product that is consistent and of the same standard, with negligible variation.

As I also said, said product isn't up to much in my opinion.

EDIT: I hope that didn't come across as short. I'd sooner not touch Bud with a barge pole, but it's widely regarded as a brewery of the highest quality. I'd sooner have a cask ale that differs from batch to batch, and even changes it's flavour through the life span of the cask.
    Last edited by noby; 18/01/2008 at 1:00 PM.
    Ceci n'est pas une signature

I love wine, particularly red wine and while I dont really know much about it I do know what I like and what I really love. For me I have never found a nicer tasting wine than a good Fluerie but as its usually between €16-20 a pop, I dont get to drink it often. Next favourite for me is Wolf Blass wines from Oz. The Yellow Label is top notch with such a smooth flavour that just makes you fall in love with it. The red label and the eagle hawk versions are lovely too and are at the attainable price for regular drinking. That said when I am broke, a cheap bottle of Lidl Chianti or a chilian Cabernet Savauignon does the job!

As for beers, am a Coors lite girl (yeah totally girly!) or bud, miller or any of the not too strongly flavoured beers. Am a veggie so my sense of smell and palate are more sensitive so dont like over powering flavoured beers.

Am a voddie woman of late (mixed with soda water and lime - delish!) but love JD and the occasionaly jagermister bomber.

There are a lot of more subtle flavoured beers out there. And some of those red wines pack plenty of flavour. Try the previously mentioned Coopers, or Duvel, or maybe a wheat beer. They don't all have to hit you over the head like an IPA or a stout.

I dont like wheaty tasting beers coz when they hit my stomach they make me feel sick. Have an allergy to wheat so try to avoid too much of it!

Fair enough.
    Some people find the yeast in these unfiltered beers a little heavy going. Some people just need to open a window the next morning, if you know what I mean.

No I dont, sorry. Can you elborate??

Flatulence, my dear lady.

On the plus side, yeast is a great source of vitamin B, which is good for curing hangovers, therefore each sup you drink (of unfiltered beer) has the added bonus of reducing the next mornings suffering.
    Last edited by noby; 18/01/2008 at 1:31 PM.

Miller !!!!!!
    " YOU NEVER WIN ANYTHING WIT KIDS "

STEP FORWARD COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIVISION CHAMPS 2007

I'm going out to play pool in a few mins and will have a couple of drinks. What beer would ye recommend starting on that's not too heavy on the stomach? Bear in mind, I'm a cider man mainly but I want to try and get off that as I've heard a lot of what it can cause as opposed to beers.

Seeing as your a cider man much like myself,have you tasted Koperberg(s?) yet?
    It's some mad swedish cider..Theres 3 flavours...But i cant look past the Mixed fruit one! Absaloutley gorjus!
    Try it mate,you'l love it..
    Stronger then most beers too..
    Sure it was a grand ole team to play for....Sure it was a grand ole team to know..

Hail Hail!!

Spudd please dont but him onto that stuff. Much as he wrecks our heads we all love Sligoman and would hate to see what damage he would do to himself on that stuff!!

Sligoman have you tried Coors light? It really does go down easy!!