Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: RTE Comedy: Roaring Twenties etc...

Quote Originally Posted by Roadend View Post
    I can't believe that RTE comedy gets such a bad rap, has nobody seen Stew?
    ...or Questions & Answers?

One of these nights I'm expecting John Bowman to stop an audience comment and say "Okay ...Is there ANYONE in the audience who ISN'T planted by a party? Ye stay. Can the rest of **** off out to the green room please?"
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

Quote Originally Posted by anto1208 View Post
    I saw the ad and was instantly turned off it i thought oh great another comedy with waky irish charactors.

Similar to that awfull the IT crowd with the lead guy being a wacky Irish rougue. cringe . and the black guy is one fo my favourite comedians ( from Mighty boosh, Dean learner, Gareth Marenghi) so i was really dissapointed.
    Thought the IT crowd was great - the piracy ad/Chris Morris etc

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    Glad to see this show panned. God RTE must think the whole country loves D4 "wit"
    I was reading about the two "funky" and "hip" writers. They mentioned their hatred of all things RTE and said they loved american sitcoms. That was enough for me to know it was going to be balls. I mean RTE do produce good documentaries and sport, and american TV to me is very simple.
    Anyway......

71 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bennocelt View Post
    Glad to see this show panned. God RTE must think the whole country loves D4 "wit"
    I was reading about the two "funky" and "hip" writers. They mentioned their hatred of all things RTE and said they loved american sitcoms. That was enough for me to know it was going to be balls. I mean RTE do produce good documentaries and sport, and american TV to me is very simple.
    Anyway......
    The show is a steaming pile of horse manure (trust me, this feedback has been returned personally) but I can tell you there's nothing D4 about the two writers.

246 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Roadend View Post
    I can't believe that RTE comedy gets such a bad rap, has nobody seen Stew?
    Anytime I hear that "RTE can't do comedy" quote, I think "You people clearly haven't seen "Fair City".

Seriously though () RTE "Comedy" is dire, with very rare exceptions. Paths to Freedom was good (Movie was muck though) Soupy Norman from last year was inspired stuff. Any good comedy on RTE seems to sneak out while nobodys paying attention.
    Out for a spell, got neglected, lay on the bench unselected.

I have to say though that TRT has been the best traffic attractor to my blog since the picture of Megan Fox.
    TO TELL THE TRUTH IS REVOLUTIONARY

The ONLY foot.ie user with a type of logic named after them!

All of this has happened before. All of it will happen again.

I saw an ad for this the other night. I heard "so and so's bringing back the 80's" and some lad spun round on a chair in an Ireland jersey about 5 sizes too small and a big stupid grin on his face. End of my interest in it.

Stew was terrible. Monty Python thirty years too late.

I caught twenty seconds of the English Class, the over-acting and wackiness was too much.

Upwardly Mobile was so bad it was actually funny.

There was that show with Ed Byrne about his family, can't remember the name, which was plain terrible.

I had assumed Roaring Twenties was something along the lines of the Big Bow Wow, another piece of RTE crap.

I also thought that I Dare Ya show was a bunch of crap.

There's a trend here......

On the subject of Jake Stevens/PJ Gallagher, another show I detest, he gave an interview in the Irish Times' CAO supplement the other day in which he stated he left school in transition year and never went to college. Why would something like that be printed in a CAO supplement which seems to encourage people to think carefuilly about their future? Then they give space to this celebrity who is maybe popular enough to actually influence teens to think "Hey, I might just drop out of secondary school and try my hand at comedy."

End of rant.
    Extratime.ie

Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.

Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.

Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.

60 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BohsPartisan View Post
    I have to say though that TRT has been the best traffic attractor to my blog since the picture of Megan Fox.
    You have a picture of Megan Fox on your blog!!!!!!!

Why the hell didn't you say so before?

Good blog, by the way.
    That question was less stupid, though you asked it in a profoundly stupid way.

Help me, Arthur Murphy, you're my only hope!

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge
    I bow to no one. bar Bluebeard and Mr A

20 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student View Post
    The show is a steaming pile of horse manure (trust me, this feedback has been returned personally) but I can tell you there's nothing D4 about the two writers.
    Perhaps that's the problem then, if they're trying to write about these types whilst not actually having experienced being these types.
    Check out my new sports blog http://www.action81.com

20 Posts
    I watched the second episode of this last nite. voiceover is terrible. the overacting in it as well..jaysus why when people do comedy in this country do they feel like they need to go on like they are in some brutal panto. shocking.

Watched about five mins of, I want my license fee back NOW!!!!

I struggled through the last 5 minutes or so, just to see how bad it would get. It's clear the actors aren't sure what type of show it's meant to be - some of them are jumping up and down screaming and others are trying to act naturalistically. The script is unforgiveably lazy at times and don't even get me started on the voiceover. Ill-conceived may be the kindest description to use.

Anyway, it finished with some guy taking out a Samurai sword and running down the street shouting "Vengeance is mine!" Of course it was immediately followed by the news headlines and the top story was... you've guessed it

Quote Originally Posted by Jerry The Saint View Post
    Anyway, it finished with some guy taking out a Samurai sword and running down the street shouting "Vengeance is mine!" Of course it was immediately followed by the news headlines and the top story was... you've guessed it
    Now if they arranged that i give them 10 out of 10

Office style comedy would suit Ireland better although maybe that was the idea of that English class thing.

Thee was another new one on last night called Katherine Lynchs working girls.
    Oh Lord help us...I somehow sat watching ten minutes of it through my hands which involuntarily kept wanting to cover my face.The crude comments thrown in seemed to exaserbate its bloody awfulness.
    I never crititcize for the sake of it but you can only sit and wonder how this stuff gets through whatever process it does before it gets to air.
    If you would like to be a writer then pick up a pen and go for it.If these two
    "comedy programmes" are anything to go by then you all you will have to do is come up with something that is vaguely amusing.Heres your plot...there is this man who works as a commisioning editor for a national Broadcaster...

Watched 5 minutes of it, hate to say this about two young writers but I'm delighted that their careers are over before they have even started. Jesus it's like they watched Spaced and thought they could remake it with a capital Irish Stereotype.

Worst. Programme. Ever.

and that includes Makin Jake
    Last edited by jebus; 16/01/2008 at 2:37 PM.

20 Posts
    Did nobody watch the pilot for any of these in RTE and think..."these are not funny".
    cant get over the acting in roaring twenties. even if the script was great it would kill any jokes stone dead. unfortunately it aint.
    making jake was just dumb.
    as for the working girls thing......all I will say is "homosexuals working in entertainment industry shocker!"
    not my cup of tea but I suppose if she has an audience she deserves her chance as much as anyone.

Saw 5 minutes of Jake Stephens thing & not funny (i never watched that other show he in).

Working girls thing strangely watchable in a "how bad is this really" research type of thing. Who is Katherine Lynch? If she gets her name on the title am I supposed to know who she is? If it was a 3 minutes youtube sketch might have limited appeal but on National TV

I really do wonder how bad are the shows/concepts that RTE are actually rejecting.

I liked the naked camera thing but have to admit the Makin Jake had me going red watching it. But there are a few moments where i laughed.

I know its just a poor rip off off Borat but then again to hold that against a show is silly every show now is just a copy of another show i cant remember the last time i saw a genuinely original show.

The main problem with Irish shows & all acting in ireland, is Irish actors are generally terrible( bar a hand full ) and over act. I think that was part of the success of say the Office again not an original idea by any stretch yet the under acting made it that bit funnier.

On a side note listening to meave Higgins on Darcy yesterday does any one still think she is funny at the start she seemed like a funny quick witted girl but now every thing is so worked out to be wacky i cant remember the last time she made me laugh. YEt she cracks herself up constantly.

The only possible thing I can think of is that Brendan Kilkenny has been made head of Comedy development at Rté. My first thought was that it was Soky the sock monster from Children's tv show "The Den", but in fairness, Soky knows funny.

I have no idea who Katherine Lynch is, and by the looks of it, no one else except Ma & Da Lynch & the commissioning dept at Rté do either.
    Long may it remain that way. She's about as funny as scraping your face down a pebble dash wall.

"Ha ha ha. I'm doing a traveller accent. Ha ha ha. Knacker jokes - Hiaces. You know? Hiaces! ha ha ha"

Oh feck off. Buffoon.

Makin' Jake is a thorough embarrassment. The film-makers have forgotten that what made the character initially mildly amusing was the fact that as 'Jake' interacted with ordinary people, the TV audience was already in on the joke.

Ergo , shots of "Jake" in character, not interacting with anyone , relieving himself against a hedge with his bare arse exposed, accompanied by a 'humourous' overdubbed voiceover about toilet troubles for the benefit of the viewer are redundant.
    Assuming this type of crap was an attempt to belatedly ride the coat tails of "Borat", the inclusion of scenes like this has instead reduced the programme to the level of 'Mr Bean for Morons' and show that the filmmakers have no idea who their audience are, and what they find funny.

Someone in RTE just figured Gallager was popular, and chucked money at him for fear he'd bring his audience elsewhere. That, on the current evidence, would have been no bad thing.

Which brings me onto the "Roaring Twenties".

Jesus wept.

I've seen some tripe in the course of my employment, but by Christ, this is truly the worst example of a waste of Airwaves that I have EVER come across.

Where does one start?

The redundant 'zany' voiceover that couldn't decide whether to Homage a Dry Hitchhikers style or a surreal Little Britain one, and in either case, should have been dumped at script stage?

The underdeveloped characters that all seemed to be written as various incarnations of Jack Black, with the exception of the female lead who, unlike her inspirations from "Spaced" and "Seinfeld", had absolutely nothing to do?

The obvious directorial & editorial inexperience which lead to every scene looking like a rehearsal for Tubbercurry's entry for the Short Drama category in Tops Of The Towns 1983?

The comedy accents? Jesus christ. The accents. No, no, a thousand times no. Irish people doing silly voices is not funny on it's own. The silly voices have to have funny lines to say before anyone will laugh.

There are sooooo many other reasons to hate it, each more tragic than the last, but it's time to stop, as kicking a cripple is not big or clever (but is, ironically, funnier than "The Roaring twenties")

Of course, the entire blame for this unmitigated disaster shouldn't fall at the door of the film makers. They simply followed their remit : "Here's some money. Make a programme".
    They did, and although it was exceptionally badly written & poorly acted, they lived up to their side of the bargain.

The real blame should lie with whatever eejit saw fit to greenlight this project (Not to mention the other "comedy" programmes above - Oh, and don't think anyone's forgiven you for that vile multi-car pile up that was "The English class" either!) without obviously EVER checking on it's progress. Even the most cursory of glances from authority at any stage would have uncovered the fact that this tripe was nowhere near broadcast quality.

Whoever's responsible for this pee-take should be sacked immediately, and his salary used to compensate licence payers who were traumatised by this foul, manky and downright offensive waste of our money.
    Last edited by Bondvillain; 16/01/2008 at 12:53 PM.
    On the way into the stadium, an elderly San Marino Steward waved us in and said "Tonight, may the best team win"

And they nearly did.

71 Posts
    For what little it's worth, the guy doing the voiceover is not who they wanted at all, he was just something they scrambled together when plan A fell through. I know at least one person involved wasn't happy with it.

Thankfully my mate forgot to remind me it was on and I didn't have to watch it.

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast