I don't accept that the European Parliment is powerless. In fact for the individual member they probably have a better chance of making a real difference than they would do in the Dail.
People knew that if they voted FF, they wanted and got Ahern as Taoiseach. If they voted FG, they would have got a different Taoiseach. FF got the votes from the electorate, so Ahern retained his position.
In America, Obama was voted into office by the public. Blair is being selected by a handful of people in comparison, and may not even need a vote, let alone a public one, in order to rule Europe. There's a lot wrong with that, imo.
I don't accept that the European Parliment is powerless. In fact for the individual member they probably have a better chance of making a real difference than they would do in the Dail.
The Parliament debate, vote, and accept the proposals put forward by the "bureaucrats" i.e. the Commission. There is no government, no opposition, and no power. It's a 5 year holiday for rejected politicians. Many of them get so bored by it, that as soon as a national election comes up, they go for that, or else drift off into the sunset after their term is up.
The public face of the EU, are Barroso, Solana, the President of the Parliament (kind of the EU's Donie Cassidy) the Commissioners, and the sitting President of the current Presidency. A very very small and exclusive brand of people.
Ah well, at least we're not paying for... ah...
Patricia Mc Kenna has her say:
http://www.mayonews.ie/index.php?opt...7049&Itemid=40
The second referendum is on 2nd of October.Look at this report for amazing bias from RTE.They dont even try to hide it anymore.
http://www.rte.ie/aertel/104-01.html
So the gun's trigger has been fired. Expect a load of "economic terrorism" from the power-freaks for the next 3 months.
When speaking to people on the subject over the last while, the response has been very encouraging regarding the No vote. Most are as resolutely opposed to it, as they were before, and asking "why do we have to vote again?" There's been little reassurance required.
Sadly, that feedback hasn't been reflected in the misleading public polls conducted.Hopefully, it will in October.
Exactly why have the polls been misleading?
As for 3 months of economic terrorism, it's no different to the 3 months of pathetic lies, scaremongering and jingoistic claptrap Coir and Libertas subject us to last time, which you didn't object too much too.
Means to an end as long as it's the right end?![]()
Expect a whole load of nonsense regarding the government having no respect for the voting public or democracy in the coming months I guess
I'm still voting Yes by the way as it's still the right move for Ireland
It can't be nonsense when it's the truth.Originally Posted by jebus
We've already voted on it. That's it. Or should be.Originally Posted by jebus
B) Have you never seen Ripley's Believe It Or Not?![]()
How many abortion referendums have we had within 18 months of each other?Originally Posted by jebus
How many of those referendums were on the exact same question?
How many of those referendums affect abortion in other countries?
Comparing domestic abortion (and divorce) referendums with EU Treaty referendums is nonsense.
In a democratic vote, be it election/referendum/strike notice/leadership vote, whatever, you get one go at the ballot box. In a democracy, you accept the result, whether you like it or not. There is no replay.
Unless it's our government obviously.
Last edited by mypost; 08/07/2009 at 6:53 PM.
Lads, we've been down the rerunning road before, some of us think rerunning it again so quickly idiotic, some of ye think it's idiotic not to; we're not going to agree so drop it and move on. If it comes up again, I'm tossing the person responsible out of CA for a week.
Cowen didn't even wait for the formal debate of the bill in the Dail, before announcing the date of the referendum.Originally Posted by eamo1
It's taking place now, and it's a bit of a farce tbh, with 155-odd TD's agreeing with each other, and most repeating the non-existent "guarantees" we're supposed to have got. It will be the same debate tomorrow in the Seanad.
Last edited by mypost; 08/07/2009 at 8:32 PM.
Im all for getting this vote passed even if it takes 10 re runs, anything that takes power no matter how tiny an amount away from "our" goverment is a good thing!!