Thread: Next Season

Next Season

What do we need to do to improve our chances of pushing for a promotion place next season, does anybody think that dermot lennon will be the man to lead us to the promised land once again

assume paul mcgee will be a serious contender for the athlone town job...

30 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by seanog2001 View Post
    What do we need to do to improve our chances of pushing for a promotion place next season, does anybody think that dermot lennon will be the man to lead us to the promised land once again
    Dermie is the cheapest option so expect him in the hotseat unless he turns
    it down.

And no, to be honest I cant see us making it to the Premier in my lifetime!
    Too many clueless committee members who have enough money to stay on
    the committee.

Although it could be worse .... we could have Aaron O'Callaghan!!!!

any sign of some good preseason friendlies been lined up or the new site going online

44 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ash View Post
    Yea, he'd probably expect you to pay him..

84 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by seanog2001 View Post
    any sign of some good preseason friendlies been lined up or the new site going online

No friendlies announced as of yet and the website will be up and running but it will be close to the start of the season. I am trying to get a few more other than myself involved on the content side of things

Follow Us on Facebook and Twitter

Quote Originally Posted by Battery Rover View Post
    No friendlies announced as of yet and the website will be up and running but it will be close to the start of the season. I am trying to get a few more other than myself involved on the content side of things

what kind of help would u be after might be able to lend a hand if needed

Question

Dermie is the cheapest option so expect him in the hotseat unless he turns
    it down.

And no, to be honest I cant see us making it to the Premier in my lifetime!
    Too many clueless committee members who have enough money to stay on
    the committee.

is this the same dermot lennon that would have played with us ten years ago under mickey o connor?

Who's left in Athlone squad wise??

I'm just trying to guage who'll be worse than us next year

84 Posts
    Who's left in Athlone squad wise??

I'm just trying to guage who'll be worse than us next year
    Well no one as signed for any other club yet but all players were free agents come the end of last season. So if you look at it that way we have no players or a manager yet

Follow Us on Facebook and Twitter

Quote Originally Posted by Battery Rover View Post
    Well no one as signed for any other club yet but all players were free agents come the end of last season. So if you look at it that way we have no players or a manager yet
    Ha.

We've a manager and 6 U-21s

30 Posts
    is this the same dermot lennon that would have played with us ten years ago under mickey o connor?
    Same lad.
    Managed Monksland Utd in Roscommon & District League
    before joining out management team.

30 Posts
    Dermie Lennon confirmed as manager for the 2008 season.

whats your opinion of dermot lennon (ash)???

Any players signed??

30 Posts
    whats your opinion of dermot lennon (ash)???
    Dermie is a nice lad and didnt seem to be any bullsh!t with him any time I spoke to him.

Would have him in a management team but would have preferred if he was assistant to someone else.

Playeres had little or no respect for him last year or so I've been told!

Mr Lennon is a grand lad and I don't know any grand lads who have done well in serious football management. My hopes for the coming EL Div one and ATFC are not even in the same area of my cortex. ATFC and their comit eee have not achieved in the last 15 years and I don't expect things to change to be honest. As the playing budget has been cut to a reported 50% of last years, are ticket prices going to be cut pro rata? I doubt it. Will the "standard" of footbal be improved upon this time round? The future is bright........... Jim Royle would say My Arse!!

115 Posts
    Playeres had little or no respect for him last year or so I've been told!
    If he goes around calling himself Dermie I can see why!

How is the money situation this season Ash? I read last year that ye were expected to have a bit of cash left for another push again this year, but has that gone by the wayside then? Have ye many lads left on €1000 a week?
    Last edited by stann; 09/01/2008 at 12:44 PM.
    more bass

30 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by stann View Post
    If he goes around calling himself Dermie I can see why!

How is the money situation this season Ash? I read last year that ye were expected to have a bit of cash left for another push again this year, but has that gone by the wayside then? Have ye many lads left on €1000 a week?
    We had 6 players on €1000 a week last year ... where as this season,
    lets just say that single amount will pay almost 6 players

123 Posts
    We had 6 players on €1000 a week last year
    jaysus, who?