Thread: Seamus Coleman

http://www.clarets-mad.co.uk/news/lo...TMNW&id=368359

Young Irish right back Seamus Coleman was the first to be named. Coleman is currently with Sligo Rovers who play their football in the Eircom League and have had a few Burnley connections in recent years having been managed by Steve Cotterill, Jimmy Mullen, Nicky Read, Tommy Cassidy and now, since April this year, Paul Cook.

The 19-year-old Coleman joined Sligo in August 2006 from St. Catherine's Killybegs after impressing against them in a friendly and has established himself in Paul Cook's team. He's with Burnley this week and took in the reserve game at Accrington last night.

lads are all the posters on this site related to seamie ye all love him.havnt been that impressed with him whenever ive seen him esp defending.couldnt get a game for eire u21s or23s.think he mit be a better winger than defender.he was always gud there as a youngfellow and in centre mid.hope he maks it in burnley though snd lad.also heared a rumour if he doesnt sign for bunley he mit be goin to dublin.think his girl is studying there,but not bohs now because he wasnt actually injured for that 23 match fenlon jst didnt play him

Quote Originally Posted by lyonser View Post
    lads are all the posters on this site related to seamie ye all love him.havnt been that impressed with him whenever ive seen him esp defending.couldnt get a game for eire u21s or23s.think he mit be a better winger than defender.he was always gud there as a youngfellow and in centre mid.hope he maks it in burnley though snd lad.also heared a rumour if he doesnt sign for bunley he mit be goin to dublin.think his girl is studying there,but not bohs now because he wasnt actually injured for that 23 match fenlon jst didnt play him
    tut tut... so ignorant and ill informed. seriuosly have you ever been to watch Seamus Coleman play? ive never seen a better tackler in The Showgrounds. Hes as solid as a rock!! think you might be confusing him with one of our former players, goes by the name of Zoltan Vassas.

Did Seamie actually play for the Burnley reserves or just wtch the game?
    Last edited by Rovers1; 25/12/2007 at 11:56 AM.

151 Posts
    He played but he was so good that he spent the time just watching.

dnt think so lads.ask him yourself next time you see him if thats all true.not saying he aint a gud player jst not a great defender.dnt think id get him mixed up thats for sure.mit see him on hols next week

if whats all true?

yeah, he wasn't injured for the u23 game...he was just not included, sure he was the youngest in the squad nearly. was still good for him for be included. and again you said he didnt get starting for the 21's either, so he's not as good as everyone thinks. stupid comment to make!

if you can't see he's one of the better young players in the league of ireland you need to sit down and be thought something about the game of football

Quote Originally Posted by feo123 View Post
    if whats all true?

yeah, he wasn't injured for the u23 game...he was just not included, sure he was the youngest in the squad nearly. was still good for him for be included. and again you said he didnt get starting for the 21's either, so he's not as good as everyone thinks. stupid comment to make!

if you can't see he's one of the better young players in the league of ireland you need to sit down and be thought something about the game of football
    Lads, lads! What is it with ye guys on this forum? Just because someone comes on here and voices an opinion different to yours doesn't necessarily mean they know nothing about football. I think you guys are too quick to defend yer own opinions and go on the attack to do so.

Maybe this guy Lyonser knows something the rest of us doesn't know and maybe, just maybe, Seamie is a better midfielder that he is a full back. God knows he's a brilliant right full so if he's better in midfield then that would make him world class.

Just look at the transformation of Faz when he was moved into a position which he is obviousily more suited for. How many on this forum would have agreed if prior to last season someone had come on here and said hey lets try Faz in a different position?

Lets remember that this is a forum, a place for open debate, where everyone has a right to voice their opinion.

Quote Originally Posted by clubman View Post
    Lads, lads! What is it with ye guys on this forum? Just because someone comes on here and voices an opinion different to yours doesn't necessarily mean they know nothing about football. I think you guys are too quick to defend yer own opinions and go on the attack to do so.

Maybe this guy Lyonser knows something the rest of us doesn't know and maybe, just maybe, Seamie is a better midfielder that he is a full back. God knows he's a brilliant right full so if he's better in midfield then that would make him world class.

Just look at the transformation of Faz when he was moved into a position which he is obviousily more suited for. How many on this forum would have agreed if prior to last season someone had come on here and said hey lets try Faz in a different position?

Lets remember that this is a forum, a place for open debate, where everyone has a right to voice their opinion.
    coleman himself said that moving to right back was a revelation for him

Still gutted Harps missed out on him but fair play to whoever at Sligo took the decision to sign him.I have only seen him on the box a couple of times and he looks the real deal.Similar almost to a young Steve Finnan.He looks so comfortable raiding down the wing, midfield could be a second position for him.

151 Posts
    Unfortunately, the genius who signed him now looks as if he got him by Quick Pick - Seamie will probably have to return the gesture by getting him a job on a trawler in Killybegs.

Quote Originally Posted by cheifo View Post
    Still gutted Harps missed out on him but fair play to whoever at Sligo took the decision to sign him.I have only seen him on the box a couple of times and he looks the real deal.Similar almost to a young Steve Finnan.He looks so comfortable raiding down the wing, midfield could be a second position for him.
    Steve Finnan hasn't a patch on our Seamie

bout 7 english clubs in for seamie. he has a few more trials in january and he's gonna make his mind up then. sounds like he's definitely going and he sez he's gonna miss the showgrounds
    "Even if the sun ceases to rise, Even if the sea ceases to flow, Even if the wind stops to blow, The name of Sligo Rovers will shine and shine forever like the morning, glinting star in the sky."

Quote Originally Posted by Red4Eva View Post
    bout 7 english clubs in for seamie. he has a few more trials in january and he's gonna make his mind up then. sounds like he's definitely going and he sez he's gonna miss the showgrounds
    who???

How many games have you been at! Lad has loads of potential. If was injured or not for u23 makes no difference doesnt mean fenlon doesn't rate him less then who he played in that position can only play one right back at a time.
    Till d End!

Mr Lyonser - if you want us to read your,no doubt, interesting, posts would you ever offer us the commomn courtesy of using normal english - a bit of spelling and punctuation show good manners if nothing else.