Unhappy Finnan unhappy with 'impatient' Irish

Finnan unhappy with 'impatient' Irish
    by Nick Royle, 23 January 2008
    www.setanta.com

Liverpool defender Steve Finnan admits that the negativity and unrealistic expectations of the Irish public played at least a part in his decision to retire from international football.

Finnan told the Irish Independent "I think everyone still enjoys coming over, but it's becoming more difficult. Maybe because of the tournament finals we've got to in the past, people are impatient for us to get to more.

"I mean you know that if you don't play well, you're there to be criticised. That's fair enough. But there seems to be a feeling that we should be qualifying for most tournaments and that's difficult given the amount of players we've got to choose from compared to other countries.

"The atmosphere has definitely changed in my time with Ireland. There's a lot more negativity from the media. A lot more pressure is being put on. People are far more critical. Maybe that's just the way of the world now. It's changing. Things are becoming more pressurised now, more hyped.

"The negativity makes it more difficult, though. Some players come in and they don't really care what's said or written about them. They just play. And most of us understand criticism. If you don't play well, it's fair enough. But there are times now where it probably becomes a bit personal. It certainly did with [former manager]Steve Staunton, which was wrong."

The 31-year-old played 50 times for Ireland over seven years, under three different managers.

However, he rarely got a run out in his natural right-back position, often playing at left-back under Brian Kerr and Staunton.

"I didn't play very many games in my position" he continued.

"I mean I'm a right-back, full stop. But, under Brian, I was either right midfield, left back or didn't play at all.

"Other players like myself probably felt the same. I know at the time some people were saying I was the best right-back in the Premier League, so I definitely felt I should have played more in my position.

"It was often frustrating. I didn't feel I was getting a fair crack of the whip."

Sounds fairly ****ed off with his recent times with Ireland and seems happy to be out of it. IMO
    The truth fears no questions...
    It's only when the tide goes out that you learn who's been swimming naked

Quote Originally Posted by sparkey View Post
    Finnan unhappy with 'impatient' Irish
    by Nick Royle, 23 January 2008
    www.setanta.com

Liverpool defender Steve Finnan admits that the negativity and unrealistic expectations of the Irish public played at least a part in his decision to retire from international football.

Finnan told the Irish Independent "I think everyone still enjoys coming over, but it's becoming more difficult. Maybe because of the tournament finals we've got to in the past, people are impatient for us to get to more.

"I mean you know that if you don't play well, you're there to be criticised. That's fair enough. But there seems to be a feeling that we should be qualifying for most tournaments and that's difficult given the amount of players we've got to choose from compared to other countries.

"The atmosphere has definitely changed in my time with Ireland. There's a lot more negativity from the media. A lot more pressure is being put on. People are far more critical. Maybe that's just the way of the world now. It's changing. Things are becoming more pressurised now, more hyped.

"The negativity makes it more difficult, though. Some players come in and they don't really care what's said or written about them. They just play. And most of us understand criticism. If you don't play well, it's fair enough. But there are times now where it probably becomes a bit personal. It certainly did with [former manager]Steve Staunton, which was wrong."

The 31-year-old played 50 times for Ireland over seven years, under three different managers.

However, he rarely got a run out in his natural right-back position, often playing at left-back under Brian Kerr and Staunton.

"I didn't play very many games in my position" he continued.

"I mean I'm a right-back, full stop. But, under Brian, I was either right midfield, left back or didn't play at all.

"Other players like myself probably felt the same. I know at the time some people were saying I was the best right-back in the Premier League, so I definitely felt I should have played more in my position.

"It was often frustrating. I didn't feel I was getting a fair crack of the whip."

Sounds fairly ****ed off with his recent times with Ireland and seems happy to be out of it. IMO
    negativity and unrealistic expectations of the Irish public

ARRGGGHHH!!!

Unrealistic Expectations!!! Negativity!!!

We got ridden sideways by Cyprus! We nearly lost to them at home! We could barely beat San Marino! We couldn't hold out for a minute against Slovakia. We were out of the competition with three games to go.

What in the name of Lord Jesus Christ do these overpaid, overrated w**kbags want us us to expect of them?

Jesus wept
    I think I should the parachute, because I'm great.

In fact, I think I should get both parachutes, in case one doesn't work.

2,796 Posts
    Generally I'd agree Torn-Ado but talk about the headline misrepresenting the tone of the article. It was the journalist who came out with the unreasonable expectations bit, not Finnan.

When he says it's difficult to qualify for most tournaments he's right.

When he says that criticism is fine but when it gets personal (it did with Stan) he's right.

I initially expected another one of these "expectations are too high" or "we've no divine right to beat Czech republic" bulsh1t" quotes but what he said was measured and reasoned and more grown up than Keane and stan's outbursts. The headline makes it appear he was having a pop at the fans. Lazy and careless journalism, unless I'm misunderstanding why the "unrealitic" bit was not in quotes.
    Last edited by Stuttgart88; 23/01/2008 at 11:22 AM.

634 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Torn-Ado View Post
    ARRGGGHHH!!!

Unrealistic Expectations!!! Negativity!!!

We got ridden sideways by Cyprus! We nearly lost to them at home! We could barely beat San Marino! We couldn't hold out for a minute against Slovakia. We were out of the competition with three games to go.

What in the name of Lord Jesus Christ do these overpaid, overrated w**kbags want us us to expect of them?

Jesus wept

In fairness, where does he say we have unrealistic expectations? He doesn't. He says the media have become more negative, and I thought all here agreed that our media are becoming more sensationalist and British like as of late.
    I'd agree with his comments about being messed around, he is correct on that.
    Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!

I only got as far as the first line and rage took over. All I have to see is the words 'Unrealistic Expectations' and I turn into the Incredible Hulk.

So he admits the media played part in his retirement? thats pathetic be a man and take it, granted some of the Staunton stuff was uncalled for and the guy who handed Staunton the Kermet muppet should be severly beaten but I don't remember any article personally insulting Finnan, I think he is just streching for excuses

2,796 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Torn-Ado View Post
    I have to see is the words 'Unrealistic Expectations' and I turn into the Incredible Hulk.
    I know how you feel.

Fair play Finnan, validating my point about him not playing in his position being a big factor along the way. Irish fans are moaners, pure and simple, we're a small country who's average player level seems to be high Championship or low Premiership and yet they still expect qualification each and every time (and don't give me that ****e about Cyprus etc., you all expect to qualify for the next World Cup right). Plus some of the bile spewed at Finnan over on the Finnan retires thread proves beyond doubt that Irish fans have become more personal in their attacks on players. What the media were allowed to do to an Irish playing legend like Staunton was ridiculous, whatever his shortcomings were as manager

2,796 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Morbo View Post
    So he admits the media played part in his retirement?
    Does he? He just says that criticism is fine but personal insults are a step too far.

26 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jebus View Post
    Fair play Finnan, validating my point about him not playing in his position being a big factor along the way. Irish fans are moaners, pure and simple, we're a small country who's average player level seems to be high Championship or low Premiership and yet they still expect qualification each and every time (and don't give me that ****e about Cyprus etc., you all expect to qualify for the next World Cup right). Plus some of the bile spewed at Finnan over on the Finnan retires thread proves beyond doubt that Irish fans have become more personal in their attacks on players. What the media were allowed to do to an Irish playing legend like Staunton was ridiculous, whatever his shortcomings were as manager
    Your talking out your hole...Regardless of whether we expected to qualify or not, Cyprus should be 6 points, not 1, and with that, would have come qualification

you all expect to qualify for the next World Cup right
    Wrong idiot,what are you basing that opinion on? most fans I've talked to don't expect qualifation but they do expect the players to give it a good shot and retiring early doesn't give us the best shot of qualifying

whinge whinge whinge is all I'm hearing lads, enjoy rotting in pot 3 for the foreseeable future after you drive off the handful of half decent players Ireland has.

and yet they still expect qualification each and every time (and don't give me that ****e about Cyprus etc., you all expect to qualify for the next World Cup right).
    That's complete rubbish. There's a big difference between hoping an expecting. Nobody is going to convince me that the Irish team have played even near to the best of their capabilities over the last 5 years. This does not mean that I expected to qualify each time. It means that I know they are capable of playing better for us than they actually have been. I just expect us to be competitive. If they play as well as they can and ultimately fail then I will accept that. What I won't accept is seeing far too many of our players playing consistently at a very high level for their clubs and then, when they stick on a green jersey, having to watch them serve up the dross we have been subjected to over the last 5 years, and in particular the last 2 years.

Having said all this, as long as they keep playing, I'll keep going.

Your attention seeking is getting annoying now. What evidence do you have to say that all Irish fans expect to qualify for the next world cup. Are you a mind reader or the worlds greatest authority on the expectations of Irish supporters.

If we want Ireland to qualify for every single tournament, I think we should examine our own domestic game first, at grassroots level. If we coach our kids right rather than teaching them to hoof the ball and to win at all costs, it would be a start. It is ironic that we have the weakest Republic of Ireland team in 30 years and yet, there are more kids playing football than ever before. Before we slag off Mr. Finnan, go out on Saturday morning to an U.12 game and check out the future of our national team and then post.
    Never play leapfrog with a unicorn!!

Quote Originally Posted by Paulie View Post
    That's complete rubbish. There's a big difference between hoping an expecting. Nobody is going to convince me that the Irish team have played even near to the best of their capabilities over the last 5 years. This does not mean that I expected to qualify each time. It means that I know they are capable of playing better for us than they actually have been. I just expect us to be competitive. If they play as well as they can and ultimately fail then I will accept that.
    And if they decide they don't want to play for you anymore?

Oh and yes Tornado I am in fact a mind reader and speak for not only Irish football fans, but Ireland as a nation

Here here Jebus. Your so right on this one. We are at a point now in Irish soccer where we the fans need to have a good look at ourselves. We have not got the players anymore simple as that. Our national league is ranked among the lowest in Europe as is our population where for years we have punched above our weight at all sports. Lads get behind the team suppport and the next manager whoever he may be. Most of all leave the players alone. Thread softly for you thread on my dreams.
    Barca 2 vs manchester 0

82 Posts
    and don't give me that ****e about Cyprus etc., you all expect to qualify for the next World Cup right
    I and most of the people I regularly attend international games with don't. Also, when we drew at home with the Czechs (a result that did nothin for our qualification prospects) most people left the ground reasonably happy.

But I do expect to regularly beat teams of the quality of Cyprus, San Marino and the like.

Awaits next grandstanding reply.....

2,796 Posts
    Jebus WUMs frequently on the Irish section but apart from the "we expect to qualify" tone I think he's right in some of his points. He does himself no favours with the way he makes his points though.

As said above, we don't expect to qualify, we expect to give it a good shot and avoid pathetic performances like Cyprus and San Marino. That's not "****e" and it's abundantly obvious.

Not all Irish fans are moaners but many are. Not just fans of the national team. Look at the reaction in the eLOI section of this forum to Ray Houghton's comments that rich Irish should invest in their own league. Almost impossible to moan about that but almost every post was a moan. Unbelievable.

Our average player is low Premiership / high Chamionship. I think that's true.

The nature of some of the response to Finnan was OTT.

Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    Does he? He just says that criticism is fine but personal insults are a step too far.
    Well, according to the author of the article he did, does sound like thats what Finnan is implying even if he didn't say so directly.

Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast