Page 2 of 15 FirstFirst 123412 ... LastLast

Thread: Rovers Win

Quote Originally Posted by gufct View Post
    hopefully they will drop it now.Good luck lads Great news.
    It's the GAA were talking about no chance will they drop it,

115 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DvB View Post
    Christmas has come early!!

SDCC/SRFC 1 GAA 0
    Should that not be 1-0 to 0-0?!

Fair play to Rovers. Looking forward to the first proper game there!
    I phoned the speaking clock to hear a voice speak, it said - "At the tone you will be very much alone"

812 Posts
    Yes! If we assume there are no further hold-ups (bare with me for a moment), how soon could Shams be playing in Tallaght? Next March?
    You can't spell failure without FAI

Effing brilliant.

Slap it up ye bigots barstewards.

Good luck to Rovers with the finally getting things sorted.

TG

Delighted the ruling went in Rovers' favour, great news.

Yipeeeeee, best news for EL in yonkers.Fair play to the people at Rovers for fighting the good fight.Delighted for yis lads.Great idea for the banner.Are you watching Tom Humphries?

This is a victory not just for Rovers for the the entire future of the league.

The turnaround started when the fans took control of the club and this is a huge further step along the way of recovery from 21 years of hurt.
    Together with all our hearts.

Well done. Very pleased that Justice prevailed.
    A patriot is someone who knows how to hate his country properly.

Quote Originally Posted by John83 View Post
    Yes! If we assume there are no further hold-ups (bare with me for a moment), how soon could Shams be playing in Tallaght? Next March?
    End of 2008 /Start of 2009 Season is whats being mentioned.

F*cking hell after a decade of putting up with so much ****e following this great club today has made it all worth while.

43 Posts

Nice one. As an avid follower of both sports I'm glad to see common sense has prevailed.
    As Irishmen we dilute our sense of nation by depending on the English to bring us our balls

International Prospect passinginterest's Avatar
    435 Posts
    Great news about time!
    I look forward to the 5 minute walk across the road to watch Rovers.
    Will be nice to finally turn what's pretty much an eyesore at the moment into a proper stadium.
    Well done to all concerned.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    Tallaght Stadium Regular

Excellent news. Are there any more possible delays form the GAA side though? Appeals, etc.?

To The Tune of always a woman by Billy Joel

You can move up to Tallaght in dublin south west, Sing of the good times when you were the best, you think you're a big club that will never be you'll always be homeless to me.

Nah just kidding fair play to Rovers, Going home at last

1,025 Posts
    Congratulations to Rovers, good for you.

(Perhaps merge with this thread - http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=79114 and change the title to "Rovers win court case" - thread title sound like Rovers won a game, not a legal battle)

Just came from the courts. It couldn't possibly have gone better according to our barrister. Hopefully now we can sting them with one whopper of a legal bill, dating right back to us seeking to be party to proceedings. The irony is fantastic. By delaying and delaying they've probably added a zero to their over all bill. They increased their own costs and by default our costs and the SDCC's cost. Now they'll have the pleasure of footing the entire bill, for everyone. It just doesn't get any sweeter.

Not surprisingly the people who argued so vociferously in favour of the GAA now admit that they never really cared. The frustration of listening to people arguing to the high heavens about something they neither know nor care about is indescribable. Anyway, thank God it's all over.

And finally, take a moment to remeber David Kennedy's Last Man Standing comment. He'll be the last man standing in the queue at AIB when he has to remortgage his gaff! What a cnut! What a day!

See yiz all in Tallaght in 2009.

We lead, they follow!!

Hoops Hail High Court Win
    Press Release Issued : 14 Dec 2007
    HOOPS HAIL HIGH COURT WIN

Today the High Court ruled in favour of South Dublin County Council and against Thomas Davis GAA club in the Judical Review of the Tallaght community stadium.

This means that work can resume on the site and that Shamrock Rovers can look forward to moving into the stadium some time between the end of the 2008 and the start of the 2009 season.

Says Shamrock Rovers Chairman Jonathan Roche: "Obviously this is the news we were hoping for and it's fantastic for everyone involved at Shamrock Rovers.

"I want to thank everyone who supported us along the way, from the South Dublin County Council to the various politicians and the FAI - and of course our great fans.

"It's been 20 years since we lost Milltown, so we're at the end of a long struggle. It's a great testament to the fans that they remained loyal and they deserve this so much.

"It's just a relief to think that Rovers will finally have a home. We can start dreaming again, and carry on with the rebuilding process that began at the club two years ago."
    We are the SR the SRFC.......
    Part time Finn Harps too :)

112 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Postman View Post
    Just came from the courts. It couldn't possibly have gone better according to our barrister. Hopefully now we can sting them with one whopper of a legal bill, dating right back to us seeking to be party to proceedings. The irony is fantastic. By delaying and delaying they've probably added a zero to their over all bill. They increased their own costs and by default our costs and the SDCC's cost. Now they'll have the pleasure of footing the entire bill, for everyone. It just doesn't get any sweeter.

Not surprisingly the people who argued so vociferously in favour of the GAA now admit that they never really cared. The frustration of listening to people arguing to the high heavens about something they neither know nor care about is indescribable. Anyway, thank God it's all over.

And finally, take a moment to remeber David Kennedy's Last Man Standing comment. He'll be the last man standing in the queue at AIB when he has to remortgage his gaff! What a cnut! What a day!

See yiz all in Tallaght in 2009.

Whilst all of the above is an accurate summation of what happened this morning... TD still have the right to lodge an appeal...however based on the strenght of the judgement hard to see how they would as the cost of a Supreme Court visit would be astronomical on top of hopefully all their and hopefully everyones elses costs that hace accrued so far.Would expect that they'll reach the right decison and advise that they aren't appealing by Mid Jnuary next.

note to Postman, don't worry about Kennedy...rejoice in the moment

Great news, another step forward for clubs in Ireland in the changing world of LOI. Well done to the 400 club you are getting a return on the support you have given your club through thick and thin.
    It's only just begun...............
    If the last 21 years were class, here's looking forward to the next 21 years. It is our time

Formerly: dublinharp carrickharp's Avatar

Well done folks
    “Jockey Wilson . . . What an athlete.” - Sid Waddell
    www.donegaldarts.com

a great victory over those pre-historic knuckle draggers, congratulations!

Page 2 of 15 FirstFirst 123412 ... LastLast