Thread: Thoughts on 2007 hopes for 2008

Thoughts on 2007 hopes for 2008

I know its a tad early but I'm really looking forward to seeing the back of 2007 it's been a crap year for me from day one.

My Partner mis-carried on new years day and it's been downhill from there.
    although in the last week I've started a new Role in work which Im loving and my partner is expecting again (due in March) so I'm Looking forward to 2008

I'm sorry to hear about your loss Block G Raptor... I wish you and your partner all the best and a fantastic 2008!

2007 has been a good year. I was a newbie to this city in 2006 but now I've adapted and feel confident that Dublin will be my home for the forseeable future.

2008 will see the end of my 20's and introduces me to the big 30! I'm actually looking forward to it!
    My hopes for 2008 is that I will finally be able to buy my own place, tired of being a tenant!
    Never send a monkey to do a mans job

176 Posts
    this year has been one of the best years of my life .
    - my baby daughter was born in august
    - rovers beat the gaaliban in the courts
    - that enough for me
    Shamrock Rovers- Where trophies are won and envy is scarce

Sorry to hear that BGR.

This year's been a lot better than the one before.

-Did my Leaving
    -Got the course I wanted in college
    -Began working as a journalist and I am loving it

It's been a good year.
    Extratime.ie

Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.

Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.

Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.

Quote Originally Posted by superfrank View Post
    -Began working as a journalist and I am loving it
    Enemy In Camp. Enemy in Camp!! Ban Him Ban Him !!!!!
    ha ha fair fecks to lad, what type of journalism sport, current affairs?.....

Quote Originally Posted by Block G Raptor View Post
    Enemy In Camp. Enemy in Camp!! Ban Him Ban Him !!!!!
    ha ha fair fecks to lad, what type of journalism sport, current affairs?.....
    I've started out in sport but I wouldn't want to be tied down to it. I'd rather be doing something like Paddy Agnew.
    Extratime.ie

Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.

Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.

Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.

Quote Originally Posted by superfrank View Post
    I've started out in sport but I wouldn't want to be tied down to it. I'd rather be doing something like Paddy Agnew.
    Fair play to yeh. flirted with the Idea of going back to college as a mature student to do journalism a few years back, but for mainly financial reasons decided against it

1,002 Posts
    highs- first baby being born
    first baby smiling
    first baby crawli.........you get the picture.

lows - losing my job thanks to some spectacular corporate corruption

highs - using that experience to create a real and achievable plan to bring me where I
    want to go work-wise, both in terms of job satisfaction and salary.

lows - realising how much it will cost in money, time, and effort.

2008 - got my brother's wedding to look forward to, 3 weeks or so back home in Ireland.
    Also, I will take the first step of my plan in 2008.

74 Posts
    hasn't been a bad year, got this job in the area I studied for in college, after a year of bumming about. Jobs goin ok, on the down side it meant movin here from Galway, but at least theres no traffic chaos!! Also got back into playing sunday league after a couple of years out, the RDFL not quite the standard of the Donegal League but can't complain !! Started posting on here which is great too!!!!
    Next year, who knows, avoid gettin sacked!! Maybe move in wit da better half somewhere rather than sharing a house with the landlords dog from hell GRRRRR!! hopefully avoid relegation with the club! Maybe see Celtic getting to the last 8 'fingers crossed smilley' !!! I hope to edit this post sometime around 20:12 tomorrow evening to tell you all i'm a 12 millionaire (or even 6millionaire, I wouldn't complain)!!!
    Havin a weekend away is quite frankly,lettin ur team mates down!

Myself and the Missus were blessed with a baby boy this year (There's a trend emerging on this thread). Which was the highlight of my life, never mind 2007.

Also spent much of 2007 refurbishing a house we moved into in Dec 06. Still bits to do.

An eventful and busy year.

Hopes for 2008? - Baby and Wife remain healthy and safe, Ireland team get back on track and a few good albums are released!
    Quoting years at random since 1975

2007 was a good year for me (second half anyways).
    Done the JC, made alot of new friends (lost some along the way though), got a girlfriend, my own football has been improving, maturing as a person and no relations or friends have passed away.

Lets hope 2008 can be good too!
    Cmon County!

Good stuff Kildare Lad, nice sense of perspective for someone still in their school years.Me 2007?, so much happened I will spare ye the details.
    2008? All I want is Harps to win the Premier,World peace and Halle Berry to arrive at my door and say "Hey Cheifo, how u doin".

230 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by cheifo View Post
    Good stuff Kildare Lad, nice sense of perspective for someone still in their school years.Me 2007?, so much happened I will spare ye the details.
    2008? All I want is Harps to win the Premier,World peace and Halle Berry to arrive at my door and say "Hey Cheifo, how u doin".
    Looks like its Halle Berry so...
    Did you ever notice that in every painting of Adam & Eve, they have belly buttons. Think about that...take as long as you want.

Weird year for me

Wnet along the lines of

^^ Shels being kicked out of Setanta & Europe
    ^^ Pats not sucking
    vv wws dying
    vv Pats starting to suck again
    ^^ Got a proomotion and a change of scenery in work
    ^^ Pats starting to not suck so much
    vv New work sucking the life out of me

I'm generally an optimistic person but this year was the toughest of my life. Mainly due to Peter.

I'm getting married in May. Not sure if thats a ^^ or vv

Its been quite an eventful year, actually, now that i think back on it.

Group of friends broke up for a while as people moved on to different places.
    Got myself a car, an old one but a good one.
    Enjoyed my own web development project and helping other people with their projects in my IT course.
    Hated a lot of the rest of the course, and screwed myself over by not doing as well as I should - I got a 2.2, had aimed for at least a 2.1
    Lost my cushy part time number, jumped from job to job for a while and got a nice taste of different areas, including a nice ego booster working as a face for a bank around UCC.
    Graduated from college
    visited london, reykjavik and stockholm - and father ted's house
    city did pretty rubbish, royo headed off for sunderland
    my sister had a kid and made me, a staunch atheist, the godfather
    ran into some money difficulties as 2 companies and the revenue commissioners stalled on giving me my dues.
    currently half way through a Masters Degree from which I hope to, next year, get a solid job and move out of home, hopefully with my girlfriend. If you'll have me, micls
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    Membership Advisory Board
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

238 Posts
    2007:
    highs- Started a new business,
    - Its still going strong
    - Finally started building a new house
    - Started helping out in the Harps club shop (finally putting my money where my mouth is, so to speak)
    - Higsy joining Harps.
    - Promotion

Lows - Both the Athlone games at the end of the season
    - Financial strain for 3/4 months starting new business
    - Death of Harps fan on the terrace at the cobh game (reality check)

Bit of both - From the unreal atmosphere in Kilkenny where Athlone were holding Cobh and we were coasting 3 up. 800 Harps fans singing and then the news coming through that Cobh had scored. We picked ourselves up again and rocked the hotel bar afterwards

2008 - Getting married in August (still time to do a runner yet )
    - Hopefully Harps staying up in the Prem.
    - Moving into the new house.
    - Harps stadium to be started by March.

Looking forward to 2008 tbh.

Highs - Hitting the 3 year mark with my girlfriend and still going strong
    Living the life of a degenerate drunk for half a year in Cork
    Trip to Prague was fantastic
    Realising my time here in Ireland is hopefully coming to an end (for the time being at least)
    Getting more freelance media work in Dublin

Middle Ground - Moving onto a respectable, well paid Dublin life
    Limerick 37 - Bit of a blah year all around

Lows - Realising my time here in Ireland is sadly coming to an end (for the time being at least)
    Fianna Fail being re-elected and the subsequent realisation that I have zero respect for the electorate anymore
    Realising that to get ahead in the Dublin media game you have to be in a certain circle, or at least treat this certain circle with complete reverance

All in all a bit of a nothing year truth be told, glad to see the back of it

Quote Originally Posted by jebus View Post
    Realising that to get ahead in the Dublin media game you have to be in a certain circle, or at least treat this certain circle with complete reverance
    That's the opinion I formed as a Junior Reporter in 1996 / 1997.

Although I did figure out that being a decent writer and a decent Journalist are two different things completely.
    Quoting years at random since 1975

Highs:
    finding a fella who can put up with me
    putting heartbreak from previous years behind me and enjoy love the way it should be
    My eldest son getting almost straight A's in his end of year report & being streamed in top class
    My youngest son turning into a sought after goalie in the mini leagues
    Watching Luke Fitzpatrick playing for Mons
    Alvin being in Goals for Mons
    Mons finding & retaining Danny Woods
    Doing the whole corporate box thingy at Croke Park for an Ireland game
    Learning loads from other clubs in CPO Programme
    Taking the kids to Electric Picnic
    Seeing Crowded House in Marley Park whilst Mons were beating Shels 4-0
    Ian Brown in the Phoenix Park
    CEO in work retiring
    Handing in my resignation at work
    Finally getting a job in the area I want to be

Lows:
    Death of 2 friends
    Mons not fulfilling full potential
    Alvin going to Galway
    Luke going to Waterford
    Putting up with s**t from CEO
    Gall bladder problems
    Being constantly broke
    My eldest being diagnosed with Asthma

All in all it was a fairly good year. Next year hopefully will be even better as working full time will sort out the finances a bit and hopefully my sweetie pie boyfriend (god he will kill me for letting people know he is a sweetie!) and I will continue to be blissfully happy. I hope my kids will continue to be the wonderful well rounded (not in the way that I am) delightful human beings they are and that my family are safe and healthy.

111 Posts
    Lows:
    A lot here...it's been a horrific year.

• My iPod and mobile stolen on a weekend trip and some fecker running over £100 worth of calls on it.
    • Getting fired from a printing job in the summer.
    • Getting let go from a printing job I worked for two months in when it looked like I was odds on to get the job
    • Lack of temping work in run up to Christmas, had about 3 weeks off with no work which crippled me financially. Also getting so close in a number of interviews only to fail to land it by a whisker.
    • Quit a bar job becuase the landlady was a b!tch.
    • No travelling done this year, very disappointing.
    • News that my extremely moody Aussie housemate was staying on in the house rather than leaving as originally planned.
    • Two housemates left this year. Great ones too. Their replacements have been ****.
    • Girlfriend putting pressure on me to leave London - had to break up with her as things weren't working out.
    • Longford Town getting relegated of course and losing the Cup Final.

Highs:
    • Just starting a new job this week, fingers crossed.
    • Getting a good reputation working as a temp, hopefully more temping work to fall back on.
    • Brilliant housemates (bar two), the best ever house Xmas party last week!
    • My sister giving birth - I'm now an uncle. Amazing feeling, and his first Christmas coming up.

and that's all the highs.
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'