Thread: Favourite Advert as a Kid????

Favourite Advert as a Kid????

on another post i just mentioned telly spongers (anyone remember those?) and it got the mind going....

Pandas roller skating for KitKat,
    'my name's fat frog and i live in a swamp...'
    The hamburglar
    The weetabix gang

does anybody remeber the tune for the ad for um bongo (a drink if you're very young)

...or did i just watch way too much TV as a kid??

501 Posts

Not my favourites, just funny...

The ad with the nun shouting [SIZE=6]BA[/SIZE] into some poor unfortunate's ear still jumps into my head on occasion, making me LOL in odd places.

How about the Safe Cross Code: "Remember ONE, Look For A Safe Place; TWO don't hurry, stop and wait...".

And here's another one to get the nostalgia flying:

[SIZE=6]After 'im![/SIZE]

Heh, I'm so old.

111 Posts
    Ah yeah memories there! my faves:

Weetabix gang
    Them bones them bones need calcium
    The Harp ads, a pint of Harp and a packet of dates please!
    Kia Ora, "Ill be your dog!!!"

Classic!
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

Re: Not my favourites, just funny...

Originally posted by Vetinari
    How about the Safe Cross Code: "Remember ONE, Look For A Safe Place; TWO don't hurry, stop and wait...".
    Yeah ... but did you ever get a "Judge" badge.

and the ...

"Just read the tag, sounds like a robot ... but sure wouldn't you just die if anything happened to them"
    *In a thick Dublin voice*

And the fire alarm one. The whole family would meet in the hallway and practice the fire drill, all wearing those dodgy pollar neck wooly jumpers and duffle coats, i mean ... what planet were they on like
    You could just picture you passing your brother or sister in the kitchen saying "Fire Drill in the hallway ... Two O'Clock" and you both wink and nod the head.

Who remembers the Eletricity Station and the young lads frisbe
    (spelling??) .... You could see him playing outside, it cuts to the frisbe being nearly 50 feet up in the station, cuts to a dodgy electric/danger sign and then cuts to the boy lying on the ground with smoke rising from him. Pure drama like

501 Posts
    Yeah ... but did you ever get a "Judge" badge.

Course I did, it was blue with Judge in the middle. Wish I still had it actually, you could totally freak people out by wearing it to the pub.

And that in turn brings back memories of the Millennium, because Wanderley Wagon was on at about five in the morning on the first of January 2000. It was totally bizarre, I was watching it with a buddy with the two of us sharing the remains of the alcohol and shouting "HELLO CROW" at each other in Judge's voice. Happy days.

Seriously though, O'Brien was totally gay.

Last edited by dahamsta; 12/06/2003 at 12:48 AM.

i still have my judge badge and a weetabix gang one sad!

do you remember the excitement when a new episode of the gold blend add would come out? your man did alright out of it, going on to watch over buffy!

or milk tray adds, how did ian fleming not sue them

Re: Favourite Advert as a Kid????

Originally posted by tiktok
    does anybody remeber the tune for the ad for um bongo (a drink if you're very young)
    'They call it Um Bongo, they drink it in the Congo'... can't remember the rest alas...

And speaking of Fat Frogs I was working part-time in a sweet-shop when they were re-released a while back and the lad working with me used to refuse to sell them to the kiddies unless they sang the song for him first. Ah... twas funny!

30 Posts

Re: Favourite Advert as a Kid????

Originally posted by tiktok
    does anybody remeber the tune for the ad for um bongo (a
    rink if you're very young)
    Dont ask how I remember parts of this but as far as I can
    remember, it goes something like ...

Way down deep in the middle of the congo, the python picked
    the passion fruit the guava and the mango,
    <the something something something something-go>
    they put it all together and he danced the <something tango>
    and the lion said "I know ... we'll call it Um Bongo"

Um bongo Um bongo they drink it in the congo (repeat to fade)

Jaysus I need a drink

What about ...

the red car and the blue car had a race,
    all red wanted to do was stuff his face,
    he ate everything he sees, from trucks to *****ly trees,
    but smart old blue he took the Milkey Way

Thanks folks, I'll be here weekdays till 5

early eighties i tink, the song went :
    style with the mile in the metro, [SIZE=3]the metro[/SIZE]
    ease without squeeze in the metro, [SIZE=3]the metro[/SIZE]

it had loads of people lovin their metros, the nuns were the best in it

that [SIZE=3]ba[/SIZE] add was bad stuff. we (brothers and me) got given out to by our dad the first time we saw it cos we laughed at it. then, each time it came on after it we would shakin like mad tryin to keep in the laughin. could never stop laughin at that
    Followin Our Own Teams In Eire

theres no cure for the League of Ireland bug. spread it :)

i still remeber when they used to have normal ads and then they would have pictures with someone talking over it.

There was a great one about some injection for cows

learned a load of new sayings from it

bovine flu, sucking worbels, sarcoptic mangemites.

The picture was of a cow with an injection gun in its mouth..... lovely at dinner time

3,223 Posts
    The red car and the blue car had a race.
    All the red car wanted to do was stuff his face.

And then the red car jumps a gorge but falls in because he's too fat and the blue car wins!

Ah, Milky Way!!

3,223 Posts

Re: Re: Favourite Advert as a Kid????

Originally posted by Ash
    What about ...

the red car and the blue car had a race,
    all red wanted to do was stuff his face,
    he ate everything he sees, from trucks to *****ly trees,
    but smart old blue he took the Milky Way
    Yep, that's the one!

Really shoud read the whole of a thread before posting...

Way down deep in the middle of the Congo,
    A hippo took an apricot, a guava and a mango.
    He stuck it with the others, and he danced a dainty tango.

The rhino said, "I know, we'll call it Um Bongo",
    Um Bongo Um Bongo, They drink it in the Congo.

The python picked the passion fruit, the marmoset the mandarin.
    The parrot painted packets, that the whole caboodle landed in.

So when it comes to sun and fun and goodness in the jungle,
    They all prefer the sunny funny one they call "Um Bongo".

i had to go look it up, the tension was killing me

30 Posts

Classic

Classic Stuff tiktoc

I would have looked it up but was too busy
    trying to remember the We all adore a kia ora
    ad with the talking crows

Re: Classic

Originally posted by Ash
    Classic Stuff tiktoc

I would have looked it up but was too busy
    trying to remember the We all adore a kia ora
    ad with the talking crows
    "It's too orangy for crows, it's just for me and my dog!"

=> "I'll be your dog, woof, woof, woof, woof"

And does anybody remember the Yoplait ad with the King tasting food from different people. A couple of them presented the King with substandard rubbish so he dropped 'em through a trap-door. The Yoplait guy got off scott free...
    Last edited by sadloserkid; 17/06/2003 at 1:36 PM.

30 Posts

Re: Re: Classic

Originally posted by sadloserkid
    "It's too orangy for crows, it's just for me and my dog!"
    => "I'll be your dog, woof, woof, woof, woof"
    Excellent

Originally posted by sadloserkid
    And does anybody remember the Yoplait ad with the King tasting foot from different people.
    Tasting foot!!! What kind of dodgy stations were you watching

Ah no, I remember the Yoplait one alright, the taster would take
    a bite out of apples, pears etc and say they were grand but
    when the yoplait he couldnt be sure till he finished the pot

Was that Tony Robinson (aka Baldrick) who played the part of
    the taster?

Re: Re: Re: Classic

Originally posted by Ash
    Tasting foot!!! What kind of dodgy stations were you watching
    Why whatever are you talking about Ash?

[SIZE=1]Heh-heh, who'll suspect that I used the editor! [/SIZE]

And I think that we're talking about different Yoplait ads (though yours is good too!)

30 Posts

Edit

God bless the Edit button, saved blushes from my rubbish
    spelling many a time

Cant remember another yoghurt add with a King and food/foot

Another annoying one was the parrot saying ...
    Dont say Yes, Say YOP

Having said that, All Hail Strawberry Yop,
    King of all hangover cures ... that and solphadine

"I'd like to teach the World to Sing" - Coke.

"Everyone's a Fruit and Nutcase" - Cadbury's Fruit and Nut.

"You do the Shake and Vac and put the freshness back" - Shake and Vac.

"There's more dog taste to the ounce in Bounce" - Bounce Dogfood.

Those Hamlet ads, and the Clement Freud ads with his bloodhound, Henry.

Not forgetting, mid-nineties, John Otway's Weetabix Delilah ad "I felt the spoon in my hand, and she laughed no more." Classic.
    No Elvis, Beatles or the Rolling Stones
    In 1977

Originally posted by The Sheliban
    "You do the Shake and Vac and put the freshness back" - Shake and Vac.
    Possibly the most successful tv advert ever. Its so good i'd be surprsied anyone can name 1 let alone 2 other carpet fresheners.

Apparently sales trebled ever time it was shown on tv.