Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234

Thread: Bad element in away support

Quote Originally Posted by ruben_sosa View Post
    a lot of this will go away because tens of thousands of these toerags making easy money off the construction industry are now losing their jobs as the slowdown hits.
    Have you never heard of emigration? There's an olympic park to be built here within the next four years. Loadsa work if that's there line.

I think the Georgia and Montenegro games will keep them away. No cheap flights, no cheap hotels, nobody from Man U, Liverpool or Celtic in the opposing sides (probably wrong, but I couldn't give a f*ck about the Premiership or the SPL).
    This is the cooooooooooooolest footy forum I've ever seen!

no lopez the polish guys will do it.

Quote Originally Posted by ruben_sosa View Post
    a lot of this will go away because tens of thousands of these toerags making easy money off the construction industry are now losing their jobs as the slowdown hits.
    Wind up?
    Marge: Homer, the plant called. They said if you don't show up tomorrow don't bother showing up on Monday.
    Homer: Woo-hoo. Four-day weekend
    -
    Trappattoni+Tardelli+Brady=Holy Trinity of Irish Football

82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by lopez View Post
    I think the Georgia and Montenegro games will keep them away. No cheap flights, no cheap hotels, nobody from Man U, Liverpool or Celtic in the opposing sides (probably wrong, but I couldn't give a f*ck about the Premiership or the SPL).
    Agreed. As I think you or Sylvo said the Faroes was a knuckle dragger-free zone as it was an expensive and difficult place to get to and these lads just want somewhere close to go and mess around for the weekend.

To echo whats been said earlier, particularly after Paris and to a lesser extent Stuttgart, as well as having other commitments, I'm picking and choosing my trips a bit more and am more likely to go to the out of the way ones.

Not sure much else can be done about it, it simply reflects the fact that there a lot more coked up mongs on the streets of Ireland these days.

Quote Originally Posted by OneRedArmy View Post
    Not sure much else can be done about it, it simply reflects the fact that there a lot more coked up mongs on the streets of Ireland these days.
    Exactly even my father who travels with me has noticed the amount of muppets who are stoned out of their mind at irish away games and its taking from the enjoyment of the older supporters

Trouble

I travel to quite a few away games and have to agree with the sentiment here. Games have never been so easily within the reach of the fan in terms of affordability etc. young bucks with more cash than sense and a craving for the glamour trip with their mates are definitely lowering the tone of what were normally good natured events. Lads with Celtic jerseys (nothing against Celtic lads but not at an Irish game, sorry!) who have probably never been to Scotland never mind Parkhead, probably with a bag of snow up their nose are damaging our repuation as good supporters.

As a Dublin GAA supporter this kills me to say it but these guys are the same fellas who occupy parts of Hill 16 and boo minute silences and throw beer cans at Gardai. That hurts me to say but I can see trouble creeping steadily into Dublin GAA at a similar rate as to the National soccer team. Very worrying altogether.

the only suggestion I would have is that measures such as the ones used in the UK should be brought in. Individuals with a history of hooliganism/trouble were made to surrender their passports prior to the World Cup as far as I remember.
    Last edited by keenanboy; 27/01/2008 at 12:40 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by keenanboy View Post
    ...the only suggestion I would have is that measures such as the ones used in the UK should be brought in. Individuals with a history of hooliganism/trouble were made to surrender their passports prior to the World Cup as far as I remember.
    Nothing has happened on the scale of what the scum get upto, even in these days when they are supposed to be so reformed. What we have is low level anti-social behaviour where no one gets even to have quiet word in the ear by the local fuzz (continental police this is usually a truncheon round the head) let alone knicked, which is the very least that needs to be done to take away a passport for the period around games.

I do agree that someone with any criminal offence for football violence should have limits on their freedom to travel, but how many arrests are made for football in Ireland? What about those for hooliganism in other countries (especially 2G in Britain)?

229 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by keenanboy View Post
    . Lads with Celtic jerseys (nothing against Celtic lads but not at an Irish game, sorry!) who have probably never been to Scotland never mind Parkhead, probably with a bag of snow up their nose are damaging our repuation as good supporters.
    A topic thats been done to death but imo the bad element that are sneaking in to our away support are equalled by the clowns who think there is some kind of uniform you have to wear to support Ireland.

The reality is, the eejit, with half a ton of marching powder up his nose is equally likely to be wearing an Irish jersey, a GAA jersey, a lovely burberry number or indeed a celtic jersey. Whilst the other lot will be sat in the opposite corner in their leprechaun outfits shakeing their heads. At that point, Ill be, why the **** did I even come in to 'Biddy O'Reilly Begorras Oirish' pub!

What happened to the days when you just travelled by hook or by crook, toothbrush in one pocket and passport in the other and had the craic.........its just no like the good old days anymore.....
    I thought you were off the drink Ronnie?

"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew

Ok

You're right Junior, sorry but didn't mean to come across as sniping the Celtic lads, of course they could be wearing anything.

Quote Originally Posted by Junior View Post
    A topic thats been done to death but imo the bad element that are sneaking in to our away support are equalled by the clowns who think there is some kind of uniform you have to wear to support Ireland.

The reality is, the eejit, with half a ton of marching powder up his nose is equally likely to be wearing an Irish jersey, a GAA jersey, a lovely burberry number or indeed a celtic jersey. Whilst the other lot will be sat in the opposite corner in their leprechaun outfits shakeing their heads. A

What happened to the days when you just travelled by hook or by crook, toothbrush in one pocket and passport in the other and had the craic.........its just no like the good old days anymore.....

Some of the ones in the Leprechaun outfits manage to p1ss me off. Now I have nothing against classic movies like ''Darby O'Gill and the little people'' or ''Leprechaun 1'', or even ''Leprechaun in da hood'' starring a Leprechaun and Ice T, each of those movies were all time classics, but the behaviour of some of these so called little people has managed to p1ss off a fair few people, like the leprechaun in San Marino who just went around trying to get off with any female fan he would see and wouldn't take **** off for an answer. Also the the ones in Japan who while doing their silly little Leprechaun dance managed to knock over anyone around them, Including some young Japanese kids after the Saudi Arabia game.

As for the fashion police, YER SPOT ON, I seem to remember Celtic tops being an item worn at games for many years, not just lately cause a few coked up tiger cubs have turned up on the away scene. I may wear my green away one next week NR with a nice stone Island jacket, finishing off my new look with a nice burburry cap, I urge yer good self to do the same.
    Its crazy to see people be what society wants them to be but not me.

Whatever about lads wearing celtic jerseys, i remember in slovakia a day before the match, there were a group of lads wearing liverpool/united jerseys. That just baffles me, lads wearing English club jerseys on an ireland trip.
    Marge: Homer, the plant called. They said if you don't show up tomorrow don't bother showing up on Monday.
    Homer: Woo-hoo. Four-day weekend
    -
    Trappattoni+Tardelli+Brady=Holy Trinity of Irish Football

Quote Originally Posted by Ireland4ever View Post
    Whatever about lads wearing celtic jerseys, i remember in slovakia a day before the match, there were a group of lads wearing liverpool/united jerseys. That just baffles me, lads wearing English club jerseys on an ireland trip.
    Maybe if they were Plymouth Argyle or Yeovil Town I'd understand.

Agreed!!

Quote Originally Posted by keenaboy
    As a Dublin GAA supporter this kills me to say it but these guys are the same fellas who occupy parts of Hill 16 and boo minute silences and throw beer cans at Gardai. That hurts me to say but I can see trouble creeping steadily into Dublin GAA at a similar rate as to the National soccer team.
    Too true. Me & the bro have given up on the Hill as a result. As one lads put it on the Hill last year; "Hill 16 is haircuts only".

Too right. This one really gets me.
    "I always likened him to a Rolls Royce. You just used him once a week & he'd be flawless"
    Townsend on McGrath

Quote Originally Posted by Colie View Post
    Too true. Me & the bro have given up on the Hill as a result. As one lads put it on the Hill last year; "Hill 16 is haircuts only".
    Aw man you're kidding? I was on the hill for a GAA All Ireland Semi a few years ago and there was a great atmosphere!

Whereas Scottish club jerseys make more sense?
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    Membership Advisory Board
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

well Gavinzac,,the club was founded for the irish emigrant community by an irishman, so there is a slight difference..
    'How can I hate women, my Mums one!!!' Chris Finch

Quote Originally Posted by citizenerased View Post
    well Gavinzac,,the club was founded for the irish emigrant community by an irishman, so there is a slight difference..
    Ah right so, I heard they had some bother with UEFA recently, are they petitioning UEFA to be let into the Irish league so?
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    Membership Advisory Board
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

229 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by GavinZac View Post
    Ah right so, I heard they had some bother with UEFA recently, are they petitioning UEFA to be let into the Irish league so?
    What bother with Uefa? the awards that the support have received form Uefa/Fifa you mean?.....dont turn this in to a pathetic Scottish club/Irish club debate - done to death and not relevant to this discussion.
    I thought you were off the drink Ronnie?

"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew

Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234