Page 14 of 15 FirstFirst ... 412131415 LastLast

Thread: Rovers Win

Quote Originally Posted by fergalr View Post
    Massive result for football in this country - a purpose built football stadium in the capital for the island's number 1 team.
    You wish.
    The Hallion Battalion Molests football.:D

185 Posts
    dont kid yourself there SB .
    you've had the luxury of playing with the chiildren(not in that way) in the setanta cup for a few years now.
    IF we get our act together it will be just like 1984 all over again
    we'll see youse out there soon ,hopefully.
    Shamrock Rovers- Where trophies are won and envy is scarce

Quote Originally Posted by osarusan View Post
    A banner that reads "Shamrock Rovers - Still Standing" would look good at an Ireland game in Croke Park.
    Genius, Someone has to do that, eh not me for obvious reason's

64 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by hoopy View Post
    Now they could possibly be looking at a) losing their application for appeal, and b)being at the loss of approx 450k. If both scenarios are what happens, it'll be a sweet sweet friday night in Dublin.
    :
    False hope is worse than no hope. Ask Sligo.

Congrats on getting there at last, look forward to seeing the saints against ye in the near future.

38 Posts
    Congrats to Shamrock Rovers for taking on the Gah machine and winning. I'm particularly impressed that the club's leadership never lost sight of the long-term strategic view and didn't pursue the option of playing on a building site, which would have killed the club's momentum stone dead. They now have a platform from which to fully relaunch the club in the local area from a position of strength and good luck to them.
    A leading authority on League of Ireland football since 2003. You're probably wrong.

This is one occasion when I am delighted to see Rovers stuffing the opposition.
    Congratulations and well done.

64 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sheridan View Post
    Congrats to Shamrock Rovers for taking on the Gah machine and winning. I'm particularly impressed that the club's leadership never lost sight of the long-term strategic view and didn't pursue the option of playing on a building site, which would have killed the club's momentum stone dead. They now have a platform from which to fully relaunch the club in the local area from a position of strength and good luck to them.
    So can we count you in as a new 'hoop'?
    False hope is worse than no hope. Ask Sligo.

57 Posts
    Well done Rovers. Congrats. Nice win over the darkside.

37 Posts
    Well done to all Hoops people all over the world most especially the Keep Rovers At Milltown (KRAM) organistaion who kept Rovers in the media for years in the late 1980's.

I lived in Dublin around 1988/89 and often met a few Rovers fans who spent their time plastering KRAM posters on the lamp posts in Dublin. Their dream was a to return to Milltown and of course, it never happened. It is for those people (who were in their 20s and who are now in their 40's) that I am thinking of.

I hope ye' enjoy the moment when Rovers go 'home'.
    Nobody knows us, we don't care

47 Posts
    My da was a Bohs supporter and brought me to a lot of their games even though Milltown was nearer to where we lived. As a chap, he used to drop me off at the ground but wouldn't come in with me. Feck, but that was a long time ago. Hopefully yez have a base now to bring the whole thing forward.
    PS. The youfs will trash ye in the pre-season friendly (ha!) next month

[QUOTE=Paddyfield;863103]

I lived in Dublin around 1988/89 and often met a few Rovers fans who spent their time plastering KRAM posters on the lamp posts in Dublin. Their dream was a to return to Milltown and of course, it never happened. It is for those people (who were in their 20s and who are now in their 40's) that I am thinking of.

QUOTE]

Very true statement.A good number are still going to this day

As a Hoop of 40+ years standing I want to thank everyone here and elsewhere for their positive words - particularly Sheridan as we've had our differences in the past. The important thing for Rovers is that we've now got an opportunity to start afresh in Tallaght.
    Hopefully it will become one of the great away trips for EL fans, but tonight my thoughts are for the many Hoops who've passed on since 1987 and will never see Tallaght.

Great news for Shamrock Rovers and football in this country.

Well done Rovers!
    Cmon County!

47 Posts
    Keep Thomas Davis out of your ground. Henceforth known as the Tallaght Ban

37 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Billy Lord View Post
    .....Hopefully it will become one of the great away trips for EL fans....
    Tallaght is a handy location for us Culchies and also, we can go shopping in the Square beforehand.

Is there an official name on the Stadium yet?
    Nobody knows us, we don't care

47 Posts
    As much as I dislike Shams I have to say I am happy with todays announcement and that Thomas ********s end up footing the bill of the court case. Hopefully they will now get the stadium finished and have a proper ground.
    Roddy Collins, the biggest <insert as appropiate> in Irish Football.

57 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Paddyfield View Post
    Tallaght is a handy location for us Culchies and also, we can go shopping in the Square beforehand.

Is there an official name on the Stadium yet?
    Hopefully it'll be known as New Glenmalure Park - failing that Tallaght Stadium
    Kom Igen, FCK...

Quote Originally Posted by Réiteoir View Post
    Hopefully it'll be known as New Glenmalure Park - failing that Tallaght Stadium
    Depends if the club wants to treat this as a totally new chapter and fresh start I guess (for which there would be some strong arguement).

If not, call it Milltown or New Milltown.

We are not going back.... we are going forward!... Glenmalure is gone! Milltown is gone!.... they will always be sacred to us........ but Tallaght will be a new start!.... with a new name..... Tallaght Community stadium!... And Rovers will build a model of community football for the rest of the league to emulate!

AR

Page 14 of 15 FirstFirst ... 412131415 LastLast