Page 10 of 15 FirstFirst ... 89101112 ... LastLast

Thread: Rovers Win

Looks good. Any word on whether TD are going to appeal?

I feel like I've said this a thousand times but how and ever. Two stands will be completed initially the lengths of the pitch. Hold 3,000 each bringing capacity to 6,000, the extent of current planning permission. Additional planning permission must then be sought to extend the stands around in a circular fashion the ends of the pitch (2,000 each end) to increase it to 10,000. I have pictures which illustrate this perfectly. The pipeline dream is a second tier, to which the foundations being built have been designed to support.

EDIT: found them...
    Thanks for the info..are they the only design pics available? Not exactly the clearest! Whats the luvly architectural thingy at the middle of the main stand supposed to be?

70 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Juanace View Post
    Thanks for the info..are they the only design pics available? Not exactly the clearest! Whats the luvly architectural thingy at the middle of the main stand supposed to be?
    I have the clearer plans in adobe reader format if you like. (PM me) That's the reception lounge rooms, club shop, bar...

57 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Billy Lord View Post
    I just find it odd that a sport that has deeper roots in Ireland than gaelic football can be described by the GAA as 'foreign'. Association Football originated in England, but its universal appeal has made it an international activity. To describe it as 'foreign' is fatuous. Jeans were invented somewhere other than Ireland so should they be considered a 'foreign' form of attire? I don't think so.
    The GAA consider football an alien activity constitutionally unworthy of sharing their grass. Their rule, not mine - and a rule that is unique in terms of sporting apartheid.
    The GAA have never had a problem with other countries bar 1. American Football is hardly an Irish game and it has been played at Croke Park since 1953 (at least then there may have been one earlier even). Cycling and athletics events have also been held there. The problem is with football and rugby which are seen as British games.

Thankfully it has changed though at least in the Republic and the likes of Kennedy are now the exception rather than the rule.

Quote Originally Posted by gspain View Post
    athletics events have also been held there.
    Hardly surprising (the clue is in the name )

It's definitely an anti-British thing, arising out of the time the association was formed - wasn't cricket also on the list of forbidden sports at the time of The Ban (and possibly hockey?). Would love to see a 20/20 game under lights in Croker)

There was a valid point made about the shameful neglect of handball, not to mention rounders - I don't even know if kids play this any more (token "exhibition" at Croke Park this year notwithstanding). The sad thing is that Gaelic Football is a far bigger threat to the future of Hurling than soccer.
    SIGNATURESCOPE

Quote Originally Posted by Jerry The Saint View Post
    It's definitely an anti-British thing, arising out of the time the association was formed - wasn't cricket also on the list of forbidden sports at the time of The Ban (and possibly hockey?). Would love to see a 20/20 game under lights in Croker)
    Snooker was on the list not allowed to be played in Croke Park too.

123 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Schumi View Post
    and rightly so could you imagine trying to follow the match from the hill
    I wish i did not know then what I dont know now

Quote Originally Posted by Schumi View Post

BIGOTS!

I've seen Jimmy White playing pool on the pitch at Dalymount so there's no reason with the GAA couldn't have done something similar.

EDIT: I should point out that he had a table and wasn't just knocking the balls around on the grass. Wonder if it's featured on Brady's Dalymount documentary...
    SIGNATURESCOPE

64 Posts
    Thomas Davis appealing. Kennedy really is a bigot.
    False hope is worse than no hope. Ask Sligo.

70 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by hoopy View Post
    Thomas Davis appealing. Kennedy really is a bigot.
    Yes I think we've established that by now... Depressing... The case is tomorrow so we should know if the appeal is rejected or not by then - and who will foot the judical review bill

Jaysus Thomas Davis are wrotten!!

Well done Shams
    RIP JOHNNY

Anybody got any updates on the appeal?

Quote Originally Posted by kingdom hoop View Post
    The very game of Gaeilc football itself was created as a vehicle for national identity
    Great post KH.

As someone from the true stronghold of Gaelic football (since Dubs who do GAA are mere culchie wannabes) what do you make of my pet theory, which is that Gaelic football has displaced the Irish language as a signifier of nationality, and in doing so displaced and usurped the role of a far more ancient and fundamental part of our culture?

Would we all, or many of us, be thinking and speaking in our own language, as well as playing proper football, if it hadn't been for Croke & co.? I submit that we would. Or is that completely as an imirt?

Quote Originally Posted by Celdrog View Post
    Shocking comment, absolutely shocking. Hope you are proud of it.
    In all fairness, I would imagine this statement is a figure of speech. Get off your high horse would ya. I have to say, in all my time following the EL, I have never been as irritated by something that's going on at a different club. Thomas Davis are scum. End of story. As an avid Shelsman, I sincerely hope this p**** is told where to go next Friday. Disgusting behaviour.

A figure of speech???? I have never heard what he said as a "figure of speech". If condemning what he said means I am on a high horse then I will stay on it thanks.
    Fair play to Dhamasta for deleting it so quickly.
    Hunky Dorys Park - could be worse, we could be going to Old Trafford every other week

185 Posts
    celdrog..... it looks like your club is going to be homeless quite soon.
    come back to me then and we'll talk ok buddy.
    Shamrock Rovers- Where trophies are won and envy is scarce

Quote Originally Posted by placid casual View Post
    celdrog..... it looks like your club is going to be homeless quite soon.
    come back to me then and we'll talk ok buddy.
    How are we gonna be homeless ? any facts or you just bitchin ? We offered rovers a home a couple of seasons ago so pull your head in will ya .

Quote Originally Posted by Celdrog View Post
    Fair play to Dhamasta for deleting it so quickly.
    The questions is - was it up for long enough to make the Herald back pages? Shams fans do themselves no favours at all sometimes.

64 Posts
    Same old, same old. We're all scum.
    False hope is worse than no hope. Ask Sligo.

Page 10 of 15 FirstFirst ... 89101112 ... LastLast