Page 9 of 14 FirstFirst ... 7891011 ... LastLast

Thread: Steve Staunton

2,081 Posts
    Geysir are you actually implying that Staunton's statement was vindicated? So what if it turned out that Wales and Cyprus were even more rubbish than us, we knew that anyway. At the time Staunton made that comment SM were after losing 13-0 to Germany and 7-0 to the Czechs so there was absolutely nothing to suggest that they would be a handful.

89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by John83 View Post
    Lack of ability and inexperience explain all of that (well, what little which needs explanation - "he took no time to actually consider the tactical side of things" is libellous speculation) without resorting to casting any aspersions on the man's work ethic.
    Libel? Oh for god's sake. What next, "I thought Glenn Whelan had a shocker the other night" should be capable of grounding an action because you're casting doubt on his professional ability and the bad reputation may impact on his future earning ability, as opposed to the contract he'd be more likely to get if Jamie Redknapp says he was a top, top player?

It is neither lack of ability nor lack of experience to call up a player on the back of seeing clips on him on "the Sky" it's downright not being arsed. As for the claims he finished his coaching badges whilst in charge, can anyone suggest any game where we showed anything resembling a clue tactically? (his one good performance, Czech Rep at home was largely down to the shock of Nicosia and the players rallying themselves, and that's according to a player from the squad). Why not look at the great tactical work he did as defensive coach at Leeds.

The man is a walking joke, and he has only himself to blame for that. I know he's in a much smaller situation at Doncaster from a media point of view, but I hope he has learned some humility and respect for those he'll be dealing with in that job. Meanwhile, I wonder what odds you can get on Doncaster going down...
    Last edited by Jicked; 05/10/2009 at 3:46 PM.

2,081 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jicked View Post
    Meanwhile, I wonder what odds you can get on Doncaster going down...
    Don't know but Darlington are f*cked!!

812 Posts
    Libel? Oh for god's sake. What next, "I thought Glenn Whelan had a shocker the other night" should be capable of grounding an action because you're casting doubt on his professional ability and the bad reputation may impact on his future earning ability, as opposed to the contract he'd be more likely to get if Jamie Redknapp says he was a top, top player?
    If you don't see the difference between 'I think X had a bad game' and 'X never does any work', good luck to you.

It is neither lack of ability nor lack of experience to call up a player on the back of seeing clips on him on "the Sky" it's downright not being arsed.
    Citation please.

As for the claims he finished his coaching badges whilst in charge, can anyone suggest any game where we showed anything resembling a clue tactically?
    I'm going to stop discussing this now. I already asked why you think this sort of thing is evidence that Staunton "never even tried once".
    You can't spell failure without FAI

89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by John83 View Post
    If you don't see the difference between 'I think X had a bad game' and 'X never does any work', good luck to you.

Citation please.

I'm going to stop discussing this now. I already asked why you think this sort of thing is evidence that Staunton "never even tried once".
    I'm not arsed finding you a "citation" (don't we use the term link on the internet?), but when Caleb Folan was first called up it was because Stan the Man had never seen him play or met him before, but had seen bits of him on "the Sky" and he was a big awkward bugger who wasn't afraid to tread on people's toes.

My reasons for not thinking he was trying is the complete non-existence of anything resembling a tactical gameplan away to Cyprus, home to Cyrpus, away to San Marino, away to Czech Republic, away to Germany....
    A team that was being coached, even badly, would at least have some sort of style of gameplan no matter how awful it is. Ireland went out in each of the above games and passed the ball around a bit and ran around for ages and tried not to let the other team score and then like, try to score themselves if they could. His squad selection showed no thought process, he called up anyone, anyone at all. He never bothered taking a look at a player before they were called up to see if they could, you know, play football, and Joe O'Cearuill has two international caps, amongst many others. He was quite happy to pick whoever, whenever either at the insistance of 3rd parties, or even more embarassing the time the media had to get him to call up Lee Carsley to play against Czech Republic after Stan, 3 days earlier, had considered him to not be in his plans for the foreseeable future, he suddenly became a regular in every Staunton midfield.

Tell me that's the work of a guy who sat down with a pen and paper (what's that Simpsons quote, "now children, let's take out our safety pencils and circles of paper") and actually spent five minutes thinking about a plan or design for his four years in charge.

131 Posts
    Jicked I'm not sure it was a case that Staunton couldn't be arsed I think it was more the problem that he was the village idiot of International football management and all the effort in the world wouldn't have overcome this limitation.

89 Posts
    But I could accept the village idiot explanation if he stuck by Jonathan Douglas claimining him to be the new Johnny Giles. but time and again he'd give caps to someone like Alan O'Brien on the assistance of Pat Devlin, despite never seeing him play.

If he was a crap manager he'd taken a look at O'Brien and thought he was Newcastle's youth team's very own Lio Messi, instead he doesn't watch him play, gives him 3 or 4 caps, see's that he's crap, drops him, then it's Joe O'Cearuill, ah sure his agent said he was great I'll have a look at him. Caleb Folan, he looks tall on the telly, whatever, I'll call him up, no harm in that. Ah sure maybe they're right Lee Carsley is a decent player, sure I'll call him back up and make him the fecking lynchpin of the team, no harm in that.
    If he was a crap manager he'd have done his research on those players and got it wrong. He quite simply was never bothered to look at anyone, and was happy enough to take someone like Pat Devlin's word.

His tactical set-up was the same, ah sure just go out and play for a while and ye'll be grand. I even heard from one player in the dressing room in San Marino what his post-match team talk was, absolutely ridiculous carryon.

114 Posts
    The really sad thing was that he was probably trying his best - if he couldn't have been arsed at least he would have had an excuse!

I do find it very hard to understand how Darlington could employ him. Also it must be harder to pass your cycling test than get your coaching badge if Stan achieved his when with us.

To be fair he did achieve a place in the all time 5 Live team last week - worst managers in history.
    Last edited by Paddy Garcia; 05/10/2009 at 7:21 PM.

I'm not arsed finding you a "citation" (don't we use the term link on the internet?), but when Caleb Folan was first called up it was because Stan the Man had never seen him play or met him before, but had seen bits of him on "the Sky" and he was a big awkward bugger who wasn't afraid to tread on people's toes.

My reasons for not thinking he was trying is the complete non-existence of anything resembling a tactical gameplan away to Cyprus, home to Cyrpus, away to San Marino, away to Czech Republic, away to Germany....
    A team that was being coached, even badly, would at least have some sort of style of gameplan no matter how awful it is. Ireland went out in each of the above games and passed the ball around a bit and ran around for ages and tried not to let the other team score and then like, try to score themselves if they could. His squad selection showed no thought process, he called up anyone, anyone at all. He never bothered taking a look at a player before they were called up to see if they could, you know, play football, and Joe O'Cearuill has two international caps, amongst many others. He was quite happy to pick whoever, whenever either at the insistance of 3rd parties, or even more embarassing the time the media had to get him to call up Lee Carsley to play against Czech Republic after Stan, 3 days earlier, had considered him to not be in his plans for the foreseeable future, he suddenly became a regular in every Staunton midfield.

Tell me that's the work of a guy who sat down with a pen and paper (what's that Simpsons quote, "now children, let's take out our safety pencils and circles of paper") and actually spent five minutes thinking about a plan or design for his four years in charge.
    Great post. I'm sure John 83 will be back on to try and pick holes in it soon enough though

koh

1,928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DeLorean View Post
    Geysir are you actually implying that Staunton's statement was vindicated? So what if it turned out that Wales and Cyprus were even more rubbish than us, we knew that anyway. At the time Staunton made that comment SM were after losing 13-0 to Germany and 7-0 to the Czechs so there was absolutely nothing to suggest that they would be a handful.
    Those type of games are like the Spanish inquisition, you never know when they will be a handful and we have had more than a few of them.
    Stan was a very poor manager for us and made plenty of gaffes but if you can't see the obvious value of Europe's worst team subsequent home performances, then there is nothing I can say to explain it.
    I dread those games, ever since listening to one on the radio against Malta through an earpiece while walking through Dublin, waiting until the injury time for a winner from Stapleton.

3,501 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    Those type of games are like the Spanish inquisition.
    Because nobody ever expects them?

I'll get me coat..

60 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tetsujin1979 View Post

I'll get me coat..
    Taxi for one to Berlin please!
    That question was less stupid, though you asked it in a profoundly stupid way.

Help me, Arthur Murphy, you're my only hope!

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge
    I bow to no one. bar Bluebeard and Mr A

1,928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tetsujin1979 View Post

I'll get me coat..
    But I didn't have to say it in order to imply it

2,796 Posts
    ever since listening to one on the radio against Malta through an earpiece while walking through Dublin, waiting until the injury time for a winner from Stapleton.
    A back heel I think. I was fixing my bike, a bundle of nerves throughout.

Somehow I think you can sense when a goal will come and when it won't. I sensed it would then, and I sensed it would in both Bari & Cyprus recently. I think I'm able to distinguish between sensing and hoping, but maybe not. I also sensed an equaliser in Rome in 1990.

2,081 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    A back heel I think. I was fixing my bike, a bundle of nerves throughout.

Somehow I think you can sense when a goal will come and when it won't. I sensed it would then, and I sensed it would in both Bari & Cyprus recently. I think I'm able to distinguish between sensing and hoping, but maybe not. I also sensed an equaliser in Rome in 1990.
    I know what you mean. I think confident teams are the ones that get the late equalisers or winners. It's all about belief really. If those games in Bari and Cyprus were in the last qualifying campaign I wouldn't have held out much hope.

161 Posts
    "Darlo' 2-0 down after 30 mins

[QUOTE=geysir;1244733]Those type of games are like the Spanish inquisition, you never know when they will be a handful and we have had more than a few of them.
    Stan was a very poor manager for us and made plenty of gaffes but if you can't see the obvious value of Europe's worst team subsequent home performances, then there is nothing I can say to explain it.
    I dread those games, ever since listening to one on the radio against Malta through an earpiece while walking through Dublin, waiting until the injury time for a winner from Stapleton.

I remember that game as well...listening on Radio as RTE couldn't or wouldn't show it live. He scored with a back heel didn't he? what campaign was that in? qualifiers for Euro 84? Think we won the return leg 8-0 Chris Hughton got one?

57 Posts
    [QUOTE=Den Perry;1248329]
    Those type of games are like the Spanish inquisition, you never know when they will be a handful and we have had more than a few of them.

I remember that game as well...listening on Radio as RTE couldn't or wouldn't show it live. He scored with a back heel didn't he? what campaign was that in? qualifiers for Euro 84? Think we won the return leg 8-0 Chris Hughton got one?

We won the return 8-0 in Dalymount all right. Hughton didn't score according to wikipedia
    Lawrenson 25', 63'
    Stapleton 28' (pen)
    O'Callaghan 35'
    Sheedy 74'
    Brady 76', 88'
    Daly 86'

I can't remember him scoring for Ireland but would need to check a reliable source.

I was listening to the Malta game at home in Limerick and was leaping around the kitchen when Frank scored the last gasp winner. Philip Greene was commentating if I recall correctly. It was painful stuff.

From memory Hughton scored at home to Malta, 25 yarder from outside the box

[QUOTE=gspain;1248334]
    Quote Originally Posted by Den Perry View Post

We won the return 8-0 in Dalymount all right. Hughton didn't score according to wikipedia
    Lawrenson 25', 63'
    Stapleton 28' (pen)
    O'Callaghan 35'
    Sheedy 74'
    Brady 76', 88'
    Daly 86'

I can't remember him scoring for Ireland but would need to check a reliable source.

I was listening to the Malta game at home in Limerick and was leaping around the kitchen when Frank scored the last gasp winner. Philip Greene was commentating if I recall correctly. It was painful stuff.
    I think it was Gabriel Egan that commentated on it - think I remember the relief in his voice when we scored. However, I could be wrong...

Page 9 of 14 FirstFirst ... 7891011 ... LastLast