Thread: Bologna

Bologna

In February. Anyone been before? Good?

It'd be with Ryanair so it'd be flying into Forli which doesn't seem far from San Marino so probably take a trip down there too maybe, or even stay there altogether if it's better?

Went there last Feb, for the San Marino game ( fiasco ) and thought the place had alot of character. Some great buildings and food everywhere was good fayre and not overly expensive.

I would ( and probably will this year ) return, for a different view....i.e. with Mrs Hornet
    Tact is for people who are not witty enough to be sarcastic

It'd be with Ryanair so it'd be flying into Forli which doesn't seem far from San Marino so probably take a trip down there too maybe, or even stay there altogether if it's better?
    Great spot. Forli is about an hour on the bus to Bologna.
    It has a name as being one of the more expensive Italian cities but I never found it that way, definitely cheaper than Ireland anyway. It doesn't have the same amount of big name tourist spots as Rome, Florence or Venice, but I think as a city to purely wander around in it matches all of them.
    As Sligo Hornet says, the food is good, the best I've had in Italy.
    Bologna at home three times in Feb as well so try to get a game in.
    They say what about the meek?
    I say they’ve got a bloody cheek

If you are going to Bologna from Forli there is a free bus into Bologna train station from the airport. Try and find out the times of this bus on the way back because if you are going to make your own way not all trains stop at Forli and the airport is another 15 min bus journey outside of Forli town.

Bologna is a great city, not touristy like some of the other cities. The Clauricane on via Zamboni is a good Irish bar, and down to piazza Verdi there are another few spots. The Irish Times is another one on via Paradiso (at the end of via Ugo Bassi)

There is only one hostel in Bologna and its about 15 mins bus journey outside (with nothing around it) so you're best to book at hotel. In general, 1 and 2 star hotels in the centre wouldn't be the best. You wouldn't bring you girl friend there i mean, but if you're with the lads its grand.

If you need any info on anything, give us a shout. I lived there for a while.
    Last edited by A face; 05/01/2008 at 3:18 PM.

30 Posts
    By the time we got to Bolonga after the San Marino
    game the only think I was was Burger Kind and bed!

Both were grand though

Last Feb. flew to Venice, Train to Bologna & on to Rimini
    Didnt see much of Bologna, just a shop outside train station to buy a fridge magnet. Was with Bear 11 & met up with AidoM GT & Babysis in the Bounty Bar Rimini
    Banner & Sign Manufacturing

Quote Originally Posted by The Banner Man View Post
    Last Feb. flew to Venice, Train to Bologna & on to Rimini
    Didnt see much of Bologna, just a shop outside train station to buy a fridge magnet. Was with Bear 11 & met up with AidoM GT & Babysis in the Bounty Bar Rimini
    Jaysus.......that's awful bad luck!
    Tact is for people who are not witty enough to be sarcastic

Youre telling me. Now I get stuck helping Aido fold that flag of his.
    Banner & Sign Manufacturing

Quote Originally Posted by Sligo Hornet View Post
    Went there last Feb, for the San Marino game ( fiasco ) and thought the place had alot of character. Some great buildings and food everywhere was good fayre and not overly expensive.

I would ( and probably will this year ) return, for a different view....i.e. with Mrs Hornet

Bologna is a great spot and very nice hotel staff etc. Be careful of guys sleeping in the wrong rooms and wandering around hotels at night though.
    In Trap we trust