Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Thread: RTE Comedy: Roaring Twenties etc...

Thumbs down

Quote Originally Posted by Bondvillain View Post
    The comedy accents? Jesus christ. The accents. No, no, a thousand times no. Irish people doing silly voices is not funny on it's own. The silly voices have to have funny lines to say before anyone will laugh.
    Pet hate of mine. Like impersonations for the sake of it. The line has toi eb funny on its own!!!

The only thing I can think of with "Working Girls" is was planned for RTE 1 (Killinascully tie in) but because language a bit dodgy had to dump late night (not late enough) on RTE 2.

Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student View Post
    For what little it's worth, the guy doing the voiceover is not who they wanted at all, he was just something they scrambled together when plan A fell through. I know at least one person involved wasn't happy with it.

Thankfully my mate forgot to remind me it was on and I didn't have to watch it.
    How are the people involved taking the very public humilation of this show? I felt bad for everyone involved yesterday whilst listening to the Ray (Kelly? the guy on after Ray Darcy on Today FM) Whatever show.

Quote Originally Posted by jebus View Post
    How are the people involved taking the very public humilation of this show? I felt bad for everyone involved yesterday whilst listening to the Ray (Kelly? the guy on after Ray Darcy on Today FM) Whatever show.
    Ray Foley.

I presume there pretty gutted, I imagine to write a show takes an awfull lot of time and energy and a certain amount of risk. With most shows you will get some people that love it some that hate it especially on the internet ( for example there was some one on here that said Larry Davids curb was rubbish ) but this seems to have bombed i have nt heard one kind remark about it on any station / website etc.

I kind of feel sorry for them i must watch a full episode to see just how bad it is but i have a feeling there was a lot of imput into it that they either didnt agree with or had no choice in. Stinks of TV executives "fixing" the show.

71 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by anto1208 View Post

I kind of feel sorry for them i must watch a full episode to see just how bad it is but i have a feeling there was a lot of imput into it that they either didnt agree with or had no choice in. Stinks of TV executives "fixing" the show.
    I know there was a joke cut out of the first episode, possibly the opening scene (can't remember) that put the whole zooming into earth and voiceover narrative thing a bit better into context. I don't know how the creators are taking it, I know one of them but not so well anymore but another mate of mine who worked on production knew it was pretty bad when he watched it on TV and accepted my many many criticisms. He mentioned the voiceover thing not working at all without me having to say so. I'm hoping the lads see it as a chance to cut their teeth and take the criticism on board. I feel the whole thing looks like it's in a draft phase before any sort of critical assessment and might not have been so crap had that happened.

It will get renewed for a few more episodes if the ratings are any good.

Better for all involved had someone in comissioning took the lads aside and said :

"Look, we cant broadcast this. It's bloody awful. You've already been paid, so we'll chalk this up to experience, there is some evidence of talent there , so maybe we'll work on another script for yez, ok?"

Television network vaults around the world are full to the brim with pilots that never got aired, many made by talented people. Thats what should have happened here. If it had, I wouldn't have had to watch this muck, and the creators of the show wouldn't have 99% of the country calling them talentless eejits, simply because no-one at Rté had the balls to say "Sorry lads, Not good enough, no airtime for you with this. Try again with something else..".
    On the way into the stadium, an elderly San Marino Steward waved us in and said "Tonight, may the best team win"

And they nearly did.

How many episodes was the Roaring Twenties scheduled for?

Everytime I switched on RTE there seemed to be an advert for prior to episode 1.

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by pete View Post
    How many episodes was the Roaring Twenties scheduled for?
    Just the two... glad I forgot to watch it.

I've just noticed the Today FM comment...

Jaysus, if it's gotten to the stage where Ray Foley feels he's entitled to take the p1ss out of you because you aren't funny, then you know your comedy career is over...

The Simpson's equivalent would be Millhouse calling you a nerd.
    On the way into the stadium, an elderly San Marino Steward waved us in and said "Tonight, may the best team win"

And they nearly did.

20 Posts
    A two episode commission is very short for a half hour show. Most comedies, irrespective of how bad they are anticipated to be, get a six episode run. If the show is doing badly they might double up over the last two weeks to end it sooner but will still result in the full six being shown.

RTE might have been wary though as they knew comparisons would be drawn with The Big Bow Wow which got an inexplicable 13 episode commission, a full season for a drama by Irish/UK standards, before any viewer/reviewers had seen it.
    Check out my new sports blog http://www.action81.com

20 Posts
    the big wow wow..jaysus....
    I remember Eoghan Harris bigging it up as being quality cause he runs some writing course and yer man who wrote it was on his course.....northern soul club???....what da ****??????? I think I need some "poneeey" to rid my mind of the memories of it....

812 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Bondvillain View Post
    Better for all involved had someone in comissioning took the lads aside and said :

"Look, we cant broadcast this. It's bloody awful. You've already been paid, so we'll chalk this up to experience, there is some evidence of talent there , so maybe we'll work on another script for yez, ok?"

Television network vaults around the world are full to the brim with pilots that never got aired, many made by talented people. Thats what should have happened here. If it had, I wouldn't have had to watch this muck, and the creators of the show wouldn't have 99% of the country calling them talentless eejits, simply because no-one at Rté had the balls to say "Sorry lads, Not good enough, no airtime for you with this. Try again with something else..".
    RTE saw the first half an episode and greenlighted the rest. Clearly they misjudged it.
    You can't spell failure without FAI

Oh dear.

Someone should point out to the Rté finance dept that Red biro on the submission sheet saying "Better than the English Class" was not a ringing endorsement, but rather the only "nice" thing the person assessing it could have said about such a disaster.

And they nearly did.

The Big Bow Wow...

I remember that. Christ that was awful.
    I think I should the parachute, because I'm great.

In fact, I think I should get both parachutes, in case one doesn't work.

Quote Originally Posted by Aberdonian Stu View Post
    A two episode commission is very short for a half hour show. Most comedies, irrespective of how bad they are anticipated to be, get a six episode run. If the show is doing badly they might double up over the last two weeks to end it sooner but will still result in the full six being shown.
    6 episodes would seem to be standard 1st series run. Very difficult to establish a series in 2 episodes which probably reflects RTEs confidence in it. Maybe something else did not pan out & they needed a filler.

20 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Billsthoughts View Post
    the big wow wow..jaysus....
    I remember Eoghan Harris bigging it up as being quality cause he runs some writing course and yer man who wrote it was on his course.
    Harris was one of The Big Bow Wow's creators http://imdb.com/title/tt0401913/
    Check out my new sports blog http://www.action81.com

Quote Originally Posted by Aberdonian Stu View Post
    Harris was one of The Big Bow Wow's creators http://imdb.com/title/tt0401913/
    Roaring twenties already has a profile

Quote Originally Posted by pete View Post
    Roaring twenties already has a profile
    Im very surprised that it hasn't yet reached the five votes necessary to be rated. (You woulda thought the two "10" ratings from the filmakers, along with my "1" would have upped the chances of it being scored by now....)

And they nearly did.

Seen a pic of the writers in the paper lost all feelings of sympathy for them.

Any one with a moustache like that deserves all the ridicule he gets

I caught about one minute of the Katherine Lynch show earlier on. It is tripe. A waste of the money from the taxpayers. Patrick Kavanagh must be spinning in his grave.
    Extratime.ie

Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.

Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.

Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.

I said it before and ill say it again women are not funny

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast