'I'm wearing an Ireland shirt, whats that you're wearing?' always goes down well with the CJs.
I do like Celtic and root for them but at an Ireland game - no sir.
'I'm wearing an Ireland shirt, whats that you're wearing?' always goes down well with the CJs.
I do like Celtic and root for them but at an Ireland game - no sir.
Put downs are all good and well, but when you have one of these scumbags up in your face screaming abuse about your accent, getting more agressive, it doesnt tend to work - we found the safest thing was just to go somewhere else. It takes a big man to pick on girlsYou can't reason with these aggresive ignorant little gits.
When we were in The Bounty in Rimini the night befpre the game everyone was having a great time until this group of wasted idiots walked in - You could feel the atmosphere change. Everyone took their cameras and phones off the table for fear of them getting lifted by them. Bad form when your worried about your own fans robbing from you.![]()
yeah i remmeber that one group of knackers in the bounty alright...up to no good
'How can I hate women, my Mums one!!!' Chris Finch
Have only been to few away games myself but I remember when we were in Slovakia we stayed in Hotel Remy and when we came back to the hotel late on the Saturday night there were these group of lads from Dublin and they were the loudest and arrogent people I have ever seen at any sports venue they were screaming, shouting abuse at anyone and everyone
But to be fair 99% of Irish fans are top drawer
and you recovered from that?hope the conselling wasnt too stressful.
Have you never been on a night out in Dublin or any town? This is behaviour is never acceptable, but the away trips are a portion of the population, there is always going to be some types you dont approve of, and when there's a lot of booze taken incidents will occur, thats just the reality. There has always been a couple of scuffles and other little things as far back as there was a bandwagon to jump on.
<insert witty remark>
Im not trying to say any of this is a new thing - Speak to the likes of Sylvo and Lopez who have been doing the trips for years and they will tell you how much abuse they used to get over thier accents. All Im saying is now these "fans" seem to be getting more agressive in their approach. And its not just about accents, its also their whole attitude towards anyone who isnt in their little group or morons.
As for it happening on a night out in Dublin, true enough, but that doenst make it any better. The whole point of the going on the away trips is that its supposed to be like minded people who follow Ireland and it should be fun. We should not have to take abuse from our fellow "supporters".
I was the fan that got the beating that night, although I wouldn't say it was severe (hospitalised, broken bones etc. And I still got to the game) and I think the fact that it was as bad as it was that I wouldn't let the bloke go and I carried on the fight. PC's version was slightly sanitised as his agenda was to carry the message of the 2Gs being harassed over their accent (which was true and had been going on for years). Without going into too many details, I was a. p*ssed (too p*ssed to be of any use in fact) and b. I wasn't putting up with any sh*t about my accent and 'why was I here?'. OK I came off worse, but so what? I'm still going to Ireland games and I've yet to meet the other bloke since. BTW, the scrap was in Cardiff, and it didn't stop me going back.
Sis, this is a minor hazard of following Ireland. The truth is that for every w*nker, there are 100s if not 1000s that would not give you that grief. Had me or Sylvo been there, then this bloke would not have got away with it. If you recognise him again while with us, we will gladly 'have a chat' about accents. I don't think the hassle over the accent has got worse - I think its got better IMO. Faroes was somewhere where not one person commented on it, but then the daytripping eejits weren't there. However, there is a growing number of reports of t*ssers going to games, who couldn't care what accent you had. Ireland has got worse for this in the past 25 years. It's no surprise the supporters have been affected. Or maybe I'm getting old.
This is the cooooooooooooolest footy forum I've ever seen!
There is IMO a myth about the British soldiers at the game. Irish soldiers on UN duty in the area had been lumped in with the British and - rightly or wrongly - had some form of freindship built (which in view of the era was remarkable). I was talking to a soldier from Cork before the game and he said that they had ground rules - no politics - and they would often bring over mates to their mess (for drinks) as it seemed to be a more peacefull night out for the Brits than their own mess.
At the game, the British Army had MP - just in case their own soldiers, who had been invited as guests by the Irish, got out of hand (None of the invited British servicemen were in uniform, for obvious reasons). MP are not soldiers, they are military police. The British Army had no juristdiction in Macedonia, just Kosovo. No British soldier in his right mind would risk a court martial sorting out crowd trouble at a football game, although he's well within his rights to protect himself.
At the end of the game, these MPs were getting abuse from a couple of Irish fans I know (again they are Military police and had armbands saying so). It nearly kicked off with another Irish fan from Belfast who thought that this sort of thing should be left to the Falls road in August. That was the most dissapointing thing about this, as the MP thought this was all very funny.
I tell you what some the dubs don't come out out of this at all well from what I have read on here. Some of my group often hear the odd culchie comment or "I don't think they will serve spuds in there lads" outside a restaurant - heard that one in Stuttgart.
"If God had meant football to be played in the air, he'd have put grass in the sky." Brian Clough.
You'll NEVER beat the Irish.......you'll just draw with us instead!!!
LOL
Well I'm delighted that you are still around and attending games. I remember discussing that article at the time. Some would have been put off for life. Bad enough getting a beating from your opponents!
Moreover I'm glad he did not win & you are still attending Irish games.
PS Hey- it's a small world.
PPS Sounds severe enough to me!
That game with that B**t**d ref, I FEEL THE ANGER STILL. that must have been one desperate trip home after that. Have to say used to enjoy the old boat trips back to Ireland for the home games, party used to start at Euston station in London and carry on to the boat out of Holyhead, into the first early house we would find, and then after the game back to London. Tiblisi I think will be a swerve, but would like to do it.
Its crazy to see people be what society wants them to be but not me.
First trip was Berne, 1985 ft 0 0.Worst violence I have seen in all the trips since.Granted, five Rangers fans bedecked in union jacks and colours taunting the 1,500 Paddies at an ROI V Swiss game was asking for trouble, but the kicking those boys took on the stadium terraces was unreal.Union flags burning on the fencing, blood everywhere.......don't think we're anywhere near that, at the moment.
Well obviously I can't come home from every game with two black eyes, but I think that you sometimes have to live with things.
You missed the drugfest of the Swiss friendly of '92. If you saw the crew I went with you'd never get on a tube train again in your life. I had four cans of the Bob Marley aftershave and with Millwall Andy's party pack I woke up entering Dun Laoghaire. I apparently walked through Holyhead with a spliff. Then one of our crew dropped two Es and decided to go and visit his relatives in Derry after the game. I was in carnage the day after at work.
I know Im sounding like Forest Gump here, but I was in the thick of that event aswell.![]()
Yeah butthead..i go out in dublin the whole time...but people are supposed to be preserving the good name of the irish abroad...personally i dont really mind gettin started, well used to it, just wouldnt like italians seeing irish fans batterin the head off each other in the middle of rimini...that sight doesnt really leave a positive impression, especailly when we try so hard to distinguish ourselves from english fans
'How can I hate women, my Mums one!!!' Chris Finch
I agree with you, keep a good name otherwise we are just lumped in with the English. It should be something the rest of the fans should try to nip in the bud. I told some lads to cop on in the Bar/Restaurant beside the ground in Bratislava for trying to pull their own pints they soon stopped- ok i could have had an argument with them.