Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Predictions

Quote Originally Posted by Magicme View Post
    I love the way the bitterness overshadows the obvious with Dundalk fans putting us bottom of the first division.
    Shur they don't care about ye at all.

It's obvious.

Not predicting anything great for us this season but defo cant see us in bottom 2. Athlone Kilkenny, Wexford and as it stands at the moment, Limerick, are the more likely to fight it out for the bottom end of things while I think it will be a shake up between Shels, Dundalk and Waterford for the honours
    I would be inclined to agree.

Provided ye start the season with at least one striker signed........

Also, at the moment we are better than Wexford and Kilkenny with just the six lads from the 21's signed and the two senior players.

I'd like to think we'll be better than Kildare aswell.

And Longford and Athlone depending on what the story is money wise with them.

Anyhow:

PREMIER DIVISION

CHAMPIONS: Bohs
    RELEGATED: Cobh
    Harps/Bray/Galway/Sligo

FIRST DIVISION

Shels
    Dundalk
    Waterford
    Gaping Chasm
    Limerick
    Mons
    Athlone
    Longford
    Kildare
    Gaping Chasm
    Kilkenny
    Wexford

The positions will be pretty interchangeable within those 3 blocks in the First Division IMO
    Last edited by Lim till i die; 05/01/2008 at 5:14 PM. Reason: I know nothing of the Premier Division only bits and pieces

Quote Originally Posted by Celdrog View Post
    Probably points deductions for financial irregularities. Everyone says it every year so it has to happen sometime

For me
    Drogs
    Cork
    Bohs
    Pats
    Relegated
    Cobh
    Bray
    Harps

Cups - Derry (FAI), Cork (League), Drogs (Setanta)

1st Division
    Waterford
    Dundalk
    Longford
    people keep saying it because you have a lot of good players so its assumed that they are on good wages and past examples have shown that eircom league teams struggle to support high wage bills in the long term. there are striking similarities between your situation and that of shelbourne a few years ago in my opinion, and the similarities can be seen in the arrogance and what some people might call ignorance of your supporters too. it doesnt take a genius to see that in the long run its not feasable for more money to leave an organisation than enters it.

Quote Originally Posted by saint morrissey View Post
    people keep saying it because you have a lot of good players so its assumed that they are on good wages and past examples have shown that eircom league teams struggle to support high wage bills in the long term. there are striking similarities between your situation and that of shelbourne a few years ago in my opinion, and the similarities can be seen in the arrogance and what some people might call ignorance of your supporters too. it doesnt take a genius to see that in the long run its not feasable for more money to leave an organisation than enters it.

explain thisignorance to me please ? In what way are we ignorant of the situation in Drogheda ? We are extremely aware of whats going on at our club thanks , and its been flogged to death the similarities or lack of between our current situation and that of Shels .Read some old threads for an argument if thats what you want Do you know anything of our current situation or is this just the usual nonsense rolled out to have a go at us .

I know holildaysong, much to my surprise I have learned there are one or 2 sane nice Dundalk fans. Others whom I thought fitted that category have proved to be the other type too.

I love your visits to KCP! Oh and soon there will be a KFC opposite KCP so you can fill your bellies with chicken before you lose the contents of your stomach after a sickening defeat at our hands.

If Robbie Farrell scores against us I will never forgive him though! Was talking to Sheilo over Christmas and he is really up for the season ahead and wants to win promotion with you. Cant believe a Monaghan man could speak like that but I admire his ambition.

Oh and LimtilIdie we have at least one striker signed and others are in discussions but will say more when I get the confirmation

100 Posts
    I love your visits to KCP! Oh and soon there will be a KFC opposite KCP so you can fill your bellies with chicken before you lose the contents of your stomach after a sickening defeat at our hands.
    But what of the Mon Dog?
    www.dundalkfc.com

Colin Scanlon - hero!

Premier: Drogs
    First Div: Shels
    Cup: Drogs , Bohs , Cork or Derry
    Setanta Cup: Drogs

Quote Originally Posted by holidaysong View Post
    But what of the Mon Dog?
    Over-rated tripe (possibly quite literally) IMHO

You can still have a Mondog if you like Holidaysong!

Less of the guff ltid or you will have Anne to answer to.

100 Posts
    As long as KFC don't put the Mon Dog out of business.
    www.dundalkfc.com

Colin Scanlon - hero!

I doubt it! Think people will get some chips at KFC to go with their mondogs though!

Think people will get some chips at KFC to go with their mondogs though!
    KFC Chips?!?!

Taste buds must be shot to pieces from all those (vegetarian) MonDogs

Quote Originally Posted by iceman View Post
    Premier: Drogs
    First Div: Shels
    Cup: Drogs , Bohs , Cork or Derry
    Setanta Cup: Drogs
    Your cup predicition is a bit vague...

433 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by holidaysong View Post
    As long as KFC don't put the Mon Dog out of business.
    Heres hoping
    Cumann Peile Dún Dealgan - Champions 2015 (too many accolades to be typing)

Termonbarry Athletic TID!

Premier Division
    Pats
    Drogs
    Cork
    Bohs
    Rovers
    Derry
    Bray
    Cobh
    Galway
    Sligo
    UCD
    Harps

Botton six could really be in any order, think we could do ok if we beat the right teams, we will be struggling for the season but i see no reason why we couldnt survive any more than the other 5 clubs with us,
    also could see cork relegated for failing some part of there financial licenceing requirements, unless they get there act togther, so maybe only 2 will go with them,

First Division
    Shels
    Longford
    Dundalk
    Monaghan

dundalk to come up short again, shels looked good near the end last year id say a good start would easily leave then in contntion, if there anywhere below 4th at midway id say longford will win it,
    Great spirits have always encountered violent opposition from mediocre minds.

Quote Originally Posted by Red&White View Post
    Having looked into my crystal ball I foresee...

February: There is controversy during Linfield’s match at the Brandywell in the Setanta Cup when a Thompson through ball is diverted 4 miles across the border by police to avoid possible disturbances. “There were more direct routes,” protests David Jeffries.

March: Cohb Ramblers come out of the traps like a shot, winning their first 4 games and scoring 14, one of which is the result of a 22 pass move finished by their goalkeeper.
    Derry City field an ineligible printer on their office desk and, on the verge of being docked 10 points, are saved by the revelation that the FAI did not inform Pat Jennings of the suspension when he was on holiday in Dublin the previous week.
    Shelbourne crash out of the first preliminary round of the Cillit Bang Inter-Village Trophy after losing 4-1 to ‘O’Rourkes Pub and Sandwich Bar XI FC’ from Westmeath.

April: Rumours begin to circulate that Cobh’s good start is the result of a lengthy program of drug-taking their manager has put them on, after midfielder Shane Barrett begins a run and finishes just outside Wicklow, picking up a speeding fine on the way. Manager Stephen Henderson denies the rumours: “Shane was just trying to beat the offside trap.”

May: Bohemians surprise the world by signing David Beckham from LA Galaxy on a free transfer “I don’t want people to think I’m doing this because of the money,” Beckham tells the Phibsoboro Chronicle, “I truly want to play for Bomons and believe I can enjoy a long and happy career with them and Mr. Flong.”

June: Beckham leaves Bohemians, “I thought they were Brazilian.”
    Hearing this, Stephen Henderson invites him to come to Cohb Ramblers.
    Finn Harps’ Paul Hegarty signs a sheep as his Assistant Manager at Finn Park: “He’s good at getting the players up for it.”

July: Chairman John O'Sullivan angrily denies rumours of drug taking as Cobh Ramblers change their name to The Flying Carpets of Melting Colours FC.
    Surviving relatives of Patrick Turner request that Cork City restore his memorial site into the cross it’s supposed to be. Henceforth, Cork will play matches from West-East, their opponents from North-South.

August: Bohemians draw Valencia in the UEFA Cup first round. “We certainly won’t be underestimating the uh…players from the Irish League,” their manager Ronald Koeman tells Northside News,” We’ve done lots of research about them and their formidable trio of Anna Nolan, Sheana Keane, and midfield hard-man Blathnaid Ni Chofaigh so I feel we’ll be well prepared.” Bohemians win 6-2 in Spain.
    After a mere 9 supporters turn up for UCD’s game against St. Pats, the FAI’s John Delaney hails the success of summer football, “By playing games like this in the summer months, we’ve ensured that people have an alternative to having to watch them- a barbeque perhaps, maybe going for a nice walk?

September: Ian Stokes claims referees have been ‘ridden rock solid,’ by TV coverage of the league this year. “How are we supposed to influence games when TV replays can show what really happened? It‘s making us look silly.”
    As school starts once more, attendances at Tolka Park fall by 67%.
    Clubs at the foot of the table are hopeful as the Evening Herald reports on a Bono inspired campaign to ‘Make Relegation History.’ Their joy is short lived however when the Herald admits ’relegation,’ was a typo that should have read, ‘prostitution.’
    Bono tells the News of the World, “There is no reason in this day and age why people should have to work at a soul-destroying, unhappy, undignified, inhuman job just to make ends meet.” After reading his comments, 16 players leave Finn Harps.
    Pat McCourt’s hair gets its own squad number.

October: Derry City neglect to turn up for a match with Finn Harps at the end of the month as the players are too tempted by the Halloween celebrations in town. Finn Harps players decide to continue regardless. Derry win 2-0.
    Bohemians finally sell their stadium to developers for EUR48m. “Cor!” manager Pat Fenlon tells the Dalymount Gazette as he counts his money, “You could buy all the soap in Dublin with that and still have EUR48, 999, 999.59”

November: Cobh Ramblers win the league, with 75 points. Captain Alan Carey asks reporters, “Do you have any biscuits?” Drogheda finish 2nd, equal on points but lose on “Games Played.”

December: The Christmas Tree at the FAI is surrounded by an 8 foot wall, topped by barbed wire, and surrounded by a moat as Dundalk fan Maxi ‘Desert Panther,’ is released early for Christmas.
    Stephen Henderson takes his players on a post-season tour of Columbia.
    Wats your fascination with rams, quite funny thgough. John Sullivan got the boot as charman 3 years btw, barry walsh current chairman.

Quote Originally Posted by don ramo View Post
    Premier Division
    Pats
    Drogs
    Cork
    Bohs
    Rovers
    Derry
    Bray
    Cobh
    Galway
    Sligo
    UCD
    Harps

id agree don only swap sligo with galway IMHO.
    COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007

http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979

ya looking forward to that tour of columbia, and cant wait to give becks i swift kick in those goldenballs
    Great spirits have always encountered violent opposition from mediocre minds.

Quote Originally Posted by don ramo View Post
    ya looking forward to that tour of columbia, and cant wait to give becks i swift kick in those goldenballs
    Carey and Beckham fighting each other over free kicks............can't wait. I think we should make it a whole tour of the America's.
    TOUR DETAILS
    Leave Cork for Shannon airport
    Arrive in Florida. Take in Disneyland.
    Florida to Mexico. Tequila and more Tequila
    Mexico to Cuba. Cigars and more cigars
    Cuba to Brazil. Sun, sea and sand. Bit of xxx action too
    Brazil to Colombia. Drugs and football.
    Colombia to California. Party in Beckhams gaff
    California to New York. Shopping. Pick up John Andrews and Eoghan Conlan
    New York to Shannon.
    Shannon to Cork.

It should be fun
    LESS OF THE BULL NOW!

Bohs
    pats
    cork
    drogheda
    derry
    Shamrock Rovers
    Sligo
    Galway
    ucd
    harps
    cobh
    bray

Cup:sligo rovers
    League cup:cork
    Setanta cup: drogheda

Quote Originally Posted by Rovers fan View Post
    Bohs
    pats
    cork
    drogheda
    derry
    Shamrock Rovers
    Sligo
    Galway
    ucd
    harps
    cobh
    bray
    ur takin the ****... bray last dream on!! we had a gud squad last season and have strenghtened it, unless we get docked points finishing last is highly unlikely..

Drogs
    Pats
    Bohs
    Derry
    Cork
    Rovers
    Galway
    Bray
    Sligo
    Harps
    Cobh
    UCD
    DEVO: 'we want to challenge for the league next season' - speaking at the player of the year awards nite 2005. boy was he so far wrong!!

Can we not wait a few weeks until I get my hopes up on the back of a decent signing and some flattering results in meaningless pre-season friendlies before we do this?
    For what it's worth, I agree pretty much with LTID's below, except Longford will top Group 2 and Mons will be bottom of Group 2 (in fairness, he does say positions are interchangeable within these groups).

S

FIRST DIVISION

Shels
    Dundalk
    Waterford
    Gaping Chasm
    Limerick
    Mons
    Athlone
    Longford
    Kildare
    Gaping Chasm
    Kilkenny
    Wexford

The positions will be pretty interchangeable within those 3 blocks in the First Division IMO

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast