Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: I hate summer soccer...

I hate summer soccer...

nearly cracked up over christmas looking at fecking english football on the box,
    would have loving to be able to catch a live game at home over the christmas period,
    Bring Back Winter Football,

anyone know when the players normally get back training and news on up coming friendly's ?

Well doesnt Summer football at least cover the 3 months when there isnt even a game cross channel to watch. What would you prefer, no footy at all for 3 months or no Eircom League games over the Winter when pitches are ****e anyway?

would have liked a game on stephens day alright but is brilliant to be able to watch footie when the sun is shining, and evenings are warm and beer is cool
    oh happy days, what date is it , please someone tell me it is march, cant wait for kick off
    We control by attitudes positive mental attitudes not by rules.

International Prospect passinginterest's Avatar
    435 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by The Man Himself View Post
    anyone know when the players normally get back training and news on up coming friendly's ?
    The Shamrock Rovers lads were back in the gym on new year's eve. They're off to Spain early in February.
    I think there's already a thread about pre season games. A few clubs have them arranged.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    Tallaght Stadium Regular

100 Posts
    Dundalk FC return to training on Tuesday January 22nd. Our friendlies are listed here with the first one on Thursday February 7th.

I agree with Juanace on the 3 months with no football vs. 3 months with no eL. You could always pop across the Border to see a live game if you miss it that much.
    www.dundalkfc.com

Colin Scanlon - hero!

238 Posts
    Bring back winter footie, we have some good crimbo related chants/songs that we couldn't bring out, so disappointing.

the cup of soup doesnt work as well in the middle of july thats for sure
    We control by attitudes positive mental attitudes not by rules.

Waterford united players back on the 18th

Think Rovers back in training on the 21st.

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    UCD players back last night.

Bohs are back on January 17th. Then we are heading to some spanish resort that is a new sponser of ours to train for a week and play a friendly.

i love it. I think its the best move ever made in Irish football
    LESS OF THE BULL NOW!

75 Posts
    Galway United back on the 20th January but all Players were giving a personal training and fitness regime at the end of last season. I was actually shocked to ring one of them on Stephens Day who was just back from Training with the rest of the Dublin based players .
    We are the Galway Boys Stand up and make some noise"

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by gufct View Post
    Galway United back on the 20th January but all Players were giving a personal training and fitness regime at the end of last season.
    Likewise with UCD. I'd imagine most clubs do this.

i remember going to kilcohan park years ago on a winters sunday afternoon wrapped up in me duffelcoat, hat and scarf and a belly full of roastbeef, and then a scatter to the pub after for the 5 0 clock kick off of the english fa cup on itv,
    those were the days.

Quote Originally Posted by Juanace View Post
    Well doesnt Summer football at least cover the 3 months when there isnt even a game cross channel to watch. What would you prefer, no footy at all for 3 months or no Eircom League games over the Winter when pitches are ****e anyway?
    To me I think summer football is a disaster for most clubs crowds are down fo many reason,I also think it has killed the athmosspere at games also.Nothing like a dark winters evening to sit and watch a game of football.As for pitchs well after the summer we had this year Id say there was as many games posponed this year as anytime during winter football.

I for one would live to see the end to summer football!
    Till d End!

I'm no big fan of Summer Football but

Quote Originally Posted by Shiba View Post
    most clubs crowds are down fo many reason
    Not True.....

I also think it has killed the athmosspere at games also.Nothing like a dark winters evening to sit and watch a game of football.
    LMFAO

60 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ramsfan View Post
    brilliant to be able to watch footie when the sun is shining, and evenings are warm and beer is cool
    I would agree completely - a nice hot day, ideally by the beach, followed by warm evenings watching footie, beer in the stands, pubs open late.

Which is why I'm thinking of moving to Brazil...
    That question was less stupid, though you asked it in a profoundly stupid way.

Help me, Arthur Murphy, you're my only hope!

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge
    I bow to no one. bar Bluebeard and Mr A

Quote Originally Posted by niallsparky View Post
    Bohs are back on January 17th. Then we are heading to some spanish resort that is a new sponser of ours to train for a week and play a friendly.
    any word of any other friendlies yet??
    Yer hame team is yer ain team!

Bring back winter football. I miss the christmas matches home or away.

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast