Thread: Complacency setting in amongst supporters

Complacency setting in amongst supporters

I know I'm running the risk of incurring the wrath of many here but here goes.
    I can't help but feel that a lot of you are not very ambitious for this club, (on the pitch wise) and seem happy with the way things are going. The harsh reality of it is, in my opinion, that we lie 6th in the lowest standard ever of first division football there has been and some of you call this progress. We are not scoring enough goals, are starting to concede too many, and while we play pretty, attractive football in the two thirds of the pitch that don't count as much as the other one, we're simply not doing the business as it should be done. Maybe new players are needed, maybe a new formation is needed, I don't know. But I do know that something is needed.Things have to change.I feel that we are still tactically inept when it matters...i.e. when we fall behind.Our wins and draws (Monaghan excepted) have come from situations where we have been ahead.Galway was shocking, Dublin City worse...need I go on.
    I really hope that I have to eat buckets of humble pie, starting tomorrow night, but at the moment I feel that we're sliding instead of climbing and that our customary position of bottom 4 awaits!!!!!!!!!!!!!

57 Posts
    I think the priority has got to be getting the structures in place and a ground sorted out and putting the club on a firm footing to compete in this league.

I think the team is doing as well as can be expected. We wouldn't be allowed into the premier division even if we won promotion.

We've had senior football in the city for 66 consecutive years. Only Dundalk and Dublin have longer. Witht he new club licencing laws and the lack of money we're in serious danger of not being around for next year.

I agree with you O Soapy one. We're nowhere near the finished product yet and if I had to place a bet on the top four at the end of the season I wouldn't be able to put our name there (Harps, Bray, Kildare and probably Dublin City for anybody who's curious). However we have improved this season and that is what I personally am pleased about. This is the first season that I've consistently seen us boss games around which is a step forward. Even though we're patently unable to put teams away I don't think we're sliding to be honest. Your point still stands. We're not good enough to go up right now and if by some miracle we did then we'd probably end up doing a Monaghan/Kilkenny type of thing. We have a good team this year but we're still a few players short of having a really good one. Out of the players we have at the moment only Purcell, Finucane, Sweeney, Keating and O'Flynn could cope with the top flight. The Derek McCarthy and Colm Heffernan of yesteryear could both possibly stake a claim but on current form they'd be badly out of their depth.

I don't think we'll have to struggle around to avoid re-election this year and after the last couple of seasons when our league form was frankly embarrassing (2 league wins at home last season...) that's a positive. On the pitch I want to see a top-class Limerick team. It won't happen overnight though and I recognise that. This season has seen some steps in the right direction I feel and whatever about the others I'm just pleased that we seem to have stopped the rot this year!

Joe Soap: No "wrath" from me. I cna understand where you are coming from even if I don't agree completely.

We are definitely making improvments on last year. We play good football, but as you say not in the third of the pitch that counts. As for not scoring goals I think it comes down to two factors:

1. Stevo is feeding instead of recieving balls.
    2. Derek McCarthy isn't as fit as we hoped, things just don't seem to be working for him.

In relation to conceeding goals, I don't have confidence in Healy. He has only two clean sheets this year and has been dodgy on many an occassion. I would prefer to see Loughman given a go in goals.

Posted by GSpain:
    I think the priority has got to be getting the structures in place and a ground sorted out and putting the club on a firm footing to compete in this league.
    I think that if we continue to move at such a slow pace off the pitch we are doomed to fail the licencing. Don't get me wrong now, I am not saying that there is no progress, just that the committee are trying to do everything themselves - a feat that is simply impossible. Hopefully with the Supp Club coming onstream we can work to meet this minimum standard needed.
    "Anyone who's Soapy should be flushed and anyone who's a Deserter should be shot."
    - John Purcell (Limerick FC Commercial Manager), February 2004

Interesting Joe Soap - I can see where you're coming from. I have been accused of being an apologist for the club and small time, and at the risk of being accused of that again I am happy with the progress made on the pitch. The team is completely new - and I think with the exception of the change of Healy for Fyffe it has been players replaced by better ones.

I have spoken to opposition fans who have said that they think Limerick are the best footballing team in the division. I haven't seen Finn Harps yet but of the other clubs I've seen of the division, including some of the leaders, the typeof football is atrocious. It is real kick and rush stuff. In fairness, I think we would all agree that Limerick are at least playing football - sometimes it is almost a case of too much football.

I think the team needs a couple of players to really make up the gulf that exists between premier and first division (though looking at Bray I'd nearly rather not play their brand of neanderthal football). At maybe this is where my 'small time' nature comes out - but what made anyone think that we would go from bottom of the league (or thereabouts) to challenging for the first division title. No other club has done it. Why do we set unrealistic targets - which just set ourselves up for disappointment. My own view is that every season has got be an improvement on the previous one - if that is the case then we wil get premier football, it just won't happen next season. If we were to take a realistic view of the club (we have to recognise that Limerick was never that successful a team - early 80s and early 60s apart) and said that the goal would be to have challenge for playoff positions in 2003/2004.Strive for an established premier division side in 2007. And from there?.....

Lads, JP MacManus is not banging down our door to give us wads of cash to bring back Bobby Ryan or sign John O'Flynn. This has got to be a steady growth - sustainable growth. If that makes me small time then so what. I'd rather work towards a premier team by 2006 than have a bankrupt club in 2004.

Off the field the move to Pike seems to be a positive one - absolutely more should and could be done on licensing. That is a real concern.
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

Just noticed your sign-off. Nice one LFCIE!!!

Good to know that its all not just in my head then....I was expecting a barrage of abuse.
    I live away from the city, and can't put a lot of time into things other than travelling to games, but is anyone interested in trying something radical as regards the committee. I don't ever agree with anything that Lims Fan says about matters on the pitch, but sadly I'm coming around to his way of thinking regarding the committee. The chairman is too meek (to be polite), a certain unnamed member was to "breathe new blood" into the club with talks of hundreds, yes hundreds of thousands of euro being raised and sadly the rest of them resemble the royal box at the start of the muppet show.
    I guarantee you no other EL club has a committee like this.In fact, a junior club wouldn't last too long with one either.

Joe, you're starting to unnerve me now.

Sounds like you are going to take out a few of them.....
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

Maybe we need to do a weapons check at the gate tomorrow night!! .

We were talking at the last meeting about Family and Die Hard sections (Leave the string vests at home!) and I was wondering what do ye think.? Should we start this tomorrow night? behind the Car-Park Goal maybe?

If you're putting the family section behind the car park goal then that sounds fine John...

Seriously it's a bit unfair to consign either group to a spot behind either goal (restricting the view of the game). I feel that the hardcore should be left where they are behind the dugouts and the more family minded/less vocal should be encouraged to watch the match from directly opposite there.

Originally posted by LFC in Exile
    Joe, you're starting to unnerve me now.

Sounds like you are going to take out a few of them.....
    The Supporters Club can run a book on who's most likely to go! And maybe another on who's most likely to be behind the trigger!

... it'd probably just be a publicity stunt like Dallas did - you know, to raise that 200 Grand we already have in the bank! Think of the follow-up marketing we could have - Lim FC Cludeo, etc, they'ld go great with our jerseys, badges, scarves, hats, ....

I think that placing both enclosures opposite each other would be the best. Both can get a good view of the games from the half-way lines.
    "Anyone who's Soapy should be flushed and anyone who's a Deserter should be shot."

Originally posted by deise deserter
    I think that placing both enclosures opposite each other would be the best. Both can get a good view of the games from the half-way lines.
    And we can make rude gestures across the divide!

[SIZE=1]That's a joke by the way and shouldn't be taken seriously![/SIZE]

Being realistic again though I think it's only fair that the family enclosure is moved as it's members of that group who want to see some action here. The more vocal grouping haven't pushed for this change and as a result I think it's only fair to move those who have a problem with the current arrangement and no those who would have been happy to leave things as they are.

Sounds good to me boys!!. We can raise it at the meeting the next night and get it up and running. I like where we stand at the moment and our big Man prob wont leave his traditional position. It would not be the same if we wernt able to hear the comments !!

Originally posted by sadloserkid
    And we can make rude gestures across the divide!

[SIZE=1]That's a joke by the way and shouldn't be taken seriously![/SIZE]

Being realistic again though I think it's only fair that the family enclosure is moved as it's members of that group who want to see some action here. The more vocal grouping haven't pushed for this change and as a result I think it's only fair to move those who have a problem with the current arrangement and no those who would have been happy to leave things as they are.
    BAM!! You have it SLK!!!

I'm all for them moving for a couple of reasons:

1. As you said - they want to be separated (wondering why they haven't thought to move to another side already themselves...)

2. As infantile as it sounds - the die-hards were there first.

Enclosures aside, I think it is ridiculously childish for people to say that constructive criticism of players and the club shouldn't be allowed. In other businesses this is called customer feedback. It is used to improve the product, satisfy existing customers and to lure new ones on board. Millions of euros is spent on this in Ireland alone!

The big thing at the last Supporters' Club meeting was PR. The image of the club in the eyes of the community was seen as lacking. There are numerous reasons, surely criticism will help the club improve themselves and place them in a better situation both in the eyes of the public and financially. People should be looking for this to happen, not trying to stop it.

Paul Finucane's mother said it best at the last meeting:
    "My Paul says that once they pay their money at the gate, they can say whatever they want."

All I can say to this is well done Paul - you're a professional. Here's to more like you.

Fair Play to Paul. He has the right attitude. I have never heard of supporters not being allowed to criticise their team, albeit in a constructive fashion. Would Mick mcCarthy have left if we had a "love in" at the Switzerland Game..Doh! I dont think so. There is obviously a fine line between criticising because you care and abuse. This is the line beyond which we cannot go.

Peace, Love and Understanding are all very well but sometimes you have gotta kick ass !! ..(Sorry mr.Csotello for quoting out of context)

Yeah but the impression I got is that there were complaints of criticism of Limerick players by Limerick fans. That's minimal and certainly nothing to do with me! I don't agree with it but again take the attitude that once people pay at the get they can say anything that isn't racist.

I do take offence however at people whose minds seem to work as follows:

1. The internet is responsible for all society's evils. This includes the booing of Limerick players by their own fans. For proof of this watch Cornation St which clearly showed how the internet is evil, evil, evil

2. slk has a ponytail. In fact, he looks like he's familiar with the internet. Questionable facial hair too...

ergo =>

3. The internet causes Limerick fans to abuse Limerick players. slk appears to be the most computer-nerdish of Limerick fans so clearly he is behind any instances of Limerick fans criticising their own players.

These people...

Opposition fans and refs? I'm guilty as hell of getting at them but I do nothing but support our players when they're on the pitch and there's nobody around who can say otherwise.

[COLOR=red]I guarantee you no other EL club has a committee like this.In fact, a junior club wouldn't last too long with one either.[/COLOR]

Ours is worse!
    "tight? he's the kinda guy that eats baked beans on tuesday so's he can have a bubble bath on wednesday"!

To be fair, only one individual has blackened the name of Limerick supporters both at the ground and on the net, and he's not allowed in to home games any more. Rightly so in my opinion. The way that man spoke about Noel O'Connor in particular was disgusting to say the least, and from what I hear, he's lucky O'Connor didn't have him arrested over some of the comments he made, both online and at games.Quality PR begins with self portrayal and I feel that the die-hard element of support this club has is a credit to all involved. I think a seat on the committee is the only way forward from here.

I gather the issue of family and hardcore sections, bad language and all that came up since the meeting after the Galway game and I'm glad it did. I must be getting old and sensitive but I have to say that some of the language out of the hardcore Limerick fans has been a tad rough. I know it's game and things get heated, I understand that, but to call some of the stuff said 'constructive criticism' is far-fetched on Deise's part.
    Don't get me wrong, the offensive outbursts are the exception rather than the norm and generally, it's all quite funny and part of the game, but I think it might be prudent not to appear to be patronising those who find extreme bad language offensive.
    Suggesting that the family types go to the opposite side of the pitch is a fine idea and it'd be worth while ensuring that people are aware of this and are not put off after a few visits to the hardcore side.

Anyway lads, keep up the good work - ye're a credit to the eL.

I just want to clarify that the Waterford utd avatar has nothing to do with me! I must have chose it by mistake when registering. How can I change it or get rid of it?