Page 7 of 8 FirstFirst ... 5678 LastLast

Thread: Sam Allardyce

Givens has denied being in contact with the former Newcastle boss, but revealed that he took a phonecall where he was given the phone number of Allardyce's agent and told the manager may be interested in the Republic of Ireland job.
    Well someone's doing a bit of nudging; wonder who that could be.
    I also wonder how much of this selection process involves the three kingmakers being "pointed in the right direction"

112 Posts
    Allardyce for Ireland? Wonder what Shay Given would say about that.
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

shay openly backed him, i would think it would be a great appointment personally.
    COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007

http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979

Quote Originally Posted by Paddy Garcia View Post
    You must be ecstatic at the prospect of him getting the job then!
    Yeh I'd love to see Reid, Ireland, McGeady, Keane, Duff, Garvan, etc. play to their strengths...

I seem to be repeating myself constantly in this thread. Do keep up.
    Last edited by eirebhoy; 10/01/2008 at 9:22 PM.

Fair play Eirebhoy I totally agree with you. An intelligent analysis of why he would not be suited to us. We do not have the players to play his game. Simple as that.
    In Trap we trust

could we not drop our skillful lads and play a few kerry footballers instead. im sure they'd fit well in a fat sam system

214 Posts
    Gary Doherty would be getting a call up under Sam's 'system'. Bye bye Robbie and anyone else with talent.
    "If God had meant football to be played in the air, he'd have put grass in the sky." Brian Clough.

You'll NEVER beat the Irish.......you'll just draw with us instead!!!

161 Posts
    "Big Sam" signed some very skilful players while manager of Bolton. Players such as Anelka, Okocha, Campo, Diouf. His record at Bolton was remarkable getting them into Europe twice. If Alladyce was to be appointed manager (which I doubt very much) the first person out the door would be Givens. And Givens would know that. Plus Giles' comments on Newstalk yesterday coming from someone who is involved in the process (and also possibly a candidate) were out of order. Stating that Alladyce is arrogant because he had the gall to question his mate Eddie Gray's right to manager Leeds with no stage1/2coaching badges. People should remember that Giles did not want Charlton as manager ("surely there is an Irishman out there who could do the job"). Nor did he like McCarthy.

As a long suffering Watford fan, getting Sam Allardyce would mean me having the "Bus Man's Holiday " experience when following my national team....
    Tact is for people who are not witty enough to be sarcastic

130 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by shakermaker1982 View Post
    Gary Doherty would be getting a call up under Sam's 'system'. Bye bye Robbie and anyone else with talent.
    Possibly the most stupid remark ever posted on this messageboard.

634 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by eekers View Post
    could we not drop our skillful lads and play a few kerry footballers instead. im sure they'd fit well in a fat sam system
    Oi! There's plenty o skill in the Kingdom! I'd fancy the gooch in the hole role.
    Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!

214 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Drumcondra 69er View Post
    Possibly the most stupid remark ever posted on this messageboard.
    Meowwwww

WE DON'T HAVE THE F**KIN PLAYERS TO PLAY THE KIND OF FOOTBALL SAM EXCELS AT. CAN YOU LOT UNDERSTAND THAT?

Robbie Keane is not a target man - his talent would be wasted if we expected him to bring the ball down and wait for the rest of the team to catch up. We don't have midfielders who are over 6 foot, can win headers and chase lost causes all day long. If our players moaned about watching tapes all day under Kerr's reign wait till they get hours of in depth discussion on how to 'stop' the opposition playing.
    "If God had meant football to be played in the air, he'd have put grass in the sky." Brian Clough.

I'd fancy the gooch in the hole
    I bet ye would....

I remember 3( maybe 2 ) seasons or so ago with okocha, campo, hierro and a few others that bolton scored some wonderful goals, and had a good attacking system in place. Allardyce used to pull out talented players from the most obscure places. I think he did a great job there, and to be honest with the money they had he was limited to that style ( mentioned by EB ) of play at times, to say that he stifled creativity shows how ignorant some on here are, there is no way you could be in the top 5 2 years without playing with some creativity. Sometimes I wonder about the people on here.

I think Big Sam hasn't had the chance to prove he can manage both styles of play.

114 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Noelys Guitar View Post
    "Big Sam" signed some very skilful players while manager of Bolton. Players such as Anelka, Okocha, Campo, Diouf. His record at Bolton was remarkable getting them into Europe twice. If Alladyce was to be appointed manager (which I doubt very much) the first person out the door would be Givens. And Givens would know that. Plus Giles' comments on Newstalk yesterday coming from someone who is involved in the process (and also possibly a candidate) were out of order. Stating that Alladyce is arrogant because he had the gall to question his mate Eddie Gray's right to manager Leeds with no stage1/2coaching badges. People should remember that Giles did not want Charlton as manager ("surely there is an Irishman out there who could do the job"). Nor did he like McCarthy.
    I think this is an objective view. There is a tendancy for teams who don't get their own way to complain about the style of play of upstarts.

When Barton, Phelan, Leonhardsen, Perry, Cunningham, Curle and others played for Wimbledon they used to hoof the ball around, yet when they moved to another club they became cultured foorballers. Funny old world. seems some people are the same about Bolton.

Sam certainly bought skilful players, and played to the strengths of his team.

As for his judgement, I'm not sure anyone in their right mind would take a job at Newcastle working for Freddie Sheppard.

130 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by shakermaker1982 View Post
    Meowwwww

WE DON'T HAVE THE F**KIN PLAYERS TO PLAY THE KIND OF FOOTBALL SAM EXCELS AT. CAN YOU LOT UNDERSTAND THAT?

Robbie Keane is not a target man - his talent would be wasted if we expected him to bring the ball down and wait for the rest of the team to catch up. We don't have midfielders who are over 6 foot, can win headers and chase lost causes all day long. If our players moaned about watching tapes all day under Kerr's reign wait till they get hours of in depth discussion on how to 'stop' the opposition playing.

Gary Speed is 5 FT 9, Jay Jay Okocha is 5 10, Stelios is 5 9, Diouf is under 6 foot, they all played and played well in Boltons midfield for a start.

No offence mate but you're talking boll0x. You're suggesting he'd wave bye bye to Robbie Keane and stick in Gary Doherty?? I'm sorry, even tounge in cheek that's a stupid post. Why was he playing Michael Owen every chance he had a Newcastle? Outside of anything else Keane is far more effective when playing with a target man in any case.

Fu(k the players if they moan, half the problem with Kerr was that he didn't have their fear or respect, I doubt that'd be the case with Allardyce.

I don't think Allardyce's style would suit international football. How would foreign referees take the overtly physical style that he espoused at Bolton.

2,796 Posts
    Exactly. It's one thing being able to bully Arsenal out of a game like they used to and kicking lumps out of United like they did under Megson recently, but they'd only have 5 players left on the pitch if international refereeing standards were applied.

By all means make Dublin a place that opponents fear going to again, but we won't be able to do it by telling Stephen Ireland to physically intimidate his opponent.

I think it's more about instilling a winning mentality and pride in the shirt. IMO opinion sam is better qualified than any other prospect in this department

214 Posts
    Gary Speed is 5 FT 9, Jay Jay Okocha is 5 10, Stelios is 5 9, Diouf is under 6 foot, they all played and played well in Boltons midfield for a start.
    Nolan, Campo, Hierro (all centre mids) were all over 6 ft and were the engine room of his teams. Our midgets would struggle under Big Sam. If we had big strong men like we did in the past then Big Sam would be perfect but we don't and he isn't allow to buy in players. It doesn't matter now anyway because Big Sam is not interested according to the Irish Times.

2,796 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Block G Raptor View Post
    I think it's more about instilling a winning mentality and pride in the shirt.
    If he could do that using a style that suits the personnel we have then by all means bring it on. One aspect of this debate is whether he is flexible enough to do this. I'm not really sure one way or the other. I don't think Bolton were always overly physical & if we can maximise our threat from set pieces that'd be a massive start.

I'd hope that any prospective manager could bring in the winning mentality - if he's not one of life's "winners" or "leaders" he shouldn't be considered.

Page 7 of 8 FirstFirst ... 5678 LastLast