Thread: Anger at 'lazy' Roma remarks

Anger at 'lazy' Roma remarks

http://www.independent.ie/national-n...s-1254883.html

Probably the most annoying thing for Romanians is that (Romas) don't have this willingness to work as ordinary citizens. Now I cannot say none of them are working, but I can say the vast majority don't want to work."

There are currently an estimated 3,000 Roma living in Ireland, about 90 per cent of whom have travelled here from Romania.

I agree totally with the Romanians. The Roma are here just to beg. Christmas day they called to our house. Its an industry for them. The government needs to sort it out. Children begging on the streets again, at every major traffic lights junction. Two guys i work with are from Romania, good hard workers, the Roma are making it hard for Romanians to get work.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Roma_people

Quote Originally Posted by Ringo View Post
    http://www.independent.ie/national-n...s-1254883.html

I agree totally with the Romanians. The Roma are here just to beg. Christmas day they called to our house. Its an industry for them. The government needs to sort it out. Children begging on the streets again, at every major traffic lights junction. Two guys i work with are from Romania, good hard workers, the Roma are making it hard for Romanians to get work.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Roma_people

The Roma seem to have devolved into a begging culture. There are a lot of them in Bulgaria and also in places like Slovakia, the Czech Republic and Hungary. And as happens a lot when people are perceived to be parasitic that can begin to become a stereotype and lead to prejudice and all that ensues from that.

Oddly enough myself and a few mates in Cork used to have a decent bit of banter going with the Romas who used to beg outside the Brog etc. after a night out. One of them even game me a euro to phone my mate after I lost my phone one time, goes to show what different experiences can bring to a person's opinion I guess

Quote Originally Posted by jebus View Post
    Oddly enough myself and a few mates in Cork used to have a decent bit of banter going with the Romas who used to beg outside the Brog etc. after a night out. One of them even game me a euro to phone my mate after I lost my phone one time, goes to show what different experiences can bring to a person's opinion I guess
    They were begging & their great because they gave you an euro

Their like a plague in Dublin. What about all the scams, they pull?

They were begging & their great because they gave you an euro

Their like a plague in Dublin. What about all the scams, they pull?
    They've never pulled any on me, and helped me out of a tight spot, what's not to understand about why I don't dislike them? I never said they were great either, more of that lovely Foot syndrome of making out a person said something they never did

they seem to have two purposes in life - steal and beg. I have not heard of a single one who actually works and it seems to be perfectly accepted in their culture that you dont need to work. I know that generally it is not right to tar a whole group of people with the same brush but in this case I cant justiy why I would not do this. And their numbers in Ireland must have multiplied ten fold in the last year. Does anyone know if the majority are EU citizens and entitled to reside here? or as I thought, are their exclusions applicable for citizens of Bulgaria and Romania?
    Camac Ultras North Terrace Section

Quote Originally Posted by Saint Tom View Post
    Does anyone know if the majority are EU citizens and entitled to reside here? or as I thought, are their exclusions applicable for citizens of Bulgaria and Romania?
    Romanians and Bulgarians can live here if they want but they need a work permit to work as far as I know.

the scams they pull are, (1) they approach you at the bank machine after you have entered your pin no, from the left hand side and hassle you begging for money etc and while you turn to your left to tell them to go away etc they are withdrawing money from your account (2) they sell roses to drunken people, using the roses as a diversion so they or an accomplice can pick your pocket.

there are many variations of both of these acts, they are very good at it and very hard to catch in the act.

as for the begging unfortunately its not against the law in the country but i would be of the belief that if one of them approaches me on the street beggin its my right to smack them one! i dont think the guards would mind too much and i think if we were all to take that approach they would not be hanging around too much!!

also the other problem is the "do-gooders" in this country giving them money when they are begging, ask yourself are these people homeless? are they begging so they will have money to eat etc? no they are travelling into town from their suburban houses to beg during the day and steal at night.

they are a plague on this country and the sooner this country does something to sort them out it will get worse, rant over!!

Quote Originally Posted by inexile View Post
    (1) they approach you at the bank machine after you have entered your pin no, from the left hand side and hassle you begging for money etc and while you turn to your left to tell them to go away etc they are withdrawing money from your account
    Would you not hear the buttons being pressed? Sense the arm drapped across you pressing the buttons? Or just not spend 2 minutes telling the beggar no?

as for the begging unfortunately its not against the law in the country but i would be of the belief that if one of them approaches me on the street beggin its my right to smack them one! i dont think the guards would mind too much and i think if we were all to take that approach they would not be hanging around too much!!
    And you would be the same guy who would cry about how violent the Romas are when they beat seven shades of **** out of you for smacking one of them?

also the other problem is the "do-gooders" in this country giving them money when they are begging, ask yourself are these people homeless? are they begging so they will have money to eat etc? no they are travelling into town from their suburban houses to beg during the day and steal at night.
    Go down to Cork, plenty of Irish people begging down there, a few of whom have houses and draw the dole, not just the Romas who do this I'm afraid

they are a plague on this country and the sooner this country does something to sort them out it will get worse, rant over!!
    So from your points you want them kicked out for being begging and stealing? How about other foreigners who beg and steal? How about Irish people who beg and steal?

Cue people calling me a bleeding heart liberal

38 Posts
    the scams they pull are, (1) they approach you at the bank machine after you have entered your pin no, from the left hand side and hassle you begging for money etc and while you turn to your left to tell them to go away etc they are withdrawing money from your account
    If you're enough of a gobdaw to fall for that you deserve everything you get. Call it a stupidity tax.
    A leading authority on League of Ireland football since 2003. You're probably wrong.

your a a bleeding heart liberal

Quote Originally Posted by Sheridan View Post
    If you're enough of a gobdaw to fall for that you deserve everything you get. Call it a stupidity tax.
    If only it was that simple. They prey on vulnerable people for their scams. Old people or people with kids etc.
    Last edited by dahamsta; 01/01/2008 at 10:35 AM.

say a little girl of about 6-7 begging outside opera house before christmas, about 100 yards away was her relation prob father, every so often hed come up and empty pot, a disgrace using kids like that you feel sorry for kids but if you give them something its only going straight into fathers pockets
    We control by attitudes positive mental attitudes not by rules.

38 Posts
    If only it was that simple. They prey on vulnerable people for their scams. Old people or people with kids etc.
    They're well on their way to integrating into our culture then, I wonder if they have their own Fianna Fáil cumann yet?
    A leading authority on League of Ireland football since 2003. You're probably wrong.

Wink

Quote Originally Posted by jebus View Post
    Would you not hear the buttons being pressed? Sense the arm drapped across you pressing the buttons? Or just not spend 2 minutes telling the beggar no?

they are very good at this and very quick, they only have to press one button cos they wait until you have entered your pin.

And you would be the same guy who would cry about how violent the Romas are when they beat seven shades of **** out of you for smacking one of them?

no, i wouldnt complain at all live by the sword, die by the sword.

Go down to Cork, plenty of Irish people begging down there, a few of whom have houses and draw the dole, not just the Romas who do this I'm afraid

Come up to Dublin, mainly Roma Gypsies begging here, not denying there is dishonest Irish either, it just appears to me that we are getting the worst of these people into this country

So from your points you want them kicked out for being begging and stealing? How about other foreigners who beg and steal? How about Irish people who beg and steal?

As i said before begging is not against the law anymore, but yes any person that comes into this country to steal and rob people I certainly dont want them here, there is enough Iirsh people here to do that

and i wouldnt dream of calling you names

Roma gypsies have been doing this for centuries. Having worked in a supermarket, I can tell you there is no quicker way to make room on the shelves than to turn a blind eye to them for a minute. they wear those baggy shawls for a reason.

I'm all for an open market and they have every right to live here as EU citizens, but damn it when its blatantly obvious that virtually every one of them just wants to leech from society, it really is a case of "theres always one that'll ruin it for the rest". and now some judge has made it legal for them to actually actively approach you for money on the streets, where in the past they could just shake their tins.

jebus, they were probably different people but outside the brog one night i had a tenner for a cab snatched from my hand by one of them and they pelted it down the road. yes, they are human and one of them gave you a euro but, as a whole, ireland would be better off excluding gypsies from residency some how, or cracking down on them and making it less attractive here so they feck off back to france and germany where they've plagued since the middle ages.
    Last edited by GavinZac; 01/01/2008 at 6:00 PM.
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    Membership Advisory Board
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

apparently there are upwards of 9,000 Roma in Ireland now and only around 200 have applied for pps numbers

Quote Originally Posted by Block G Raptor View Post
    apparently there are upwards of 9,000 Roma in Ireland now and only around 200 have applied for pps numbers
    Source?

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Source?
    More Hearsay really, One of the Security People on the Luas told Me

Quote Originally Posted by GavinZac View Post
    jebus, they were probably different people but outside the brog one night i had a tenner for a cab snatched from my hand by one of them and they pelted it down the road. yes, they are human and one of them gave you a euro but, as a whole, ireland would be better off excluding gypsies from residency some how, or cracking down on them and making it less attractive here so they feck off back to france and germany where they've plagued since the middle ages.
    There was once a time that the Irish were seen as parasites invading certain countries as well lads. Don't get me wrong, I'm not saying the sun shines from the Romas, I just take issue with people saying they should be beaten up for begging, and told my one euro story as a means of showing that they are not all bad.

As for getting rid of them, Italy has been trying for years to do the same with little success, so I don't think there's much chance of us doing it. That said I do see that it will be hard to integrate such a closed community into our society, but I'm sure people said the same of Irish travellers at one stage

The Conclusion that Roma are akin to Irish travelers is way wide of the mark, whilst some travelers may not be exactly what you'd call "Model Citizens" I think even they would baulk at the carry on of the Roma, The Roma are more akin to Organised Criminals than Travelers, In that they have one goal and purpose in life and that is to grab what they can from whom they can in any way legal or illegal that they can, This maybe their "culture" -and I use the term lightly- but can we really call being all the worst aspects of the human race a culture?

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast