Thread: Is Ger Finnan gone?

Quote Originally Posted by barryk View Post
    why?
    In Fairness this bit here:

Interim CEO Ger Finnin and the Limerick 37 board of directors have been offered an opportunity by
    the Limerick Leader to make a statement regarding the current financial situation, but have not taken the opportunity to do so.
    While we appreciate that the parties involved do not want to jeopardize the future of the club by discussing financial matters in a public forum we hope that some measure is taken in the near future to set the record straight.
    Once more the city is awash with rumours concerning the club in general and concerning interim CEO Ger Finnin in particular - one would hope that these rumours can be quashed as soon as possible by representatives of the club.
    Is craven and journalism at its very worst

The chap who wrote that was on Newstalk earlier,
    The thought of that goon talking about Limerick senior football on Newstalk

Well nobody from Limerick 37 would go public yet they are all "spillin the beans" off the record
    I think its a case of shooting the messenger here. The Star ran a piece yesterday, Newstalk last night while all the other tabloids are sniffing. If Brian McDonald (I think thats his name) ignored the situation he would also be citicised.

Any good come from meeting with FAI?

25 Posts
    I think its a case of shooting the messenger here. The Star ran a piece yesterday, Newstalk last night while all the other tabloids are sniffing. If Brian McDonald (I think thats his name) ignored the situation he would also be citicised.

Well said.

Journalism at its worst? Nope LTiD, I'd wager a taoiseachs payrise that there's worse out there than this. Sweeping statements like that usually only get peoples backs up.
    Ha?

Quote Originally Posted by Treaty Gooner View Post
    Journalism at its worst? Nope LTiD, I'd wager a taoiseachs payrise that there's worse out there than this. Sweeping statements like that usually only get peoples backs up.
    Who's backs??

Well nobody from Limerick 37 would go public yet they are all "spillin the beans" off the record
    Off The Record

Not that it's not a stupid thing to be doing........

There are more important things for the club to be organising then soundbite seesions with hacks who only ever give major publicity when it's of the bad variety.

For the paper to use this in the manner they did is crap IMO

Quote Originally Posted by Voice of Reason View Post
    And the Leader never printed the photo they took of me at the Republic of Loose gig!
    Lucky escape there I'd say

25 Posts
    Who's backs??

Off The Record

Not that it's not a stupid thing to be doing........

There are more important things for the club to be organising then soundbite seesions with hacks who only ever give major publicity when it's of the bad variety.

For the paper to use this in the manner they did is crap IMO
    Their coverage of the club this year has been fine from what I've seen. The games, home and away have all been covered, online too which is invaluable to me above in Dublin town.

They may not have had the player interviews etc that they might have had, but didn't the club 'appoint' a PR crowd to promote that side of things? Not exactly the Leader's fault if that was the case.
    Ha?

Their coverage of the club this year has been fine from what I've seen. The games, home and away have all been covered, online too which is invaluable to me above in Dublin town.
    The coverage has been better this year and I'll have been the first to say it.

It's gotten better though - It's still not good.

They may not have had the player interviews etc that they might have had, but didn't the club 'appoint' a PR crowd to promote that side of things? Not exactly the Leader's fault if that was the case.
    To promote player interviews??

Don't think so

Couldn't agree more...the 'Journalists' in our midst are dire at the best of times and the Leader is responsible for an awful lot of the bad press - pardon the pun - that this city has gotten nationally in the last two decades. I'm sure if they had it their way we'd be The Stab-City Ballas...

...on second thoughts I copyright that.
    We tend to believe that words enable thought. But words can also substitute for thought.

- Richard A. Posner

another season.. more negative press about senior soccer in limerick!!

its no wonder people in this town dont get behind the soccer teams as much as other sports, theres nothin ever positive happenin on or off the pitch!!!last year granted was imo a big success, but the supporters on this site were still not happy, and i no for a fact players were owed money last year too... it just all seems a bit irish to me!

37 Posts

Cool

dont think the leader could have done any more or less at the moment.our...former ceo was quite clearly in fantasy land this season,the club is on its knees and debts owed are huge,probably in the region of 75 to 100 k.its hard to know what the rest of the supposed junta were doing while all this was going on,i thought we had a ...finiancial controller etc.....lets get DREW back i say....

Quote Originally Posted by Fairkop View Post
    dont think the leader could have done any more or less at the moment.our...former ceo was quite clearly in fantasy land this season,the club is on its knees and debts owed are huge,probably in the region of 75 to 100 k.its hard to know what the rest of the supposed junta were doing while all this was going on,i thought we had a ...finiancial controller etc.....lets get DREW back i say....

Limerick soccer will always need a DD €€€€ IMO as for that unionist rag, facts please not speculation, who the **** is the editor John O'Shaughnessy? "i heard a man whos son was at a manchester united game who overheard etc etc" I love the part where they sum up by saying that there are rumours and that there writing a story or finishing it based on rumours. ive heard about debts but dont think there that big fairkop

25 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gael353 View Post
    Limerick soccer will always need a DD €€€€ IMO as for that unionist rag, facts please not speculation, who the **** is the editor John O'Shaughnessy? "i heard a man whos son was at a manchester united game who overheard etc etc" I love the part where they sum up by saying that there are rumours and that there writing a story or finishing it based on rumours. ive heard about debts but dont think there that big fairkop

so if not that big, then what kind of trouble are we in gael? seeing as you seem to be the one with the inside information?
    Ha?

how has an exagerrated 50k gone to 75-100k?

why ask for Drew back when the FAI would rather appoint the IFA to monitor them than allow him take charge of an EL club again?

**** stirring?

so if not that big, then what kind of trouble are we in gael? seeing as you seem to be the one with the inside information?

ha, nice one, tell you what pm me and ill tell you everything now the leader on the other hand have someone it would appear on the inside as you say but their information/speculation/second guessing from the bottom of a pint glass in the white house is waffle. That is why some posters on here who know far far more then me can rubbish all that unionist rag has had to offer...very little as it would be.

Hi Gael,
    I know you dislike the leader but can you tell me what they printed that you think was incorrect.
    Will you admit you were wrong when the truth is out?
    As for your Unionist jibe- get over it - remember the Good Friday agreement.
    ps John O'Shaughnessy is gone from Leader and now does work for the Limerick Post

Hi Gael,
    I know you dislike the leader
    not true i have many good things to say about the leader and have friends working in there

but can you tell me what they printed that you think was incorrect.
    ill politely dicline your offer there Barry as some people on here think what i have is gospel ill let far more intelligent beings on here do that for you.

Will you admit you were wrong when the truth is out?
    i will indeed admit i was wrong should i be if and when the full facts come out but as to your so far "facts"= speculation/waffle/crap its like print 20 or so sentences one maybe correct and then say you/the leader was right? dont think so

As for your Unionist jibe- get over it - remember the Good Friday agreement.
    ps John O'Shaughnessy is gone from Leader and now does work for the Limerick Post
    im well aware of both those actual facts but i chose to bide my time on the first and as for O'Shaughnessy, lets just say the leaders "journalism" is very O'Shaughnessyish!

25 Posts
    Well lads, gotta say it's not easy to live in hope with most of ye around...
    Ha?

37 Posts

Cool

howya gael,i am now revising that figure to well over 100k given what i know today.as for rumour spilling think you will find from previous history my comments are never far off the mark,must say in this case with a lot of sadness at the mess that has been made of L37.HOPEFULLY the knight in shining armour ...ka the fai...will save the day.

Well lads, gotta say it's not easy to live in hope with most of ye around...

Welcome to reality!!
    For all the latest League of Ireland news visit www.extratime.ie

Quote Originally Posted by Fairkop View Post
    howya gael,i am now revising that figure to well over 100k given what i know today.as for rumour spilling think you will find from previous history my comments are never far off the mark,must say in this case with a lot of sadness at the mess that has been made of L37.HOPEFULLY the knight in shining armour ...ka the fai...will save the day.
    thats fair comment FK as you obviously know more about this then i do. But what i do know is, there are some good people comming to the fore again in the club and they will have the club in the 1st division this comming season. The usual suspects as it were.

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast