Page 4 of 15 FirstFirst ... 2345614 ... LastLast

Thread: Rovers Win

I've hoped for so long this day would come and Rovers can have what they truly deserve, a home of their own. Delighted that they stood up and were counted and did so with great dignity in the face of such terrible provocation. Well done to all concerned, I couldn't be happier (well I could, Harps doing the treble next season but I think everyone knows what I mean!).

Can't wait to be hopping on the LUAS out to Tallaght to watch the Harps and Shams in a Premier division top of the table clash!

Well done to SRFC, the right result and something which I dont think should have happened in the first place.

One thing I would like to say tho, it wasnt a case of the GAA against the FAI either. It was certain members of a GAA club against the development. Dont be namecalling and showing your own bigotry against whole organisation due to the actions of a small few. It caused huge costs and delays and a lot of arguments what they did, and I dont agree with it one bit, but tar those people with it, not the whole thing.

Fair play Rovers....delighted to see justice and common sense prevail...
    "Well I think they'll be a little disappointed with that" - Matt Holland on TV3 after 5-2 drubbing by Cyprus

Quote Originally Posted by G-Man View Post
    ...it wasnt a case of the GAA against the FAI either. It was certain members of a GAA club against the development. Dont be namecalling and showing your own bigotry against whole organisation due to the actions of a small few...
    I would like to echo those sentiments as well, an issue and course-of-action, although sanction by the Dublin county board & the GAA, driven forward by a few within one club. In hindsight I am sure many others within Thomas Davis would have worked harder for this whole debacle not to have reached the stage it did.

Great outcome for Shamrock Rovers and Tallaght area. Gives the club a permanent home and identity.
    There will always be people who object to everything and drive the frenzy up but Shamrock Rovers should now lok to the future and be positive.
    Homer did it ever occur to you to let go of the Candy?

Please please please let that be the end of it now!! Build the poxy thing, whoever the feck plays in it!
    Because if Gabriel doesn't rollerblade to the Chelsea Piers then the terrorists have truly won.

89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by G-Man View Post
    One thing I would like to say tho, it wasnt a case of the GAA against the FAI either. It was certain members of a GAA club against the development. Dont be namecalling and showing your own bigotry against whole organisation due to the actions of a small few. It caused huge costs and delays and a lot of arguments what they did, and I dont agree with it one bit, but tar those people with it, not the whole thing.

I recall a conversation with a number of people involved in Derry GAA where they relished the involvement of Thomas Davis and could see only one winner.....

I love the game, but the organisation
    Tifo poles, sausage rolls and a few goals.

The Brandy Blogs, back and blogging the 2010 season

Quote Originally Posted by Maribor View Post
    Great news......

Banner for the Brazil game.

LOI 1 GAA 0

Love to see that in Croker!!!!!!
    Should be done. If there is a fund to pay for this as a Bohs fan I would chip in.

This is a great day - although have Thomas Davis mentioned taking it to European Courts of Counrt of Human rights next. They are biggoted psychos and you would not put it past them.

What capacity will the Tallaght ground have and is there a name on it yet? Thomas Davis memorial ground maybe?

Quote Originally Posted by DSandy View Post
    Can't wait to be hopping on the LUAS out to Tallaght to watch the Harps and Shams in a Premier division top of the table clash!
    Don't forget Metro West running all the way from Bohs new ground in Harristown right to Rovers front door as well.

Quote Originally Posted by Maribor View Post
    I recall a conversation with a number of people involved in Derry GAA where they relished the involvement of Thomas Davis and could see only one winner.....

I love the game, but the organisation
    Makes you wonder if this is a first for the GAA? Hence their swagger on the issue.

Quote Originally Posted by Boh_So_Good View Post
    Should be done. If there is a fund to pay for this as a Bohs fan I would chip in.

This is a great day - although have Thomas Davis mentioned taking it to European Courts of Counrt of Human rights next. They are biggoted psychos and you would not put it past them.
    yeah great idea but will the GAA see the banner or will they be to busy counting the money the FAI have given them in rent that could of been used for funding LOI clubs.

once again best of luck to everyone at Rovers

I would suggest Rovers start getting good security for the ground at night before matches.

Quote Originally Posted by Port Saint View Post
    yeah great idea but will the GAA see the banner or will they be to busy counting the money the FAI have given them in rent that could of been used for funding LOI clubs.
    Oh get a life, this is only messing. Nobody is serious about such a banner at croker.

Let some of us old LOI heads enjoy feeling accepting in this country for once in our lives.

288 Posts
    Well done. That has made my day!

Congrats. Well done for not giving up, I would have. I didn't see much light at the end of the tunnel but fairplay.

TD wahnkirs

International Prospect passinginterest's Avatar
    435 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Boh_So_Good View Post
    I would suggest Rovers start getting good security for the ground at night before matches.
    The area around the ground is not bad. At least it's not surrounded by houses or anything. It will certainly need to be very well policed and stewarded in any case. Plenty of losers hanging around looking for trouble will be drawn to the bright lights.

I'd say the main area that will need to be policed is around the square. That's where the Luas and bus terminals are and where travelling supporters will park. It's going to be away from the ground so don't know how much responsibility Rovers will have in this.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    Tallaght Stadium Regular

I've said this all along, Friday Night football in tallaght will attract every skrote in the area to the stadium and rovers will have to be very diligent in this regard. dont think I'm being snobbish pointing this out as I'm sure Bohs would have the same problem if they moved to blanchardstown where I live

89 Posts
    "FAI welcomes High Court decision regarding the Tallaght Stadium

The Football Association of Ireland today welcomed the decision of the High Court in relation to the Tallaght Stadium.

The Association believes that the decision of Justice Roderick Murphy to refuse the relief sought by the applicant will greatly aid the speed at which this project can be completed.

A spokesman said: “We are very pleased with the outcome and we would like to congratulate Shamrock Rovers and South Dublin County Council. Today is a great day for Shamrock Rovers and for the supporters who have worked tirelessly to bring the club to Tallaght. This stadium is a vital project for Irish football and we believe that today brings us a huge step forward towards completing the stadium and having Shamrock Rovers playing eircom League of Ireland football in Tallaght.”

I am sure as Hoop, Eoghan Rice took great pleasure in putting that statement together.
    Tifo poles, sausage rolls and a few goals.

The Brandy Blogs, back and blogging the 2010 season

I thought Boh So Good was having a dig at the glass-sprinkling types, myself.
    Because if Gabriel doesn't rollerblade to the Chelsea Piers then the terrorists have truly won.

Chi-Ching do ye hear that? Thats the penny dropping that is

Page 4 of 15 FirstFirst ... 2345614 ... LastLast