Thread: Combined Counties League 2007/08

heard Corduff are a good ball playing team, but i've heard and seen peters are as good as any of them on there day. They need to keep players fit some through the middle are very important for them.. Some craic if they went far...
    peters should progress IF they continue to do what they are doing. Though the middle looked tired yesterday but only in the second half of the second half if you know what I mean. As mentioned they really put it in for the first 45 and couldv'e shouldv' been even more up. I think CCFL HQ will have been as surprised as anyone about the progress to be honest. Hardly stay junior next year but what options are open to them? No intermediate league available but for the LSL. Would have thought the midlands could have sustained an intermediate level IMO. is there suffecient interest within the region for Intermediate football. Perhaps not.

Quote Originally Posted by chopper harris View Post
    peters should progress IF they continue to do what they are doing. Though the middle looked tired yesterday but only in the second half of the second half if you know what I mean. As mentioned they really put it in for the first 45 and couldv'e shouldv' been even more up. I think CCFL HQ will have been as surprised as anyone about the progress to be honest. Hardly stay junior next year but what options are open to them? No intermediate league available but for the LSL. Would have thought the midlands could have sustained an intermediate level IMO. is there suffecient interest within the region for Intermediate football. Perhaps not.
    Surprised at the progress!! look at the players they have?? don't know what they'll do, there are no options only the combined counties. There should be a midland senior league, but would it be run right? would there be sufficient interest from the media or elsewhere? There's feck all interest in soccer from the media in the midlands, look at the athlone voice, they cover bloody Rockfordbridge GAA, who cares is it the rockfordbridge voice or the athlone voice. But Fair play to kevin o'neill from the westmeath at least he gives the league from coverage. what do you think?

Have to agree with u.. The athlone voice is terrible for junior soccer all thats in it is GAA, Fair play to kevin o, neill and the westmeath...

coverage

I don't think there is much intrerest in the CCFL to be honest. If there was I'k sure the hacks would be clogging up the midlands roads on Sundays. Take the big two in Athlone,outside of the ranks of the two clubs what kind of support do they have? Who is actally interested?

That said though, as WPFC are on the Leinster side of Athlone, it could be the reason for their slightly more coverage in the westmeath indi. The Athlone Voice isn't great genearlly as I can't ever remember a report on Mount Temple or Monksland.

This bad weather is helping things as the momentum soon goes out of things.
    Last edited by chopper harris; 09/02/2008 at 5:51 PM. Reason: Error!