Thread: A long year and Happy Christmas.

47 Posts

A long year and Happy Christmas.

Just wishing all my fellow Town fans a very Happy Christmas. I hope you all enjoy the festive season after a long heartbreaking football season!

What a season though, so many emotions we all went through. The deduction of the Six Points, relegation looking like a foregone conclusion at that stage. Getting a point against Galway when it all looked lost with that last minute Penalty from them. Clawing our way back into the fight with that last minute goal from Deegan against UCD, following it up with wins against Bohs and Pats at home and picking up points along the way. So close yet so far.

The last game against Derry, I never felt the way I did when we went 3-1 up knowing that it was all of no use unless Shamrock Rovers could do us a favour. The moment of hope when the roar went up in the stand as it filtered through to us over in Section O, "could it be for real? Has the great escape from automatic relegation happened?" And then as if ones world came crashing down around them the announcement over the P.A. "Final score from Tolka Park, 0 - 0.

A lot of grown men wept that day, the emotion of it all too much for some, I confess to being a little bit weepy eyed myself.

We still had a cup final to lookforward to. For me personally I viewed the match as a way to say goodbye to the players and manager who worked so hard for us all season.

So here we are a big adventure back in the First awaits us. At least we get a derby against the filth from Athlone
    Roddy Collins, the biggest <insert as appropiate> in Irish Football.

81 Posts
    Nice Post.
    Merry Christmas to all

great post ronnie! wanna wish all my footie mates a happy xmas and prosperous new yr. see u over the xmas!

It's been a long year for Longford alright and even though Longford aren't my first team, it was good craic supporting ye throughout the season and I hope to get to some next season too, although my commitment won't be as much now that The Wex is no longer about

Merry Christmas and hopefully won't be too long til you're back up here!

112 Posts
    Has the Wex-Factor gone then? Happy Christmas folks, heading home tomorrow, may see some of you guys around during the holidays!
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

Quote Originally Posted by PAURO 7 View Post
    Has the Wex-Factor gone then? Happy Christmas folks, heading home tomorrow, may see some of you guys around during the holidays!
    the wex factor hasn't even begun yet!!

Same to all of ye lads, things can only get better!?

Merry Christmas
    Ever get the feelin' you have been cheated?

1,103 Posts
    :
    although my commitment won't be as much now that The Wex is no longer about
    Never say never..He's open to the idea of coming back but needs to get a work permit for an employer outside football. Get onto your bosses

Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian View Post
    Never say never..He's open to the idea of coming back but needs to get a work permit for an employer outside football. Get onto your bosses
    That's the best news I've heard all year.

Marty, you'll sort one out for him with your company...they're both American after all.

Sorry Sligoman but do we really want him back Okay anything that will get your asses in Flancare next year Happy Christmas!

That's the best news I've heard all year.

Marty, you'll sort one out for him with your company...they're both American after all.

i will have a word with the head of mbna mr ian o doherty eh sligoman!

he can work for me here, i have a surage tank that needs clearing

apparently gary murphy from keenagh is coming back to play with the town next season and paul kelly is going to get a chance in the first team aswel..good to see that local youth is going to get a chance.........happy xmas all
    we are going up

Quote Originally Posted by RockofGibraltar View Post
    apparently gary murphy from keenagh is coming back to play with the town next season and paul kelly is going to get a chance in the first team aswel
    Good. I think Gary Murphys return was always on the cards. Dont think he got on well with Matthews so here is hoping. Any news on players committing for next season!

thats great news about the two lads. you def wont get adrian murphy comin back as he is a flatmate of one of our lads that regularly posts on this forum and he has categorically stated that he has no interest in comin back to eircom league football which is an awful pity really..

Happy Christmas everyone!

81 Posts
    ... And a happy new year.
    May it bring good fortunes to LTFC and everyone associated with it.